We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal, pretty "ocean" view.”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We chatted with a friendly bartender before dinner, filling us in on "41" stories, that's what the locals call president Bush. Our meals were delicious, service was great. If you have a reservation you may want to give yourself extra time for parking, we went around the property 3X looking for a spot. Nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review we are so happy that you enjoyed your full experience!
We really appreciate that you took the time to inform other diners about the meal and we hope that you will be back soon to dine with us.
Thank-you for informing other diners to allow extra time for parking it can be difficult at times our staff can help guide our guests to different parking options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 360 of 486 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

A truly high-class meal, and perfect for our first night following our wedding. I particularly loved the raspberry semi-freddo for dessert.

Thank eewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank-you for choosing Ocean for your first dinner out as a married couple!
How nice that you took the time to let other diners know about your meal and we are so glad you enjoyed the semi freddo very refreshing after a great dinner. We wish you many happy years of marriage and please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hats off to chef Pierre Gignac....He has out done himself. The food is better than when he was at 98 Provence which was amazing! My husband and I have eaten there several times. We love it! You cant go wrong with a wonderful recipe of a beautiful view, terrific wait staff, and outstanding food! Thanks for creating wonderful memories....you guys ROCK!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! Sounds like you had a perfect Ocean evening with drinks on the porch and appetizers!
We very much appreciate that you took the time to write about your delicious meal with your husband. We hope that you will dine with us soon we are creating some great fall menus and special evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Get there early for drinks on the porch overlooking the ocean - one could not imagine a more beautiful setting. We had drinks and appetizers (try the chick pea fries!) and then moved inside to the best table in the house right next to the window - thank you Ocean for such a great table!
The meal was wonderful -- flavorful and beautifully presented. I had the lobster special which was cooked perfectly and my husband had the salmon which practically melted in your mouth! A top notch dining experience with views to match!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonniebelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! I agree, the porch is a beautiful place to enjoy a drink. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Kennebunkport and had dinner at Ocean on Saturday night. Before dinner we enjoyed delicious cocktails on the beautiful porch overlooking the water. The service was excellent--everyone from the hostess, the porch server, and our waitress in the restaurant were wonderful, helpful, and accommodating. For starters, I had the scallops in a lemongrass infused broth and my husband had a crabmeat gazpacho. They were the best scallops I have ever had and the soup was equally delicious. For entrees we had the lobster ratatouille and steamed salmon. Again, we were thoroughly impressed and savored every bite. I can't recommend this place enough. I only wish we had chosen to stay in one of the inn's beautiful rooms. Hopefully, next time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaraJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you very much for the compliments. Our staff does their best to fully accommodate our guests, and I'm glad to hear you had the chance to enjoy one of the best porches in America. We look forward to your next visit, where you can expect more of the same great food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing