We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”
Review of Opus 10 - CLOSED

Opus 10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a different type restaurant - they had a
"nine course" menu - just a little of everything- most of it was pretty good - I think it is something you should try at least once. I wouldn't go back - but (I think) we are glad we went.

Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at Opus 10, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Opus Ten. One of the things that makes Opus wonderful is that it is a unique experience that is not designed for everyone. It really is a great way to try lots of different things. You certainly have to enter the experience with an open mind and a willingness to trust the Chef and beverage director to guide your experience. I really do hope that you are glad that you went, because I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience it. More importantly, I really hope that you enjoyed your meal. It truly is our goal for every guest to be happy when they leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I are annual visitors to Kennebunkport formany years. Suffice it to say, we have eaten in most of the fine dining establishments here over the years. We have seen them peak, go downhill, improve with time, go under new management , or close. How delighted we were to learn about this new restaurant and the beautiful property it occupies was finally being reclaimed for daily use.

Reading the other reviews leaves nothing more to say other than yes, yes, and yes! Heaven net Earth last evening. This dining experience is more incredible than words can describe. Do indulge in the wine tastings as well. They have spent much time, perfecting the pairings, and the wine just adds to every course.

Each dish is just superb and exquisitely presented. Your server ( in our case Tara) describes each course and the wine pairing selected for it. We learned a lot as we dined to perfection. We had lobster carpaccio, roasted parsnip and apple soup with a smoked scallop (divine), grilled swordfish,rabbit, duck to name just a few of the highlights. Each course was more amazing than the previous one.

Treat yourself to this restaurant as it will be your culinary experience of a lifetime. Welcome to Kennebunkport, Opus 10, and may you have years of success in your future! We can't stop talking about you and can't wait for next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SouthernBelle069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at Opus 10, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. Opus Ten is truly a unique dining experience and we are so lucky to have such a wonderful team to orchestrate the meal. The chef and beverage director spend many afternoons making sure each course is unique, perfectly balanced, and has a wine that will enhance each and every bite! Tara spends time out of work perfecting her craft and increasing her knowledge. We truly appreciate hearing all of the hard work was a part of a memorable experience for you and your husband. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had Dinner at Opus Ten inside David's KPT this past weekend. What an amazing Meal!! It was a dining experience to behold! Each course is explained to you on how the chef prepared it, and then it is accompanied by a small float of wine that compliments the dish..and that is explained to you as well. The amount of wine poured is not enough to cause impairment..but just enough for you to enjoy with your course. Everything was so delicious..and just when I thought it couldn't get any better the next course came out. The meal was an amusement park for the palette. I cannot wait to come back for my Birthday in November! ( As a side comment, I ate dinner at the White Barn Inn in July, and Opus Ten beats The White Barn Inn by a mile) The only thing that I found distracting was that the restaurant is only separated by a heavy curtain from the main regular dining area Davids KPT, so the bar and crowd noise was a little loud to hear our waiter explain everything..but Robb was a great sport and waiter and persevered.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at Opus 10, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful review. We are very luck to have talented staff that can deliver such a wonderful experience. From Chef Leonora's creative dishes to Rob's table side manner the experience is what it is because the staff becomes a part of your meal. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

FAbulous 9 course dinner at this low-key yet high quality restaurant. Perfect portion size and incredible skill in creating masterpieces for the taste buds

Thank sfree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at Opus 10, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal at David's Opus Ten. We pride ourselves in correct yet comfortable dining. More specifically, we hope that you receive a professional experience while being relaxed and conversational when appropriate. Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This nine course pre-fix restaurant was a unique dining experience. We took the wine pairings which were just the right size pairings with the food presented. Drinking so many wines in the course of an evening could have been daunting but the portions were small as to compliment the food without making us tipsy. The food was very good. I can honestly say that we loved each and every course. It takes a long time so go early. The wait staff was perfect and while it was a pricey evening, worth every penny. Save this one for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meg02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningManager, Manager at Opus 10, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. While developing the menu and wine pairings, we put a lot of effort into accomplishing as you described... lots of flavor without leaving you uncomfortably full or overly tipsy. We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff that know how to pace the evening so you can enjoy every course that is brought to you. They have been a wonderful representation of the chef and beverage team and we consider ourselves lucky to have such a wonderful team. We look forward to seeing you for your next special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus 10 also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing