We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you love lobster - this is the place to go”

Nunan's Lobster Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“if you love lobster - this is the place to go”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

on our last night in kennebunkport, we wanted to have steamed lobster and decided to give nunan's a try. we did not regret it one minute. the hut itself is nicely decorated, very unpretentious, the staff are not over the top but offer a good service (which for us as europeans is sometimes easier to digest than an ott attitude).
we decided to go for the day's special which were two smaller lobsters, melted butter, a roll and some gherkins. the lobster was amazing.
we would always come back here again. the food is amazing, the surroundings nice and the staff polite and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumbelbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    106
    39
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Lobster!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nunan's is the first place we have dinner when we come to Maine each September.....and we look forward to it all year! The lobster here is served in its simplest form....boiled, with a side of drawn butter along with two pickle chips, a roll and a small bag of potato chips. All on a metal tray. And it doesn't get any better! The lobster is so fresh and delicious. The staff has always been warm and friendly to us, our wait is never long and the restaurant itself is loaded with character. There are all kinds of nets, buoys, interesting old photos etc. all over the walls and ceiling. Given the restaurants age (60 years) it is extremely clean and well kept. One tip......no credit cards accepted, but they do have an ATM available. We love it here and will continue to return each year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogdaystraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you want to eat lobster "the Maine way", Nunan's is the way to go. It was recommended to us by our hotel staff and it was a great choice. It's a fun, laid back atmosphere. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. The lobster was awesome and for the non-lobster lovers, the steak was amazing. Very fun and affordable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GertieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best lobster in Maine!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Here's the qualification. I've eaten at Twin Heads Lobster Shack, Becky's Diner and Nunan's in Maine. Of the three, Nunan's serves the best, freshest lobster at the best value.

When you come to Nunan's you are served by the most jovial server who will then wrap a bib around your neck while you wait for your 1 and 1/8 pound twin lobsters to arrive steamed on your table. Steaming the lobster allows the juice of the lobster to collect on the plate for soaking with bread. No, I did not bother with the butter on the side as the fresh lobster meat was best tasted without the fat. Depending on the lobster, there would be some lobster roe as a treat. Otherwise the liver or tomalley served as a decadent treat - personally, my favourite part of the lobster.

Fresh, Steamed, Sizeable and Affordable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spoilt_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This is the place you expect to find when searching for a Maine seafood restaurant. The lobster is amazing, the chowder is the best anywhere and the decor is typical quaint comfy New England. For great down home fare this is the place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobsterrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nunan's Lobster Hut also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Nunan's Lobster Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing