We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch after Thanksgiving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Restaurant

Hurricane Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sitting over the Kennebunk River in the Kennebunkport neighborhood of Dock Square. Hurricane Restaurant offers the freshest local seafood,locally grown produce and the finest of prime meats available in the market daily. Our Chef and Pastry Chef write our menus each day based on what is the freshest and finest product. Our wine list offers over 130 plus selections by the bottle with almost 60 available by the glass and has won Wine Spectator awards for over 15 years in a row. Our service is casual with our priorities being complete guest satisfaction. Please join us soon to enjoy our wonderful food and beverages and well as our spectacular water views.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lunch after Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

One of the few places in town open for lunch that would also take a reservation. That being said, the food was great. The lobster chowder and the awesome fresh baked bread were the two standouts . . . though there were a couple of pretty good sandwiches at our table too. Glad we went.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    311
    88
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the Lobster Chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

First time eating here during Christmas Prelude. The service was great. Our waitress was very knowledgeable of the menu and offered great recommendations. My husband got the lobster chowder, which was so delicious that we returned the following day to have a bowl for lunch. I had the garlic shrimp with fettuccine, which was great. My dad had the seafood stew, which was excellent. Wonderful service and selection of food. The atmosphere is very nice and cozy. If you go, try to lobster chowder. Remember, it is a large bowl but delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Two of us spent $175 on wine, salad and two entrees. The scenery was beautiful. The lobster was delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautiful view of the water. Friendly staff and great service. Food was fresh and tasty. I had fish tacos and husband had fish and chips for lunch. Both left full and happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdmonty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pre-Christmas Prelude reconnoiter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I love Kennebunkport but have never been to this fine establishment. It was veteran's Day weekend and many restaurants were packed or had no parking. As luck would have it we walked into Hurricane, plunked ourselves at the bar and had cocktails and apps. And, as it turned, a very fine social time chatting with patrons at the bar. All of which was enhanced by a first-class bartender who not only prepared excellent cocktails (when is the last, if ever, time you had a stinger???) but offered valuable insight into menu choices: oysters, onion sould extraordinaire. Just a fun, enjoyable and delicious visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Hurricane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing