We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Hurricane Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hurricane Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sitting over the Kennebunk River in the Kennebunkport neighborhood of Dock Square. Hurricane Restaurant offers the freshest local seafood,locally grown produce and the finest of prime meats available in the market daily. Our Chef and Pastry Chef write our menus each day based on what is the freshest and finest product. Our wine list offers over 130 plus selections by the bottle with almost 60 available by the glass and has won Wine Spectator awards for over 15 years in a row. Our service is casual with our priorities being complete guest satisfaction. Please join us soon to enjoy our wonderful food and beverages and well as our spectacular water views.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautiful view of the water. Friendly staff and great service. Food was fresh and tasty. I had fish tacos and husband had fish and chips for lunch. Both left full and happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdmonty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    321
    96
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pre-Christmas Prelude reconnoiter”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I love Kennebunkport but have never been to this fine establishment. It was veteran's Day weekend and many restaurants were packed or had no parking. As luck would have it we walked into Hurricane, plunked ourselves at the bar and had cocktails and apps. And, as it turned, a very fine social time chatting with patrons at the bar. All of which was enhanced by a first-class bartender who not only prepared excellent cocktails (when is the last, if ever, time you had a stinger???) but offered valuable insight into menu choices: oysters, onion sould extraordinaire. Just a fun, enjoyable and delicious visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you expect a fantastic experience, with tasteful cuisine, well presented plates and excellent service, Hurricane is one of the very best. We enjoy dining is good, high quality restaurants in Europe, in Québec city and down South and we always keep the fondest memories of this great table. Try their platter of fresh raw oysters!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyfromQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Hurricane lunch is a home run!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were first customers at lunch on Wednesday, and we had a meal to remember. The service, the food, the ambience and view were all excellent. Hurricane is on the pricey side, but it is worth every penny, as your meal will be prepared by a top chef. No details are spared and no short cuts are taken to create the perfect taste experience.
My companion began with the autumn salad with mixed greens, goat cheese, candied nuts, pumpkin seeds, dried cranberries and a fresh homemade balsamic dressing. It was seasonal and delicious. I ordered the Portuguese kale and sausage (chorizo) soup, which was truly memorable. Start with a rich stock, add finely diced potatoes, chorizo, kale, and big pieces of fresh tomato, simmered for hours. Perfection!
Next, my companion had a large bowl of Hurricane's famous lobster chowder, a cream base chowder with chunks of lobster meat and tender potatoes. Both the soup and lobster chowder are large enough as an entire meal. Since we were not going to be back till next year, we ordered four dishes to expand our experience. For my second "main" course, I ordered maple bacon glazed shrimp. Five extra large shrimp were served over creamy risotto in a delicious pan reduction. This consisted of bits of bacon, finely diced roasted squash, and hints of fresh sage. The balance of sweet, salty, creamy, crunchy, fresh herbs and tender shrimp was truly a memorable creation. The pan reduction was liberally spooned over the shrimp and risotto, providing a perfect accompaniment to the house baked basket of fresh hot crusty bread and ample butter.
Because it was so cold (below freezing), we opted for hot coffee and water for our beverages, but other diners took advantage of the extensive wine selection. Sadly, we were not able to sample the excellent deserts because we had The maitre'de offered us the premier corner window table, overlooking the Kennebunk River, with lots of sea birds making tracks at the beautiful low tide scene before us.
Service was exactly right, competent, anticipating, but not overbearing. The dining rooms at Hurricanes are very warm and inviting, with a large seascape mural on the inside wall, and two walls of windows overlooking the water.
The lunch menu offers the same, high quality, large portion servings as the evening service at somewhat reduced prices. if you are looking for a very special lunch, and are willing to pay for it, I can't think of a better place anywhere than Hurricane's in Kennebunkport's Dock Square. After your lunch, you may visit some interesting shops, some of which are open even in off-season.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmanColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

There are a lot of excellent choices in Kennbunkport's Dock Square and Kennebunk Lower Village...for those not familiar with the area, you really wouldn't know the difference, they are separated by the river which is not very wide. Anyway, we have dined at a number of the restaurants in the area and found a number that we really like. On a recent rainy weekday afternoon we were headed to Federal Jack's for lunch when we decided at the last minute to try someplace different. So, we ventured another 100 yards or so and went to Hurricane's instead. We weren't disappointed, the food, service setting were all excellent. As I mentioned, it was a chilly, rainy weekday aat about 1:00pm in early November...so it was rather quiet in Dock Square. The food is a little pricey at Hurricane and it is a little more upscale than some of the "local clam shacks," but not to the point of being exorbitant or stuffy. I had the fried oysters and my wife had a grilled crabmeat and havarti sandwich on sourdogh...both were excellent. There were fancier entrees available, but we were just looking for "lunch." We did eavesdrop on some of the other tables nearby and heard only positive comments about the other meals. I'm sure we'll return for dinner sometime for a "fancier" meal. The restaurant has a prime location overlooking the river or Dock Square, depending on where you are seated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Hurricane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing