We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster stew”

Hurricane Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hurricane Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sitting over the Kennebunk River in the Kennebunkport neighborhood of Dock Square. Hurricane Restaurant offers the freshest local seafood,locally grown produce and the finest of prime meats available in the market daily. Our Chef and Pastry Chef write our menus each day based on what is the freshest and finest product. Our wine list offers over 130 plus selections by the bottle with almost 60 available by the glass and has won Wine Spectator awards for over 15 years in a row. Our service is casual with our priorities being complete guest satisfaction. Please join us soon to enjoy our wonderful food and beverages and well as our spectacular water views.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lobster stew”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Same lobster stew they used to serve at Hurricane in Ogunquit. Excellent. nice views if you can get a table in the back of restaurant. We had to sit in the bar. Wonderful restaurant, great cesar salads.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sky229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    317
    92
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great romantic dinner”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wonderful dinner, great food and great atmosphere. Service was beyond sub par, but the food made up for it (also I was not super hungry so not as upset with the long wait for the food).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisonville, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, genial atmosphere at the bar”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had drinks, oysters, and a small snack at the bar. Friendly bartenders, reasonably interesting single malt choices, great oysters. Still haven't had a full meal there but when I'm in the area I always stop for the oysters, so sooner or later I'll have dinner, and expect it to be excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdirondackBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second visit to Hurricane and both times we had excellent service and delicious food. We sat in a booth both times, very comfortable and cozy. Nice place to see the sunset over the river. I would encourage making reservations especially in the summer and on weekends year-round. One of our favorites in the area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank impytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful and Fresh!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Hurricane in Kennebunkport in early October 2012. We had a fabulous a lunch:

Oysters on half shell: so fresh and beautifully presented
Caesar salad with half lobster in shell on top
Lobster chowder
...and more that I am unable to recall

Prompt and excellent service; parking behind restaurant.

Serene and delightful views of water from restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelonOysterFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Hurricane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing