We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”

Hurricane Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hurricane Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sitting over the Kennebunk River in the Kennebunkport neighborhood of Dock Square. Hurricane Restaurant offers the freshest local seafood,locally grown produce and the finest of prime meats available in the market daily. Our Chef and Pastry Chef write our menus each day based on what is the freshest and finest product. Our wine list offers over 130 plus selections by the bottle with almost 60 available by the glass and has won Wine Spectator awards for over 15 years in a row. Our service is casual with our priorities being complete guest satisfaction. Please join us soon to enjoy our wonderful food and beverages and well as our spectacular water views.
Falmouth ,Me
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is one of our favorite restaurants however it has slipped a little. We had the baked stuffed lobster which we have had before .The stuffing was somewhat musshy and 3 huge scollops on top .There use to be shrimp in the stuffing ..I would return but not for the lobster at $45.00..Way overpriced.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BippyFalmouth_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    329
    101
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Easy walk from local hotels”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

food was good and if you had a table near the window the views of the estuary would be nice.
Service was a little slow and the servers were not as interested or warm with their welcome as we experienced elsewhere but it was Prelude weekend so no doubt they were weary.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank voa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what I had hoped for.”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I had long wanted to eat at the Hurricane and we finally went for lunch this week. I am sorry to say they did not live up to my expectations. First, let me say that our table overlooking the river was perfect. We enjoyed sitting in the afternoon sun watching a small seal frolic in the water. The food however, was not as good as the view.

My husband ordered a crab sandwich which arrived first. For some reason, my salad was delayed another 10 minutes which was odd given the fact that it was a fairly simple one to make. He took a first bite and hit a piece of shell. Oh well, that can happen with fresh seafood. Second bite another hard piece of shell. Rather than risk a broken tooth, he notified our waitress who said she would take it back and they'd look it over for more shells. That didn't seem like the right response so he decided to get a Chicken Caesar Salad instead. Finally, my Lobster Cobb Salad arrived after all this discussion. This $22 salad consisted of chopped tomato, greens, hard boiled egg, some thin ham slices. and some small pieces of lobster meat. Nothing special but the ingredients were very fresh tasting.

Overall, I would have expected more concern from the waitstaff re: shells in the sandwich, better timing of food delivery, overall concern re: a disappointing experience for the customer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perennial Favorite”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Consistently excellent - a goal most restaurants cannot achieve. Whether seated in the bar or in the restaurant, the service, food, and atmosphere are pleasant and enjoyable.
Please note you can get either the bar menu or the dining room menu in the bar, but only the dinner menu in the dining room.
The onion soup is excellent, and different than the norm. This one is light, made with chicken broth, and is topped with a puff pastry instead of French bread and cheese. The bento box is very good, as are the burgers and lobster rolls. They have a delicious grilled ham, cheese, and tomato on the bar menu! And really wonderful "fancy" cocktails.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slow”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Waited 40 minutes to be served dinner after order was taken
God quality food good portions
slow service

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Restaurant also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Hurricane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing