We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exciting icecream flavours, not for the faint hearted”

Rococo Artisan Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exciting icecream flavours, not for the faint hearted”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you like an adventure, try this place. The most unusual flavours ever. If you like standard run of the mill ice-cream this may not be the place for you but my husband and I loved it- and they let you try before you buy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkippyTravellerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    86
    32
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent artisan ice cream”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at Rococo's & I gotta say it won't be our last. They have chocolate & vanilla, but that is where the familiar ends. This is truly an experience. They make all of the ice cream in house, which makes it incredibly fresh. They encourage tasting which is a necessity because of all of the unusual flavors. They put together flavor combinations that are truly unique & delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoheadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream for Adventurous Palettes!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This ice creeam was decadent, with interesting flavor combinations and uses of spices. It is very rich and thick, too. Others in my party would have liked to see more traditional flavor options

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing and Creative Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I don't normally review ice cream parlors, but Rococo deserves the attention of foodies who happen to be in the Kennebunkport area.

The woman who owns the place and creates all the flavor combinations is a genius (I forgot her name ...sorry). Rich and dense, flavorable, and creative are the words I'll use to describe everything she makes. The day I was there she had about 20 creations, including spiced (cinnamon, herbs, intense vanilla), hot (cayenne), sweet (mix-ins), and fruity (amazing banana and coconut flavors).

The chef/owner is taking risks and IMHO delivering an amazingly high quality, line-up of ice cream confections. If you really like food and are anywhere near Kennebunkport make a beeline to Rococo to sample some of the most innovative, authentic ice cream being made in New England.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unusual Flavors for a Refined Pallet”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I played rock-paper-scissors to decide if we'd go to Rococo's or Ben and Jerry's down the street. My boyfriend won and he chose to trip Rococo. They have unusual and "artisan" flavors - like Cranberry Ginger, Chai, and even a Curry flavored ice cream. I was told that the owner makes it herself. After trying 5 different flavors, I settled on Dark Chocolate (the least creative). It was delicious, but I actually think I prefer the more traditional flavors and consistency of ice cream to this gelato-like treat.
There is no place to sit in the shop, so you'll have to grab and go. She offers ice cream in cups or cones.
It was overall pretty good, and maybe I'd go there again if I had a friend with me who wanted a less traditional flavor. For me, I think I'll stick to Ben&Jerry's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreelanceAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rococo Artisan Ice Cream also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to Rococo Artisan Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing