We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Creative Ice Cream”

Rococo Artisan Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing and Creative Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I don't normally review ice cream parlors, but Rococo deserves the attention of foodies who happen to be in the Kennebunkport area.

The woman who owns the place and creates all the flavor combinations is a genius (I forgot her name ...sorry). Rich and dense, flavorable, and creative are the words I'll use to describe everything she makes. The day I was there she had about 20 creations, including spiced (cinnamon, herbs, intense vanilla), hot (cayenne), sweet (mix-ins), and fruity (amazing banana and coconut flavors).

The chef/owner is taking risks and IMHO delivering an amazingly high quality, line-up of ice cream confections. If you really like food and are anywhere near Kennebunkport make a beeline to Rococo to sample some of the most innovative, authentic ice cream being made in New England.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    86
    32
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unusual Flavors for a Refined Pallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I played rock-paper-scissors to decide if we'd go to Rococo's or Ben and Jerry's down the street. My boyfriend won and he chose to trip Rococo. They have unusual and "artisan" flavors - like Cranberry Ginger, Chai, and even a Curry flavored ice cream. I was told that the owner makes it herself. After trying 5 different flavors, I settled on Dark Chocolate (the least creative). It was delicious, but I actually think I prefer the more traditional flavors and consistency of ice cream to this gelato-like treat.
There is no place to sit in the shop, so you'll have to grab and go. She offers ice cream in cups or cones.
It was overall pretty good, and maybe I'd go there again if I had a friend with me who wanted a less traditional flavor. For me, I think I'll stick to Ben&Jerry's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreelanceAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the "dime a dozen" ice cream shops in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Such flavors. Such creativity. Tried goat cheese with chambord and spiced road which was chocolate and marshmallow with cinnamon, cayenne pepper and smoked almonds. A must try!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandYourMyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Three of us decided to give it a try, just because of the ratings. We were given samples, which is a good idea, since the flavors are so unusual. They said it's ice cream, made in the gelato fashion, but my counterparts called it sticky, gooey, not the consistency of ice cream. I had a sample of chocolate coconut. It was not good enough to consume the calories, and nothing else appealed, so I did not indulge. One had Nutella cranberry, and did not care for it. The other one had the dark chocolate who said it was not as chocolate flavored as the color would indicate. The portions were "gourmet" small, like a gelato would be, and the price was high. Obviously other reviewers like it, but none of us are fans and won't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blessedbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Icecream so good you have to PINCH YOURSELF to believe its REAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading all the reviews for this place I decided to seek out this place this past weekend on my trek up to Maine. Well My GPS sent me all over the place and driving by I could not locate it! Oh well. Then, on a casual stroll through town on Saturday with my dog, he stopped in front of ROCCO'S! But the sign stated they were opening in May! D'OH! Then a woman (aka Icecream Angel) that was inside said that they had a photoshoot earlier in the day and she DID some icecream for sale that day! Well I sampled quite a few (and was amazed at the Sweet Avacado with Cayanne pepper), but settled on the Goat Cheese Blueberry and the Banana Caramel nut flavors. WOW! It really is some of the best ice cream you will ever try hands down. My dog tried to jump and snatch it out of my hands the entire way home!

If you are around the area for the summer, give it a try (After a nice Lobster Roll)!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diablonyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rococo Artisan Ice Cream also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Rococo Artisan Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing