We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Ranked #10 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice place.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the first time staying at the Yachtsman. We were very pleased. Our room was very clean. The linens on the bed were modern and very comfortable. The view of the river is very pretty. The brandy with the cheese and crackers was a nice touch. The continental breakfast was tasty. Nice people. This was a very relaxing place to stay. We would definitely recommend staying at the Yachtsman.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnaroian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    46
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
134
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have been staying at the Yachtsman at least once a year since 2000 and keep coming back! Very comfortable and well appointed rooms all with a great view of the Kennebunk River, in walking distance to "downtown" in one direction or the ocean in the other. The rates include a really nice breakfast in the morning (always a really yummy quiche available!) and afternoon tea, coffee or sherry (I think!) with homemade cookies. The beds are really comfortable with luxurious duvet and sheets. I love opening the drapes to the sliding glass doors and watch the tides rise and drop in the river. Have always felt very at home here and recently began bringing our springer spaniel. The rooms NEVER smell or look like there have been any pet guests. Also nice to have parking spots right outside your room. Don't be decieved by it's motel outside appearance... it has all the convenience of a motor inn but the elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnson city tx
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For our daughter's 30th bday we stayed at the Yachtsman Lodge, when we arrived I was skeptical of what we had selected. But what a treat it was! The rooms were clean, spacious and so quiet. The patio view of the harbour was so calming. The quaint resort allowed us the no hassle pleasures of self parking, no long waits for elevators and no noisey neighbors.The staff was your typical stiff north eastern personalities, so if you are use to southern charm, be patient and use your sweet tea accent on them, they will warm up. We requested a late check out so we could spend lunch at the beach, due to sold out weekend, they couldn't , but they had showers and dressing room accomadations for the marina they allowed us to use. Perfect ending to the weekend! We enjoyed the slower pace and setting of this nostaligac motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Yachtsman about 3 times over the past 10 years or so and decided to stay there again on our recent visit to Kennebunkport because we had nice memories of the place. It has definitely changed. The room needs some updates and the staff needs to be trained in customer service, especially when you are paying $300+/night. Granted, the staff was pretty young, but when you ask one of them a question and they ignore you, not once but twice, because they are texting, that is totally unacceptable. We also thought there were way too many dogs in the breakfast area while we were eating. On the bright side, the Yachtsman has great views from the patio and is walking distance to town. Hopefully, the management can bring the property back to life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, usa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Second time we have stayed here. Great views comfortable rooms with above average fittings. Easy to walk to town and restaurants. Why they don't see the little annoyances is beyond me. Lose toilet seats. Lose faucets, moldings in need of repair and paint. Still a great place and a good value for the area. Will go back next time in area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We are not boaters, ourselves, but, we sure do like to see Yachts! This lovely, very clean motel-like inn and lodge provides beautiful, picturesque patios with the view of lots of boats, ship and yachts right outside each room. There is breakfast on their patio included, as well as tea and cookies in the early afternoon and brandy, cheese & crackers later on. We always stay at the Colony Hotel, but, they graciously recommended this great place when I said .."very clean is a prerequisite" for us. The roos all have king size beds, refrigerators, coffee service and patio doors. It was so nice to sit out our door, sip a cup of coffee, watch the ducks, sea gulls and activity on the ships. Perfect, and for a place that allows dogs...so beautifully kept! The price is not cheap,but, during the summer, if you want a nice place this is about average.

Room Tip: The middle section is probably best...stay away from the ice machine and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfaiella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Their prices rival those of a W hotel or Ritz Carlton, but this unfortunately is just a glorified motel. The rooms are clean, but have that musty humid motel smell to them. If you have a dog, suck it up and stay here, every room as a patio with direct access to grass. The rooms have a beautiful view and the motel is short walk into town. But if you have the option to stay elsewhere, there are a lot of hotels in the area charging the same price or less for a much higher quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachtsman Lodge & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Lodge & Marina

Property: Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Address: 59 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6146
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yachtsman Lodge & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yachtsman Lodge & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Hotel Kennebunkport
Yachtsman Lodge And Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing