We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“queen room with balcony” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #12 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“queen room with balcony”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I chose this hotel because we previously stayed there 8 years ago. The breakfast is great, best coffee I have had in years. It's a buffet style breakfast with fresh fruits, muffins, bread, eggs, cereals. I loved to sit on the adirondack chairs at the end of the day with wine just watching the fisherman on their boats come in. It's a great location. Nice walk into town.

Room Tip: You should avoid queen room partial view of river with balcony. The room has 2 skylights but no lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank int2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    54
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
30
117
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a very spacious room. It was an older building and when the air conditioning turned on and off there was a very loud bang. The bathroom tile was a bit on the moldy side. Otherwise, it was nicely appointed in a nice, scenic area. The linens were nice but it was hard to relax with the air conditioning noises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicetoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

To give you a little background, I was looking for a modern hotel with a restaurant, bar, walking distance to downtown, waterviews and a patio. I do believe I picked the best property in Kennebunkport based on that criteria and am overall pleased; however, there are some opportunities for improvement. I am also including observations on other properties in the area as this is the info I was looking for (and could not find) before I booked. As a point of reference, I regularly stay at Ritz Carlton/W properties and was looking for a Kennebunkport property on par with White Elephant (ACK) and Harborview (MVY).

Positives:
-Absolutely amazing views if you are willing to pay for the room (I paid over $400 a night but am not complaining, far cheaper than ACK this time of year.)
-Large, modern room that was very clean and well decorated.
-Food at Stripers envies some of the best restaurants I have been to in the country. I had the chicken in a seafood restaurant and that was amazing. The dessert and wine list were great as well.
-Staff was very kind and tried to overcome blips.

Opportunities for Improvement:
-While room wasn't ready for early check-in (totally acceptable), the front desk said they would call me when it did come available. 3PM check-in came and went so I called around 3:30 only to find out they forgot to call me. In fairness, they made up for this by bringing my luggage (that they were holding) to my room before my return.
-Still on a room key (not "credit card swip style") system. I would have found this charming except for the fact the key has the hotel name and room number on it. There are nutjobs everywhere and even though Kennebunkport is exceptionally safe, even White Elephant and Harborview use credit card style keys now for safety. At least, try to code the keys and take room number off, anyone could dupe the key.
-Shower (see pic) was in desperate need of renovation. Shower head was hanging from wall with caulk falling off/showing.
-Was given incorrect information on intown trolley pick-up across the street and missed it on first day. When I called downstairs on second day, I got same info and probed more only to get "I don't know" as an answer. The correct answer was "May I check and call you back?" which unfortunately did not happen.

General Observations:
-Draws either a slightly older (50+) crowd or young couples with nannies. It did turn to the 30-something set at the end of the week, but clearly this is not their primary demographic. Surprising to me based on price point, but for all I know Kennebunkport may draw an older crowd.

Other Properties Nearby I Made a Point to Check Onsite:
1.Colony Hotel: Amazing, grandious old hotel with curb appeal that is across the street. And then you walk in and it smells like mold and looks like it was modeled from Dirty Dancing set (had mold smell not been so strong, this would have been charming). I was told there is no AC there but can't verify that - don't let anyone sell you on the breeze, it was 100% humidity for a good portion of my trip - you need AC. Made Breakwater look like a nursery school in terms of age, pretty much everyone there was knocking on God's door.
2. Nonantum: Steps closer to downtown than Breakwater. I think it was cheaper but it definitely is not as modern as Breakwater. It gets rave reviews, but I am honestly not sure why. Had dinner at Heckman's (the 6 seat pub) one night. Food was less than stellar.
3. Tides: Beautiful property on the water but you are a good 10-15 minute drive from downtown Kennebunkport.
4. Hidden Pond: Completely out in Timbuktu (I went to Tree Spa - the spa in tree houses which was worth the drive). Be forewarned, your GPS will turn useless at entrance. It does look amazing to stay at, but it is WAY out there. If I ever want to get away from the world within driving distance of Boston, this comes to mind.
5. The Grand: Smack in downtown with access to everything. If I don't do Breakwater again, probably where I'll stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 215, which I think was the best on the property. While the spa rooms are cheaper, k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jancan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely view from our third floor riverside building room. Very clean and attractive room. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Also had a nice time sitting on the lawn drinking wine watching the river go by. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank streepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent the weekend here with my husband and 2 daughters for a wedding there on the property. Our room was in the Spa building, it was a beautiful, spacious room on the top floor overlooking the docks. I loved that the room was very clean, with an extremely comfy bed. The staff was awesome, and the included breakfast at the Inn was nice. At $450/night I was expecting a little more, a pool, a beach, something? The wedding made for great fun, but relaxation clearly is the name of the game here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2theT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I spent a very nice weekend alone at the Breakwater. The room was small, but nice and clean. It was the spa that made our time really relaxing and special. You have access to the showers in the spa as a guest so we took full advantage! The staff was very nice and hospitable. We would come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed there over a summer weekend for an anniverasary and the overall experience was great. The staff was very attentive and helped with all questions. Rooms were impeccable and the gym facility was as good as if not better than those in much larger hotels. DId not get to use the Spa but from the looks of it it would have been great as well. Rooms with a water view are a nice way to wake up, and see the sights. The Continental Breakfast included was very good and set the tone for a realxing day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.9 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Property: The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing