We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa Section Hotel Rooms need work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Spa Section Hotel Rooms need work”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife & I stayed in the spa section of the inn (3 days in late August )which is physically separate from the main inn area. We made this decision because the internet pictures seemed to indicate that these rooms were more modern. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The views overlook the parking lot and the main street. The air conditioning unit was in the room and in need to a total overhaul/replacement--very annoying. The floor boards squeak and you hear the people above walkling around their room. The TV's are old fashioned CRT but the channel selections are very good. The bath tub is dangerously slippery and the towels have never met a softener---real rough. The room needs more floor lamps. The staff is very good (especially the twins) and try to make your stay memorable. For breakfast you exit the building and walk outside about 25 yards to the main inn whose common areas are very nice. The self-serve continental breakfast is OK, nothing to get excited about. The area behind the inn is great for relaxing as the sun sets on the river/harbor view. There are really good cookies and coffee/tea available in the late afternoon at no charge. Would we stay here again? Yes. The location is very good and the restaurant across the street is outstanding for lobster and other dinner items. Ask to see the rooms in both the Inn & Spa before you settle down. Parts of the Inn are scheduled for rennovation this winter, so things are changing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    68
    34
    8
    15
See reviews for
38
152
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our stay at the Breakwater Inn was amazing. The hotel was close to everything with it's own 5 star restaurant, rooms with views and extremely comfortable beds.a little pricey but well worth it. We spent 2 days there on a road trip through New England to see the fall colors. staff was wonderful and it was a romantic time for us.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and it only gets worst over time. Front desk is normally staffed but somehow it seems as if they are always to busy to help. The lack of instruction with the coffee service, meals and location of other items is lacking. For example when asked at the front desk if they had a tooth brush (which my wife forgot )they said "we do not have any". When asking for a key to the lockers in the spa I was told, "go to the desk in the spa to get one" however when I went to the spa I could not find a desk or anyone. I returned to the main desk where the same person gave me a key. The breakfast service was unbelievable, no instruction again as to how it works with many staff standing around and doing nothing and when asked for coffee it was if I was bothering them. The best thing is the room. This place needs management!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This property is a real mixed bag. The setting is lovely (right on the water) and some parts of the building are fine with others mainly the rooms in need of updating. Our room was so small we could barely walk in it and forget about luggage. We asked about a larger room and were told they had a room with a porch. We kept asking if it was larger and he keep pushing the porch--English was not his first language. WE finally got a larger room.
There are no elevators and the halls and stairs are hot and stuffy. Getting ice is a major hassle as you have to ask at the "desk" which is hidden in a corner. Guests cannot get their own ice and you often get attitude. Some of the staff especially the locals were very friendly. The "imported help" not so much. Basic things like not replacing toiletries and only filling coffee cups half way are just other examples of lack of customer service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days and wish we stayed longer..The Inn was amazing, clean friendly great view and the amenities were fantastic from afternoon tea sitting on andirondeck chairs watching the boats sail by...spa treatments..breakfast buffet ..bar and restaurant all fantastic. Everything was clean and comfortable beds. Mabels across the street has fantastic clam chowder and homemade desserts to die for. Hannahs store within walking distance is a fun shop for the ladies..so much to see ..we went on a sailing ship and saw Pres Bush Sr speeding by in his boat. Spetacular views and great roads to dosome walking the scenery is fantastic.Allisons restaurant was our favorite too in town. What a great get away! 5 star ++++

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazamm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Breakwater Inn for two nights to celebrate his birthday. The Inn overlooks the bay looking out to the ocean. The rooms are beautiful with a bacony overlooking the water. The bed was a bit soft and not the most comfortable, but the room itself was very nicely decorated. They served breakfast in Stripers every morning and it was very good with an assortment of items. The services was excellent and they were very accomodating. I would love to return for a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Both my fiancé and I had an amazing stay in Kennebunkport . I actually have had good reviews of the BWI since before we arrived after speaking with someone to book the room. I did not want to simply book online because I like to get all the information I can before putting money down. The woman who booked our stay was very informative and made sure we got the best room within our budget.
We started our trip with a couples massage. We've done one couples massage before in Boston on Newbury Street , and the BWI's definitely surpassed our expectations. The spa itself was amazing with great architecture and finishes (my fiancé is an architect and I'm an interior architect so we are very picky!)
Our suite was fantastic with a very generous size and wonderful views of the river and the BWI's grounds. The staff was very helpful and always cheery and polite too. We really enjoyed our breakfasts daily and any time spent at the Inn . We've both been raving about our stay and recommending the BWI to our coworkers and friends.
Thanks so much for a fantastic long weekend. It was a truly exceptional mini vaca. We look forward to future trips there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Property: The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing