We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Solid Beach Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhumb Line Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Solid Beach Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Over the weekend my wife and I had the opportunity to get away ( without our kids) and travel to Kennebunk , ME. For those who had never traveled to this area. It is beautiful. With the weather being in the 90's, we booked Rhumb Line resort, as the pre-summer prices where fantastic for the area. We booked a night for $99.00.

The location is very good. You are about 1- 1/2 miles to the downtown area. Great as you are close to the town, but away enough for privacy. Upon checking in and out, I found the front desk to be very accommodating and friendly. Very personable.

The grounds are clean. The pool and bar area where also very clean. The funny thing that I noticed is that the pool and bar area where "slamming". I haven't seen that much activity poolside since my last trip to the islands.

The room was your standard hotel room. It was clean and fairly modern. You really can't go wrong with this hotel.

If you are expecting a "business" grade hotel or luxury hotel. This is not the case. However, it is a clean, well located, fair priced, "Beach" hotel .I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jvol365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. Yes, our poolside dining and cocktail area is very popular during the summer months. It's a great amenity to have as sometimes our guests would prefer to just hang out here with a burger or a lobster feast, and a cocktail.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    46
    34
    21
See reviews for
113
86
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mersustew
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Rhumb Line Resort was a very nice place to stay. The staff especially Katie at the front desk was most hospitable and easy to talk with. She made you feel like family. Melony was also a great help. All in all its a really nice place to stay.

Steve and Sue

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mersustew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We work hard to make sure everyone is happy and having fun. We like to say we are on the quiet side of the Ocean Ave loop, close enough to get into town, just enough away for peace and quiet.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Checked out this hotel because there was a coupon in our book. So glad we did. The room is very nice and roomy and the beds are so well made. All the rooms have a view of the really pretty pool and back yard area. We visited out of season, so can only imagine how much fun it would be here during season. It's about 1.5 miles out of town from Kennebunkport, but it is an easy drive back in. The price was certainly a welcome change from the Kennebunkport usual. The room is very clean and well appointed. Will definitely come back here if we return to Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: A room close to the outside doors is easier to get your luggage into. There is not a luggage cart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpfwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather is getting better each day and with it we get more flowers, more sunshine, and more smiles. We hope you can come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service was the best part of our stay,the ladies at the front desk were awesome,so friendly and helpful.The room was very clean and quiet,it had everything that you needed,even a personal size coffee maker.The bed & pillow's were very comfy.The breakfast selection was just enough to make you happy,also what they had was very good,Great Coffee!The pool's and jacuzzi's looked very inviting,we didn't use them as we forgot our bathing suit's. We look forward to coming back in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Don't forget your bathing suit's as the pool's are very inticing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishrosie1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am anticipating my second stay while I attend a weekend workshop at Heartwood College of Art. The pool was warm, hot tubs hot and open late and early enough for me to enjoy the facilities. The staff was friendly , and pool, rooms and hotu were clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizartwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Reasonable rates for in-town lodging...short drive to town...clean & comfortable rooms...very nice, cozy bedding...usually quiet unless you get a large group of partying people with a block of rooms near yours (yep, happened, haha), but otherwise very peaceful. Nice outdoor & heated indoor pools.
Happened to lose power due to severe thunderstorm that weekend (August 2012) and not only was there no generator back up, but surprisingly there were no emergency lights in the common areas...a bit unsafe, as it was pitch black. They did hand out flashlights if you asked at the desk, which helped. Power company worked to restore power during the storm (brave souls!) so fortunately the outage was brief (2-3 hrs.)
Overall, a nice place to stay, with the biggest draws being their two pools & comfy bedding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysvjlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michaels, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place was great, friendly, clean and convenient. The off-season price is unbeatable. They have a continental breakfast, workout facilities, strong wi-fi, and are a short drive to the downtown. I was in town for a quick visit to check out the Landing School in Arundle. Would recommend, and like to check out during peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Property: Rhumb Line Resort
Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing