We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrable”
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhumb Line Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I called a booked a room king size bed and 2 family members booked the same....better watch the cancellation policy....7 days...how are you going to know if you are going to be sick or not....usually 24 hours... that is a joke....they got $25.00 from 3 couples....$75.00 for a phone call......got the flu 6 days before and cancelled...I wouldn't' stay there if the rooms were free...I never heard of 7 day cancellation fee....look other places...buyer beware...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
3  Thank myracol2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 284 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2007

really a motel with a pool and hot tub.

check in staff unobservant and rude.

allowed 1 towel per person.

room smelled-matrresses were stained

morning continental breakfast was ceral/toast/bagel. went out to eat afterwards

staff very unfriendly. takes advantage of summer tourists. rather stay further out of town and be treated like a customer should be.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robdur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We held our College reunion here (and will again in 2009), perfect! Nice rooms, heated inside & outside pools. "Captain's Table" outside dinning in the evening next to the pool. We had a great lobster bake dinner there with about 100 with no problems. Near the center of Kennebunkport with all it's attractions and beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BeachL0ver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed one night on the third floor and there were no elevators. Needless to say, the luggage was very heavy. The room needed some updating and the outside needed some serious landscaping. Also, to get to the lobby you had to go outside, we were on the back side of the hotel so this was a long hike, thank goodness it wasn't raining. Would not recommend staying here. On a positive side: the folks running the front desk were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

This place was a great place for families. If it's raining there is an indoor pool/sauna/hot tub. Everything was clean; the owners were constantly picking up after the guests and making sure everyone was comfortable. There was a covered outdoor eating area and bar near the pool for softdrinks and alcohol. The atmosphere is very laid back and it's pretty close to town and on the trolley run. It's a great place for families.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MsGMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We have just spent a wonderful four day mini vacation at The Rhumb Line. It truly has a resort feeling with the indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, the fitness center and the attractive setting. We enjoyed lunch and dinners poolside both quite enjoyable. The "crew" was attentive and the food was great, particularly the lobster! Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The friendly staff went out of their way to make our visit pleasant. Now we look forward to our next stay there and recommend anyone thinking of a Maine vacation should make The Rhumb Line their destination.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank toycrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We have stayed at the Rhumbline Resort many times over the years. It's a great spot to go for a quiet winter weekend. The summer with the outdoor pool and bar is really great. The lobster bakes are the best in town. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The resort grounds are a perfect place for kids to play in a very safe area.
The price is a great bargin for the area. The rooms are are very nice and clean.
The best place to stay in southern Maine. Wouldn't think of any other place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bunkport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing