We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot on Goose Rocks Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Owego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on Goose Rocks Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent two nights here as a last gasp of summer, near the end of September. The hotel was newly renovated and offered many small luxuries that defined it for us. We were greeted with glasses of sparkling wine and given gift bags when we left containing bottles of water and homemade whoopie pies. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We ate dinner at the restaurant both nights and had excellent meals. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from the town of Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilesHanson, Front Office Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Greetings Lisa O and thank you for your kind review!
I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tides Beach Club.
The little perks we offer from the sparkling wine at check in, to the little “to go” treats at check out, give us the opportunity to help our guests get into “vacation mode” and say thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your year and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tides Beach Club.

Happy Travels!
Miles Hanson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    39
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
182
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Selected using Tripadvisor and reinforced how helpful this site is. Situated across the street from the beach, The Tides provided a comfortable porch with a view of a private garden with flowers which were filled with Monarch butterflies, and a great view of the sunset creating a magical setting for our first date. The staff, mussel appetizer and wine were wonderful which made it hard to move on to our dinner location at their sister property, Earth Restaurant at Hidden Pond. But that proved to be equally special.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The pros of this hotel is that it is right across from the beach, decode is lovely, rooms clean and comfortable, staff very welcoming. Glass of sparkling wine given at check in and a lovely treat bag upon departure. The restaurant food for dinner is delicious. Cons are it is a 15 minute drive from the main town of Kennebunkport and breakfast is meager and no places to eat dinner walking distance but hotels restaurant.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be sure when they say ocean view it is not partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilesHanson, Front Office Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Greetings EliseVA and thank you for your review!

It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay, including our welcome glasses of sparkling wine and of course the “to go” treats.

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not particularly care for our complimentary continental breakfast or that we are 15 minute drive from the town center. Being right on the beach we are surrounded by beautiful residential homes and would be the only hotel and restaurant in the immediate area. I’m very sorry if our location and distance to town was not fully conveyed to you during the booking process.
I hope to welcome you back to the Tides Beach Club in the near future.

Happy Travels!
Miles Hanson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at The Tides for two nights in mid-September. One positive is its location as it sits across the road from Goose Rocks Beach and is a 10 minute drive to downtown Kennebunkport. And, the room was clean and ready when we arrived early in the day. The hotel is nicely decorated. However, the negatives are many. No elevator in the building which meant carrying our luggage up three long flights of stairs. Perhaps this should have been mentioned on their website or when we called to make the reservation. Although we expected the room and bathroom to be small since this is an older hotel, there were many missing amenities that could have made the room more comfortable. There was absolutely no counter space in the bathroom; a wall shelf could have been added. The lighting in the bathroom was very dim, and we were given one small square of bar soap each day. No luggage rack so our luggage had to be on the floor. No closet, just a few small drawers in the TV stand. Four wooded pegs on the wall to hang a few items. No clock. The air conditioning did not work. After the first night we brought it to the attention of the desk clerk who said he would have someone look at it. It still didn’t work the second day. So, for both nights we had to have the windows open (the second night during an intense rain storm). Since we were on the third floor, and heat rises, it was uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was sub par with cold cereal choices, cold quiche, some fruit and muffins, with flies on the food. The restaurant and lounge was closed on Monday for lunch and dinner. Customer service was lacking as the staff had a less than enthusiastic demeanor. The Tides promotes itself as a luxury hotel, but is missing many basic amenities. The hotel was certainly not worth the price we paid and we would not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dmmshhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tides Beach Club and we had a BLAST! Everyone at the hotel was incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. We were greeted at the front desk by Erin, who had a smile from ear to ear and was more than happy to provide recommendations on things to do, restaurants to eat at, etc. When we got to our room (standard king) we could not get over the spectacular view of the beach. The room was immaculate and we could not have asked for anything more. It was very cozy, the bed was super comfortable and the pillows were nice and fluffy! We cannot wait to book another stay the Tides Beach Club!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Tides Beach Club was our last stop on our week stay in Maine and the accommodations did not disappoint. The front desk staff were very inviting and the overall decor was very nice (and reminiscent of a Pottery Barn catalog) Our room was very clean and spacious and we also had a nice little balcony with our own private entrance as well. The only (small) issue I had during our two night stay was with the breakfast. I understand we were there during the 'off season' but I was a little disappointed with the options we had a breakfast as there was only a few cold cereals, a few scones and some fruit. The next morning there were muffins added and on our way out of the dinning area, we saw the chef bringing croissants and hard boiled eggs. When we checked in, the staff said breakfast was from 8am to 10am but had I known more food would be brought out at 9am - we would've waited to come down to breakfast until later. It was also a bit disappointing to see some of the staff texting on their phones in the dinning area during our breakfast at such an upscale place. The location and (what I believe are normally) high standards of this hotel is what really sells it. I still definitely recommend this hotel to others as it is beautiful, clean and very comfortable and I can only imagine during the summer that the beach is incredible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auzigirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just stayed at the Tides this month, and found it very comfortable , homey and inviting. The common areas were beautifully decorated with a beachy atmosphere. The front porch was great for just relaxing and having a cup of coffee or a drink. The beach was well attended, where they set your chaise lounges, unbrellas, and even bring lunch and drinks. Staff was exceptional and friendly. When checking in, we received a glass of sparkling wine with a warm welcome. When checking out, we received a bag for the road with bottled water and homemade moon pies. They were great. The free breakfasts were very European with cheese, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, quiche, pastries, cereals, coffee and juices. Very pleasant morning room looking to the ocean to breakfast in. We have stayed in Kinnebunkport several times, in several very beautiful hotels and Bed and Breakfasts, and I would say the Tides is one of our favorites. The only downside was the rooms were very small. Beautifully decorated and small for the price. But, when at the beach who is in their rooms, except to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Beach Club

Property: The Tides Beach Club
Address: 254 Kings Hwy, Goose Rocks Beach, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-7262 (Formerly Tides Inn By-The-Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tides Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stellar ocean views of one of the Northeast's most gorgeous beaches, The Tides Beach Club offers a high-end yet casual beach style resort with terrific dining, an vibrant cocktail bar and exceptional beach amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Tides Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Beach Club Hotel Kennebunkport
The Tides Beach Club Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing