We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tides Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhumb Line Resort(Kennebunkport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennebunkport Inn(Kennebunkport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Kennebunk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nonantum Resort(Kennebunkport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa(Kennebunk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Hotel(Kennebunkport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
188
42
21
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
42
21
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister propertygoose rocks beachfront porchhidden pondwatermelonrooms are smallno elevatornew englandbeautiful oceanhot breakfastfantastic locationshort driveearth restaurantget awaylong weekendthird floorupon check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 263 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a great experience at the Tides Beach Club during our recent stay. The moment we arrived the upbeat vibe combined with the welcoming staff (thank you Joe!) lifted our spirits and they stayed high throughout our stay. Our room had a beautiful view overlooking sandy Goose Rocks Beach and ample closet space. The bathroom was small (as described on their website “sassy and petite”) but well appointed with luxurious towels and Malin & Goetz body products. The lobby/bar/restaurant had a very convivial atmosphere – it seemed to be a gathering place for local folks to have a drink or a bite in a well designed setting of easy luxury with plenty of comfortable conversation areas. We enjoyed meeting interesting and friendly fellow guests from around the country over a cup of coffee on the front porch. No one wanted to leave the rocking chairs and ocean views – but it was worth pulling ourselves away to ride bicycles (provided) to Hidden Pond for yoga in a serene garden setting. We ended our stay with a fabulous dinner at Hidden Pond’s new restaurant Earth. We were a tad disappointed that the rain kept us from enjoying the bonfire after dinner but alas - a reason to return (as if we needed one!) I could go on …. service on the beach, board games in the lobby for a cloudy afternoon, postcard perfect charming homes surrounding the inn …. but it is probably good to leave a few pleasant surprises.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesBeachClub, Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear Lynnalan,
Thank you for taking a few moments to write about your stay with us here at the Tides. It is our first season under new ownership and we welcome the comments, good and bad so that we may continue to grow and improve. I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed the amenities, the staff, the ambience and overall feel of our property. It is also fullfilling to see you enjoyed the added amenities of our sister property Hidden Pond, with yoga, bike rides and of course the fabulous restaurant Earth. We look forward to seeing you return again and again!

Best,
Jen
Wine Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Friday night 5 friends and myself dined at the New Tides Beach Club. One of the girls is having major surgery on Monday and we wanted to take her to someplace spectacular....and We Did!!! Upon arriving the beautiful landscaping draws you in to the coastal bliss. The summery porch with its bright yellow cushions was so inviting. When you get to the door, turn around and check out that ocean view.....breathless..... I have stayed at the inn in the 1990's with my children and I found it quite charming. It has now been completed renovated and updated into the brightest, most joyful beach decor that I have ever seen. There are comphy chairs, white wash rustic tables, blue wash buffet tables and fun artwork. Not only will I be back to dine but I plan on staying at the hotel in September.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endlesssummer1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesBeachClub, Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Endlessummer1958,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your meal here at the Tides! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We look forward to seeing you as a guest in the hotel, I do hope you will introduce yourself!

Best,
Jen
Wine Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Tides for one glorious night this past July. The staff are friendly and eager to please. Upon check-in, we were greeted with glasses of champagne. Our room was perfect, great shower and beautiful ocean decor. We were then off to the beach where chairs, umbrellas and towels are already set-up for you. There is also a beach attendent on site who gives you chilled bottles of water and takes lunch orders then delivers them right to you at your beach chair. Dinner that evening was fantastic starting with watermelon cosmos on the porch facing the ocean. We then slept to the sounds of the ocean waves. The next morning we sadly checked out and were given a care package of cookies, water and taffy for the ride home all wrapped up in a lovely gift bag. We will for sure be back. Thanks for an amazing job.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dining88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesBeachClub, Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Dining88,
Thank you for your positive review! I'm thrilled to see that even in your short visit, you were able to enjoy some of our amenities. The beach really is a special place! We hope to see you in future visits!

Best,
Jen
Wine Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Miami prices and decor that lacks the Maine charm. If you've got it to spend this is the place for you. They can help you out!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesBeachClub, Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Dear Minoot,
Thank you for taking a moment to write about your visit to the Tides. We take pride in the renovations that took place this winter. Our goal was to bring a casual beach decor with an emphasis on luxury and comfort. We feel we have hit the mark fairly well. I'm sorry to see that you didn't feel it was a value to you, but I can safely say we are very comparable in pricing to many venues in the Kennebunkport region. I do hope you will give a another try.

Best,
Jen
Wine Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

From the moment we drove up to the inn and saw it's perfect location (literally across a narrow street from a beautiful beach and next to an endless number of other great beach houses), we were so excited to go in! The "lobby" or ground floor of the majestic house is absolutely stunning - it's exactly how I would like my future beach house to look... Apparently the furniture is all from Jonathan Adler (if you know this designer you will immediately know what the chick but casual feel of this whole place is) and the nautical accessories bring the room to a perfect "beach chic" setting. We were greeted by Casey at the front desk who quickly offered us a glass of champagne and showed us to our room. The room was just as great as the rest of the hotel - comfortable bed, great shower, and ready for me to move in! ;)
To sum up other great things:
- Breakfast in the morning was a perfect balance between fresh fruit and delicious croissants and baked goods, freshly squeezed juices, yogurt, etc. My boyfriend was left wanting more but I definitely wasn't.
- We took some of the beach cruisers available over to the sister property, Hidden Pond, one afternoon. Do this! It was SO worth it. We relaxed in the gazebos by the pool and explored the property. There we met Natalie, the manager of both properties. She was great - we told her we were there celebrating our 2 year anniversary and as soon as we returned to The Tides about 30 min later, there was a bottle of chilled champagne and a card from Natalie wishing us a great weekend. Great attention to detail!
- The beach in front of the hotel is a great New England beach - the hotel has comfortable chairs to lounge on and the "beach boy" brings you cold waters regularly. You can also order lunch on the beach which is nice.
- One more thing not to miss - smores by the fire at Hidden Pond! After dinner in town we went to check it out - well worth it. We got a little basket with the supplies and were directed to the fire. Perfect setting, such nice people, and a delicious end to our night.
- One more thing - Joe at the front desk! So nice! So welcoming - everyone is there to help and make your stay even better!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelmagzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesBeachClub, Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Travelmagzel,
Thank you so much for the thoughtful and kind review. It is extremely satisfying to know that all of our hard work this season has not been in vain! We do feature the stylings and furniture of Jonathon Adler in two of our suites. The rest is a combination of other designers. We hope to see you again here in the future.

Best,
Jen
Wine Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews