We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable wedding”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Memorable wedding”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Our stay at the Kennebunkport Inn was more than a getaway, it was our wedding. First, the Inn is so cozy and beautiful and the staff was amazing. They were so kind and anything you needed they were right there to assist.
The Continental Breakfast was so delicious my husband couldn't help but go back for more. I usually don't like coffee anywhere but home because other places make it so weak but not here. The coffee was so good.
Our room at the Inn was gorgeous! Beautiful fireplace, awesome shower and very comfortable bed.
Our wedding day was so memorable. Debbie (Innkeeper) and Patty (dining room coordinator) took care of every detail and we couldn't have been happier. Every guest at our wedding commented on how beautiful everything was. The food.....to die for!!
You can't go wrong with this Inn. Staff, food, atmosphere, the town all well worth a visit.
We are going back for our 1 year anniversary next August!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you sanitytrip for your review!
First we would love to congratulate you on your marriage! It was a pleasure having you and your guests at our inn celebrating such a beautiful occasion. Thank you for all the wonderful compliments and we surely appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities! We look forward to welcoming you back in August for your 1 year anniversary but until then best wishes and happy travels!

Sincerely

Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    190
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
101
395
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alburgh, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary at the Kennebunkport Inn for a long weekend of Relax and Romance. The Inn was full of " Back in Time" charm, yet provided all of the needed modern amenities. The Staff was wonderful, knowing it was our 25th and made everything special for us. Our room was very pretty, clean and comfortable. We had a nice continental breakfast every morning and enjoyed one of the most delicious 4 course meals I have ever eaten at the Inns restaurant ,"The One Dock." Hats off to the Chef!! The Inn is nestled in a cute little harbor town with alot of great shops,restaurants, and near by beaches for long walks on the beach. We were also lucky enough to enjoy a horse and buggy ride through the quaint little town. Not to mention the foliage was beautiful! If you like country charm, I would highly recommend the Kennebunkport Inn and the One Dock is an absolute must!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriep4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you Valeriep4242 for your review!

We here at the Inn are so happy that we were able to make your 25th anniversary a memorable and special one. We would like to thank you so much for your kind words about our rooms, staff and our restaurant, One Dock. Enjoy the next 25 years together as we look forward to helping celebrate your 50th Anniversary!!

Happy travels!

Sincerely,
Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at this Inn for two nights with our sons. The website makes the rooms look super but be careful when you book. Our suite was just dreadful, at the top of the Inn with sloping ceilings that you hit your head on regularly. We had two shabby rooms interconnecting with the very shabby bathroom in the middle. We had to walk through our sons room and the bathroom to get to our room.
The staff were not welcoming and could not be bothered. We had to ask them to help us with our bags.
The decor was very old and awful and the whole place is in need of a major facelift. The paint is peeling off the wood and there were rust spots on the pipes in our bathroom and mould and rust growing around the shower.
The breakfasts were so basic for America that we could not believe it. Cheap everything from the bread that tasted stale, to the watery orange juice and foul coffee.
The Inn is in the middle of town and very noisy. People in the rooms opposite (owned by the Inn) sitting outside and drinking and laughing until the early morning.
The pool is tiny and dirty.
AVOID!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Thank you Australia for your Review

We were very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and for that we are sincerely apologetic. We wish that these issues could have been addressed with us during your stay so that we could have made it more enjoyable for you and your two boys

To respond to some of your complaints; the Inn was built in 1889 and retains the architectural elements of that time period, such as rooms with slanted ceiling areas. While we renovate on a constant basis, the renovation décor and furnishings are new, set in the style of a classic New England, and we are proud to offer all of the necessary modern amenities.

Your complaint about the staff being unwelcoming is very unacceptable and we do apologize for that. In no way should our house guests feel unwelcomed and of course shouldn’t have to ask for help with luggage on their vacation.

The Inn has a terrific downtown Dock Square location and does take on the street noise of the town on occasion. Kennebunkport is very busy during the summer season and it is expected that you might hear some of the town life.

Your comments about our complimentary continental breakfast will be taken in at a constructive manner and while our baked goods are freshly baked the morning of, we are always looking to improve our services and quality of the food that we prepare.

Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention
And we hope you made it home safely

Sincerely,
Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

From the outside the Inn looks perfect but when you get closer it clearly shows it's age. The rooms are OK but not more. For the price one would expect much more. The rooms need renovation. The breakfast is included in the price but it is just a normal breakfast served in a dark converted bar. The service is not very friendly and the tables are covered with plastic table cloths. The plastic table cloths are nor very clean and very sticky! The price for all this is extremely high! The first breakfast the English muffins were pretoasted and cold. When we asked for a toaster the answer was no! All this for over US$ 450.00 per night! Do not go there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
Thank you Sponi for your review,

In the case of this guest’s complaints we are totally in agreement, they are both justified and fair and the situation was unacceptable. The guest did bring this to our attention while staying with us and of course we were apologetic and made sure that the problem was rectified for the next morning.

I would like other prospective guests to know that pre-toasting our breads is not part of the norm. While apologizing to Sponi it was explained that we had pre-toasted our breads to better assist a large bus group of travelers that was staying with us. Sometimes a bright idea is not the best idea and we appreciate the feed back so we know such things do not always make life easier for all of our guests.

As we discussed with Sponi we did have a discussion with our breakfast staff that day and everyone involved is on the same page, that the guest and their needs do come first. Never should a guest be told “No” when requesting something that we can obviously provide them with.

Again we are truly sorry and we hope that Sponi will re-consider not staying with us.


Happy and safe travels to all.
Sincerely,
Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn for the last weekend in July this past summer and we were very impressed! You can't beat the location as the inn is located in the center of town surrounded by shops, restaurants and galleries!

The staff is great, friendly and very accommodating! The room we stayed in overlooked the pool and was very comfortable. I was even impressed by the toilettries!

By far the best thing about the Inn was the restaurant and bar, One Dock! We started out friday evening with small plates and drinks on the patio. The ambiance was perfect for a warm summer night! The food was great and the drink menu was exceptional! We walked around town for a bit and returned for dinner in the dinning room. I can easily say that the food was some of the best that I've ever had! I got the salmon and my boyfriend ordered the lobster ravioli! AMAZING! Better than any of the expensive restaurants we've been to in Boston!

Breakfast wasn't extravagant but perfect for a light start to the day. There were plenty of healthy options and the homemade granola was great!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linds0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed here for the weekend and just loved the location. Right in the heart of Kennebunkport where everything is happening. We had rooms 101 and 103 and both were beautiful. Our room 103 overlooked the pool and was done in black and white toile. The breakfast was buffet style and starts at 7:30 which was great for as, as we like to ride bikes early in the day. The other B&B we stayed at had breakfast between 8:30 and 9am. Mom and I didn't care for the muffins, they tasted too healthy. Even the chocolate chip muffin didn't appeal to us. However they also had cereal, fresh fruit, banana bread, bagels, yogurt, toast, english muffins and a hot item. The first day the hot item was quiche, and the second day baked omelet. Both were delicious. We ate at their restaurant the second night and thought it was outstanding, so the dinner chef must be different from the breakfast one. We had 6 "small plates" between the 4 of us, and thought the "pork and beans" were the best. But all were outstanding. We highly recommend this place. The desk clerks and waitstaff were all very nice too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkjolicoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I cannot say enough about how wonderful Kennebunkport Inn is! First, let me make clear that I thoroughly reviewed their website, looked at the pictures of the Inn and rooms and had a lengthy conversation with several wonderful staff members. If you don't do this, then don't complain if you are unprepared! I read some other reviews where folks complained that their rooms were not what they expected. I promise you, this is NOT POSSIBLE! The owner and staff go out of their way to ensure that everyone knows exactly what they are getting. The Inn offers different types of rooms (all charming) to suit different styles, budgets, etc. DO YOUR HOMEWORK!

I stayed at the Inn for one week with my husband and three children (2 teens, one pre-teen). We stayed in the 2 bedroom Wharfside Family suite. It was amazing!!! It is above a store so there is no one below at night. The decor was absolutely charming - very seaside cottage looking - bright, light, lovely! Lots of windows. There is a really large livingroom with a pullout sofa bed (either double or queen - not sure) that my teen son said was more comfortable than his bed at home. A small but functional kitchen (full-size fridge, microwave, stove, sink, some counter space, and a small dining area that seated all of us (not that we ate in much!). There are two bedrooms (in addition to the pullout sofa) - my daughters took the larger room because it has the TV, we took the smaller - both were queen and/or double beds - plenty comfy! There was also a lovely screen-in porch with floor - to -ceiling windows that you could open right on the Kennebunkport river. We spent many leisurely evenings there reading, watching the activity, boats, people, etc. AND THE PLACE WAS IMMACULATE!! The bathroom was lovely - full shower/bath, plenty of towels and shampoo, lotion, etc. Again everything was immaculate and the decor was lovely and charming. For a family of five, personal space is crucial to a successful family vacation, and these accommodations provided us with plenty of space! Parking was just outside the door to the suite in the parking lot and we never had any parking issues - the spots are reserved for the Inn's customers. We did not have to use the car often, however, because everything is within easy walking distance. Also, I wanted to note that the Inn has a lovely pool with a very nice deck (lounge chairs, tables, umbrellas), and I spent some time there with my 12-year-old. The pool is small, but she was always the only one in it, and it was immaculate - not surprising given the penchant for cleanliness this Inn has!

Every morning breakfast is served in the main Inn (about one block away from our Family Wharfside suite) from 7:30 - 10:30, and even in the middle of August, there was never any problem getting seated, and always plenty of food. (and all of the employees, wait staff, etc are wonderful, friendly, attentive, etc.) Breakfast was a full continental (juice, coffee, tea, fresh baked goodies, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, assorted toast, english muffins, and bagels along with one Chef specialty each day (Pancakes, French Toast, Scrambled Eggs, Baked Omelet, etc). The food was filling and plentyfill (and yummy) - we never even needed to eat lunch.

We ate dinner at their restaurant one night (One Dock Square - make a reserveration), and it was top notch - as good as the reviews indicate and well worth the slightly higher price tag - treat yourself at least once. My husband had the chef's specialty - Lobster Ravioli - I tasted it - unbelievable! We all had something different, and we were all thrilled. They have a kids menu and the restaurant is nice/casual. We also loved the Pilot House which was recommended by some of the locals - great food, very informal.

The towns (Kennebunkport and Kennebunk across the bridge) are fun and lovely to walk around - plenty of shops, art galleries, food. We loved the in-town trolly (take the 45 min tour - fun and informative - $15 per adult, $5 per kid (17 and under) $40 max for families - fare good all day). We took the trolly to the beach one day - it was perfect and convenient (we loved the beach by the Colony Hotel - and the Colony lets you go in and sit on their porch or go into their lounge and order a soda, etc.). The horse and buggy ride was also fun (20 minutes long, and I think it was $15 per person - a little pricey, I thought, for 20 minutes). I also recommend you take the Parson's Way walk - about four miles to Walker's Point and back - a really lovely walk! You will go along the coast, see some beautiful homes, pass St. Anne's Church - gorgeous view! Just start at Ocean Ave and keep walking - do it on a nice day (not too hot). Also the Lobster Cruise (just over the bridge next to the Clam Shack) was lots of fun. It was about 1 1/2 hours long and ended up costing about $90 for five of us. The Whale Watch (same location) was pricier but was about 4 1/2 hours long - I'm sure that was fun too. Definitely do some Kayaking - very easy and convenient (and economonical $35 for half a day) and also right over the bridge.

If I had one negative comment to make about anything, it would be that the night life is non-existent in Kennebunkport - everything pretty much closes at 9:00 pm (although Allison's is open later - and they have a bar). It was not really an issue for us because we were in for the night by 10:00 PM and just enjoyed reading and sitting in the porch in the evening.

Also, I'm not sure you would really find much more to do in Kennebunkport/Kennebunk for more than 3-4 days. We ended up going to Portland toward the end of the week (they have a beautiful lighthouse - Portland Head Light - situated on Ft. Wiliams - fabulous walking paths along the coast, museum, etc. - about 40 minutes from Kennebunkport - and also went to a minor league baseball game that evening- the Portland Sea Dogs (AA team of the Boston Red Sox) - tons of fun!!).

All in all, this was a wonderful family vacation, and I cannot thank Debbie (the owner) and the rest of the staff at the Kennbunkport Inn enough for helping to make our vacation so amazing. By the way, the rates for the Family Wharfside Suites were very reasonable even at the height of the season - everything about this Inn was value-added and top quality.

You cannot go wrong at the Kennebunkport Inn. We will definitely be back, and I know it will feel like home again, just as it did the first day of our arrival!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie3463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
991 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Property: Kennebunkport Inn
Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With three room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing