We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Event Space on Sun Deck”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Event Space on Sun Deck”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We hosted a cocktail reception on the sun deck and it was the perfect location to watch the sunset, enjoy great cocktails and warm up by the fireplace.

I've previously stayed in one of the rooms several years ago (when the sun deck was once a pool,) and feel the space is much better utilized as a deck. The rooms are also great. We had friends stay in the wharf side rooms and they really enjoyed the family suite - perfect for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you DCJD2012 for your review. We all love the addition of the sundeck! It is such a great spot to enjoy a cocktail or read a book by the outdoor fireplace. Our guests love the comfy chairs and quiet atmosphere that this space provides. We hope you are able to enjoy it again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    191
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
104
398
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Situated in the centre of town overlooking the river, this classic elegant Inn dates from the late 1800's and is a perfect location for visitors to the quaint Maine town of Kennebunkport. It is within easy walking distance, (or via the Inn's cycle hire) of the many fine shops and restaurants and only a short drive to the ocean coastline. Originally built as a tea merchant's mansion, the Inn is absolutely charming and is beautifully decorated in a nautical blue & white theme with much attention to detail throughout.
My wife and I recently enjoyed our stay in one of the Inn's spacious Wharfside rooms just across the road with guest parking on its frontage. The room was bright, simply modern with no frill facilities and although noise from other guests, particularly the entry stairs and ceiling, was distracting at times, overall it was perfect for our stay and the best value of all our five New England states visits.
All the staff offered an exceptional efficient and friendly service, from the provision of a delicious hot buffet breakfast each morning to the bar serving a relaxing 'happy hour' each evening upon a new sun deck which offered guests an opportunity to unwind from sightseeing in comfortable chairs and sofas, an outdoor fireplace to warm the cooler Fall evenings and background music provided by the lounge pianist.
Leaving the Inn and Kennebunkport was difficult because we had so enjoyed our visit but it was time to drive back to Boston to fly home, the parting gift from reception for guests onward journeys lightened our departure and my wife and I agreed we had definitely saved the best location till last. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If staying in the Wharfside building, to reduce the noises of entry doors, stairs, ceilings, the pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you charles s for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations in our Wharfside building. Located just a short walk from the main house, these rooms are perfect for seeing all that Kennebunkport has to offer, on foot. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary bicycles as well. This is a great way to see town as well. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we offer. What a compliment that the Kennebunkport Inn was "the best for last." Many thanks and we would love to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were only staying two nights, the staff made us feel so welcome. The inn is quaint yet modern. Easy to find (on the main street) plenty of parking. We even received a gift bag when we left!
The manager was behind the bar on our first night and his knowledge of local beers was quite impressive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping Forest, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on a tour of New England and rather wished we'd booked for more nights. This is a comfortable and friendly place, serving a decent included breakfast. We ate at their 1 Dock Square restaurant, looked after by a nice Canadian server and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. This is just what you need after a leisurely drive up from Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eppingedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you Eppingedger for your review. We do have a wonderful deluxe continental breakfast, served daily. The breakfast is included in your room rate and has a little something for everyone; from homemade granola to crispy bacon. Our on sight restaurant, One Dock is fantastic as well. We just started our new fall menu and we have some delicious new items to try. We hope you can come back and stay in the future. We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kennebunkport Inn. We were in the River annex and our room, whilst fairly small,,was beautifully decorated in a 'traditional' New England syle ,and was very comfortable. A nice bonus was the complimentary tea/coffee & cake served in the afternoon and the luxury continental breakfast - which was actually a hot buffet breakfast plus cereals, pastries, toast, fruit etc.
The Inn is in a perfect location, overlooking the river right in the centre of quaint little Kennebunkport, within easy walking distance of loads of restaurants and shops. The Inn has a spacious deck at the front with an outdoor fireplace, heaters and really comfy chairs and sofas.
We visited as part of a Thomas Cook tour, and this is one hotel we will definitely return to when we next visit New England (which we will as it was fab)!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in main inn or river anexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTiggywinkle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you MrsTiggywinkle07. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our deluxe continental breakfast buffet does have a wide selection of foods to choose from, including a couple of hot items as well. Our location is perfect for walking around Kennebunkport and taking advantage of all that our little town has to offer. The recent addition of our sundeck has been received very well. It's so comforting to sit out there on a cool night with the fireplace to keep you warm. We are glad that you were able to experience our amenities. We do hope your travels bring you back to the states, as we would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Inn is charming. Very nautical with blue and white with lots of decking. Just what you would imagine. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and the breakfast included was very nice as well. The staff was great. The room, however, although very nicely decorated and with an extremely comfortable bed was unbelievably small. I could not have stayed more than a night. There was no place toput a suitcase without tripping over it. There was one floor plug to plug things in. There is no closet, just a place to hang things in the smallest bathroom. My husband barely fit in the shower. It was really that small!!!!!

Room Tip: I saw a room walking down the hall and it was much larger. If you want to stay here, I would shell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you Audrey A for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We do have some delicious items on the buffet! Our Riverhouse rooms are great for the budget conscious traveler, but are on the cozier side. As you mentioned, we do offer rooms that are much more spacious. All of the Riverhouse rooms are being renovated this winter. We hope to combat the bathroom and shower size with this undertaking. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in a more spacious room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights on a 2 week road trip through New England. The main floor, porch, dining and bar are very nice. The staff was great. Our room, two room suite was an attic space which looked like a child's room. The eaves made it difficult to stand up straight in much of the main bedroom. The noise level when people were going up and down the back stair case was annoying as well. It was quaint, but did not compare to the hotel downstairs! If you stay, make sure not to take the attic room!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you Jeanne W for your review. The room that you were in is on the third floor of an old building, so it does have eaves. I apologize that this wasn't communicated to you at time of booking. We try to let everyone know the details of the rooms they book. I apologize for the noise you heard from the staircase. This is not a complaint we receive often, as there are only 2 rooms in this section of the hotel. We hope that you will come back to visit us in the future. We would be happy to accommodate you in the main house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Property: Kennebunkport Inn
Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With three room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing