We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family site”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the second year in a row that our family stayed at the Kennebunkport Inn. With 7 adults and 5 kids, we were a fairly large group.

To avoid crowding, we occupied 2 regular rooms and 2 suites, which the inn has across the street from its main building. The latter served us very well, especially #400, a 2-bedroom suite with living room, dining area, and a dramatic screened-in porch overlooking the Kennebec River from the second floor.

Everything was good, especially the very helpful management including Manager Cheryl and Asst. Mgr. Kim, wonderful hosts who went out of their way to assist us with dinner reservations, local information, suggestions about what to do, etc.

We also made use of the newly-refurbished pool with a snack bar at a sister property about 2 minutes drive away.

This is really a family-friendly place.

Room Tip: Just explain your needs to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeHLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear JoeHLexington:

Thank you so very much for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are exceptionally pleased to hear that you and your family had another memorable stay at the Kennebunkport Inn! You are right, Suite 400 is such a treat with its front and center views of the Kennebunk River! We are also glad that you had the chance to enjoy our sister property, Lodge on the Cove, for its very nice pool. Finally, thank you so much for complimenting management for being wonderful hosts and for assisting you and your family while on vacation. It was our pleasure! :-)

We most certainly look forward to your return in the future!

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 674 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

This lovely property is located smack dab in the center of Kennebunkport, so it's a walk outside the resort to get to restaurants, shops, etc. It also sits on the river, so you can eat your morning complimentary breakfast out on a high boy overlooking the water. Oddly enough, it is incredibly peaceful despite its street location.

We loved the place, the staff and service. However, the room we were assigned to the first night was more than underwhelming. It was small, tired, had a tight shower--we are not large people--and located outside the door of the kitchen. Since it was a nice summer evening, the kitchen staff had the door fully open, they spoke at the tops of their lungs up until about 10:45 PM. If we were younger and not into having a romantic getaway, perhaps we would not have retired at that time, but that was not the case. The bottomline: the condition (wallpaper seams puckering, dated linens, etc.) , size and location of the room were all wrong for us.

Now, to be fair, we did get the room last minute, and we got it at a nice price for the height of the summer. We also specifically asked about the condition and were told they renovated every room every five years. Since we asked this question, we think they should have said something.
This room was located in the "Riverhouse," #224 or 225.

After sharing our dissatisfaction with our room experience, we were upgraded to the "Federal building," which was a completely different--and lovely--experience. It was larger, freshly renovated, fresh linens, tub and larger bathroom, we LOVED it. Had we had this room the first night, we would have no qualms about recommending it 100% and giving it five stars.

Breakfast is bountiful and not as exciting as a B&B. Since the Inn is quite large, many people need to be served, so there is a buffet. It tasted to me like powdered eggs, packaged muffins, regular bread and English muffins. Fruit was fresh, and they had yogurt and homemade granola (the only thing homemade), one choice of cereal, bacon and sausage. So, again, plentiful but not homemade. As it comes with the room, it is a good deal.

The staff is excellent. They are pleasant and will do whatever they can for you. I was celebrating a birthday, and they acknowledged it. We had dinner at the well-known Dockside restaurant on site. The food was excellent--fresh and tastefully prepared...very inventive. That said, it was noisy (again loud kitchen) at 7:30 PM, lots of kids (though well behaved) and VERY casual for the type of restaurant. As this was a celebration, something more adult-oriented and romantic would have worked better for me. It was going out to dinner vs. dining out.

Insider's tip. They have a sister Inn near the ocean, and you can get pool privileges there. It is spectacular for relaxation and adult only. They also have a family-friendly pool at another resort. This was a HUGE plus for us.

If you want to go to the local beach, they also offer free parking passes and/or free bicycles. You put down a deposit, and it is returned when the bikes are returned.

In a nutshell, go, have fun and, before you do, make sure your room meets your expectations for size, condition and location.

Room Tip: See notes above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfleur04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Ifleur04:

Thank you for your detailed trip advisor review. We are glad that, overall, you loved the Inn, staff, and service, and that your stay was ultimately enjoyable... At the same time, we appreciate the candor of your review and certainly take all of your your constructive feedback seriously. About a year and a half ago, the Inn's common spaces were beautifully renovated. Lots of care and thought went into improving the lobby, restaurant, and pool area (which is now the welcoming porch where you enjoyed breakfast overlooking the river)... It is our intent, with the same level of quality, to continue to renovate and improve a variety of other aspects of our Inn in the near future, namely some of our rooms. We are glad that you would have given us a 5 Star rating had your first room experience been the federal room you ultimately stayed in... If you'd like some idea of where we are headed with future renovations, you can certainly gain insights by taking a look at our sister properties at www.kennebunkportresortcollection.com. All of our properties exude a quality that is second to none, and we thoughtfully continue to strive to accomplish the same for our historic inn.

Thank you again for staying with us and we certrainly look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights recently in this lovely old inn in downtown Kennebunkport, Maine. The Inn has Victorian charm but has been updated with a lovely bathroom, flat screen TV, and new style bedding. The room was not over-large. We had a room away from the street, so it was quiet. A room facing the bustling downtown area may not be so quiet. The staff were very friendly, the piano bar was beautiful, and the free breakfast hot & cold buffet put the icing on the cake. There was also an outside bar/lounge with a stone fireplace but the weather did not cooperate. Upon leaving we were treated to a gift bag of taffy and 2 bottles of water. For those who like Victorian charm and everything within walking distance, this is the place to stay in Kennebunkport. If you go, take the in-town Trolley tour. It was great!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Sandra S:

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are glad that you enjoyed and appreciated the "Victorian charm" of our inn during your stay with us... There is certainly modern day historic charm here with a nice blend of the old with the new... You also referenced our in-town location and the fact that overall the inn felt quiet to you. This is what most guests experience while here. Despite being in the heart of Kennebunkport, we are tucked away just enough so that the inn feels like a quiet place to retreat on most days...

We are also thrilled to hear that you loved our piano bar... We have a number of talented musicians that perform nightly in our restaurant, One Dock. Finally, it is nice that you had the opportunity to enjoy in-town activities including a ride on the trolley. What a great way to experience Kennebunkport!

Thank you again for your complimentary review and please do visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On a whim we drove up to Old Orchard Beach. Great beach but we couldn't find a hotel for the evening. Tried Ogunquit, not a chance. Kennebunkport, yes?

Arrived at 5pm. Sipping a rum punch on the inn's patio by 5:10. Sun still high in the sky and the river shimmering nearby. For dinner, Hurricanes is just steps from the inn. Fondly remembered in Perkins Cove but still excellent in Kennebunkport. A nice evening stroll around a beautiful village and then a comfy nights sleep. Very quiet room and quality king size bed. The inn serves a very respectable breakfast.

This upscale inn is very cute and ended up costing less than a basic room in Old Orchard Beach.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrisfitz158069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Chrisfitz158069:

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review! We are pleased to hear that you made your way to Kennebunkport and found room at our inn! We are glad that we could accommodate you and that you found the Kennebunkport Inn to be a good value for what you experienced. It sounds like you had a great start to your getaway by enjoying a drink at our restaurant's outside patio... We are also thrilled to hear that you found our complimentary continental breakfast to be enjoyable and your room comfortable and quiet, offering you a good night's sleep. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that you visit again soon!

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our 1st time visiting Kennebunkport. Our stay at the Kennebunkport Inn was ideal. If you want to stay where you have the easiest access to the stores and resturants this is the place to be. Walk out of the Inn and you're right in the heart of everything. Stores, resturants, cruises and historical tours. The staff was friendly and helpful with information. They say there's a Continental breakfast but it's actually a full breakfast. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, blueberry stuffed french toast, fruit,bagels and muffins plus a few more items during the week. Did we find a few faults with the Inn? Yes, but not anything that would keep us from staying there again. At first I thought the cost was a little high but when you have this location and add what it would cost you to go out for breakfast every morning it's a bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoop5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Scoop5454:

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review! We appreciate that you'd share your positive experiences from your stay at our Inn. We are pleased to hear that you consider the Inn a good value for what you received. You are right, our chef's continental breakfast truly is a full breakfast loaded with enough variety to meet the needs of all breakfast-goers! We are glad that you also found our location to be ideal... It definitely is walking distance to most shops, restaurants, and points of interest. Finally, thanks for complimenting our staff! It is certainly our goal to provide friendly customer service, and we're glad we met your expectations in this area...

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Pros:
- perfect location!
- friendly staff!
- breakfast included

Cons:
- terrible bed, bowed in the middle. My wife and I rolled towards the center all night like it was a sinkhole. Blankets and sheets were rough and thin.
- thin walls, we heard everything going on in all surrounding rooms. (We were in a wharf side room)

Everything else was somewhere in the middle. Food was ok, room decor was fine. They need to do some renovations before it feels worth the $250 a night we paid.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gabe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Gabe M:

Greetings!

First, we appreciate your recent review of the Inn. Thank you for complimenting our staff and continental breakfast. We are glad we met your expectations in these areas...

We are truly sorry to hear of your mixed feelings about your stay. We certainly do value your feedback and wish that while you were here that you would have shared your concerns, as we certainly would have worked to make your stay more enjoyable. We do have a large number of room types located in both the main Inn and the Wharfside building, and likely could have met your vacationing needs. If you would like to take time address any of your concerns with a manager, please feel free to call us at 1-207-967-2621.

We do hope that if you are ever back in this area that you give us another try so that we can make things right for you!...

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

On arriving at the Inn was pleased at the exterior appearance and of the reception area. All the staff were very helpful. All other areas were disappointing. Bedrooms in the main Inn and at the Wharfside were extremely dated and quite shabby. The restaurant was over-rated, the tables very worn and not good value for money. I overheard 3 different parties who weren't happy with the quality of the food. Overall a very disappointing and expensive hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Find another hotel and definitely avoid Wharfside Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Caroline Q:

We were disappointed to learn of your unhappy stay with us. We are pleased
that you found the team to be helpful during your stay, however, concerned
that you found the property dated and shabby. As a historic inn we are
continually renovating and updating the property and do undertake
significant renovations annually along with a stringent approach to
maintenance. As a historic New England Inn, our decor and ambiance is
reflective of that styling rather than a more modern hotel. The wharfside
rooms are more contemporary and offer a bright, coastal summer cottage feel. In fact, we
have 5 different room types offering different sizes, rates and decor
styles. We do feel that our rates are quite competitive and are reflective of
the significant amenities that we offer to our guests: an in town location,
sundeck, entertainment nightly, use of pools and fitness classes at the
other KRC properties and complimentary shuttle service nightly, breakfast,
and wi-fi services. We would have loved an opportunity to discuss your
concerns with us during your stay so that you might have enjoyed an improved
visit with us. It's very important to us that we exceed expectations and we
are sorry to learn that we didn't meet yours.

If you would like to have further discussions with a manager, please feel free to call us at 1-207-967-2621.

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $123 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing