We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming staff and location - beware the adjoining rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming staff and location - beware the adjoining rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the wharfside rooms which are just across from the main inn and cheaper. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and a fair size for 2 people. Unfortunately we were in a room which had an internal door which joins the next door room. This door is thin and not at all sound proof - which is fine if you are staying with family or friends but we heard way too much of a stanger eg ablutions and snoring - he might as well have been in our room! Everything else was perfect though but I would highly recommend asking for a room that doesn't have this internal door feature.

The staff in the main inn could not have been more charming and friendly and the inn is situated right in the main square so perfectly located. They also hire bikes to you for free which is a nice touch. Continental breakfast is simple but does the job. Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7CR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Caroline R:

Thank you for recent review. We appreciate your honesty regarding the connecting door in your room and we are truly sorry for your experience with hearing the guests next door. Should you return to the U.S. and Kennebunkport, please be sure to look us up again and we will place you in one of our many rooms that do not have connecting doors.

We do thank you for sharing the good experiences you had including your dinner, our friendly staff, our complimentary bikes, and our convenient in town location. We are happy to hear that, overall, we helped to make your stay enjoyable.

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    187
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
99
389
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Although the rooms were small they were clean and well equipped if a little jaded.the staff were very good and the restaurant food excellent.All round very central and convenient for what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Eileen P:

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us at the Kennebunkport Inn... We are also happy to hear that our staff and restaurant, One Dock, met your expectations while you were here! Although you may have stayed in one of our smaller/"cozier" rooms, do keep in mind that we also have a variety of spacious accommodations including suites. We appreciate you as our customer and would love to see you again soon!

Best,

Kennebunkport Inn Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about this place. It was beautiful . Great location in the centre of kennebunkport and very peaceful. The room was a great size with huge comfy beds. My daughter had a lovely bed set up for her too which she loved. The staff were friendly and helpful making sure you had a great stay and you could tell from the outset that they if you had any problems that they would do their best to sort it out for you.
I would definitely revisit this inn. We stayed at four hotels in four diff areas whilst in America and this one was by far our fave. Wish I had a bed like that home :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizjasnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Lizjasnat:

Thank you kindly for the glowing review of the Kennebunkport Inn! We are honored to think that you would consider us one of your "top picks" while vacationing in the area. Please DO visit us again when you return to Kennebunkport and the Southern Maine Coast!

Highest regards,

The Kennebunkport Inn Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This inn has been recently redecorated, at least within the past year. Very very cute, very preppy and nautical but not kitschy. Rooms are small but worked perfectly for our use, bed very comfortable. I went with my husband to get some R&R while he was at a conference. Ate dinner there the first night which was very good and then went and hung out at the bar the following two nights. Staff was very friendly but not overbearing, easy to talk with. Bartender had my husband's drink waiting second night at the bar. Ideally located in town, can walk everywhere pretty much for shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mike_Meyers:

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Kennebunkport Inn and One Dock Restaurant. We are glad that you liked the decor, enjoy our restaurant and bar, and appreciated our in-town location. We strive to make our guests' stay enjoyable and we're thrilled that you feel we met your expectations while vacationing with us! Please do visit us again!

Best Regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Got a great rate on a Wharfside room. It wasn't anything fancy, but we loved the atmosphere and the room was spotless! It was within walking distance to shops and restaurants and the people who work there couldn't have been nicer. They even offered us an upgraded room in the main inn, but we declined because we wanted to check out the Wharfside room. It is off season right now, so it wasn't too crowded in the downtown area, either. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you Britt21 for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us in our Wharfside building. We certainly have a hardworking housekeeping team and we will be sure to share your comments with them about the cleanliness of the room. The "off season" is a great time to travel to Kennebunkport! We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This Inn/Hotel is very convenient to the town of Kennebunkport, but both my husband and myself felt that the atmospere was quite strange we felt almost invisible. we came and went "under the radar" There was never anyone on the reception and the staff were not easy to find.
The morning continental breakfast was average, but the resteraunt in the evening was excellent and not too expensive. the room was small but acceptable apart from the en-suite door that would not close due to the lock being in the wrong place. Overall I would say that for the price that we paid it was good value, but I don`t know that if we went to Kennebunkport again we would stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touchwoodjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Touchwoodjudith:

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that your One Dock dining experience met your expectations food-wise and otherwise. We are very disappointed to hear that you felt our staff was inaccessible during your stay. We value our guests and strive to always be available to meet any needs guests may have... Your experience is not the norm for us and we sincerely apologize. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discusss your stay in more detail.

Highest regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn during the end of the off-season in April. The room was small, as advertised and the bathroom was small as well. We did not at all mind the size of the room as it was just the two of us, but people should know that the shower does not have a handle or anything in it to hold on to and if you are tall you will have to duck. The decor was great and made the Inn a much better choice than a hotel. Also, the entire staff was VERY friendly. They always said hi when passing us in the hallways and offered to make a fire in the fireplace on the deck for us. I will definitely return to the Inn on future vacations in Kennebunkport because of the staff and they should be commended for their excellent service. The breakfast was good for continental - homemade granola, yogurts, frozen bagels, homemade muffins etc. It seemed they also offered hot choices on weekends, quiche etc, but we left on Saturday so we did not really get to experience it. You really can't beat the location of the Inn, as it is right in the heart of all of the shops/restaurants in Kennebunkport. Definitely DO check out the bar at the Inn with its live music and friendly locals. Definitely DO NOT eat dinner at One Dock. Surprisingly, that was the worst meal/service at any restaurant of our entire trip.

Room Tip: The room we were in was facing the deck. There were a lot of lights from the deck shining in our wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaireD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear SaireD:

Thank you for your candid Trip Advisor review. We are pleased to hear that you found our entire staff to be friendly throughout your stay. In addition, we appreciate hearing your positive comments regarding the decor at the Inn. We would love to have the opportunity to explore what happened in the case of your dining experience. One Dock is a very popular restaurant known for its outstanding food and service. Please feel free to contact our Dining Room Manager at 1-800-248-2621 as she would love to speak with you about your dining experience.

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Property: Kennebunkport Inn
Address: 1 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With three room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing