We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've stayed in Kennebunkport before at the White Barn Inn and thought I'd try something "in town" so we wouldn't have to worry about the downtown construction and resulting traffic. The Kennebunkport Inn is at the ideal location at the end of Main Street and all the lovely shops are within walking distance. The staff of the Inn is lovely; friendly, helpful and accomodating. The front desk helped me get exactly the appropriate room (I was traveling with my 85 year old mother who doesn't do well with stairs.) We stayed in 301, a Federal room with a Queen (very charming four poster) and day bed. The carpet and furnishings are very new and in perfect condition, not a sign of wear or tear. The front desk was equally helpful with restaurant suggestions, places to buy things and just general knowledge. They were always warm and never seemed to mind stopping whatever they were doing to answer questions or just help out. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that town garbage collection takes place before 7am and produces quite a clatter right outside the window-Not the Inn's fault, mind you, they've tried to get the situation corrected to no avail. Perhaps a room in another location at the Inn wouldn't have the problem. I'll certainly find out as we're likely to go again!
Oh, and try their restaurant, One Dock. Absolutely delicious with excellent service as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a rennovated room where the garbage collection is less obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariank9camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you Mariank9camp for your review! We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for your recent trip to Kennebunkport! We have a fantastic, attentive staff and we are glad that everyone took care of you while you were here. Thank you for your kind words regarding our guest rooms. We take much care in seeing that they are up to date and maintained on a daily basis. Our onsight restaurant, One Dock is a great spot to relax, enjoy a cocktail and have a well prepared delicious meal too! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 671 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Kennebunkport Inn and had a wonderful time. The room was small ( located close to the pool ) and conveniently located. The rooms were decorated with a country theme and where charming and clean. The highlight of our stay was the piano bar on Monday night. We sang, we laughed and chatted with some great people. Lisa is a friendly bartender. Jill at the front desk was googling the lyrics of songs so we could all join in. Jill is such a people person, she made everyone feel at home. Michelle was taking requests for songs and could play anything, she was terrific. We went swimming, sailing, shopping and wined and dined, we'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slylick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you slylick for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our lively piano bar. Michelle is very entertaining and certainly knows how to get the crowd going! We have an excellent staff at the Inn, as well as at our fantastic onsight restaurant, One Dock. We strive to make everyone's stay memorable and fun and it seems like your stay was no exception. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for two nights in late September as part of our round trip of New England to celebrate my 50th birthday and we were very happy right from the start. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, food and service in the restaurant were fantastic and the hotel is in the perfect location for seeing the sights of Kennebunkport. The room was a little small but was very clean so this was a very minor point. Breakfast was good on both mornings. All in all, a very pleasant stay in an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank sepho62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went to check in and loved the look of the hotel! Unfortunately, we were not booked in the main part of the hotel, our room was a 1/2 block away above some shops, yet was still $200 a night. You needed a key to get into the building and a different key to get into your room. The decor was nothing like the main hotel, the ice machine was a countertop model and I felt like we were at a Motel 6. THe room was ok, comforter didn't smell like it had been laundered recently. THe location is the best and you can walk to the main hotel in under 2 minutes. The breakfast there was really good. THe patio is a great place to sit and enjoy the town.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you DGK57 for your review. The Kennebunkport Inn consists of 3
buildings. The building that you were booked into is our Wharfside building,
which is located across the square from the main building. You are quite
right, the decor of the Wharfside rooms is much different than the main
house. These rooms are more beach themed, with white cottage style
furniture, wood floors and a bright and airy feel, while the rooms in the
main house are more traditionally decorated. I apologize that these
differences were not communicated to you at time of booking. We do our
absolute best to make sure every guest knows exactly what kind of room they
are reserving. It appears that we missed the mark somewhere and I am very
sorry for that. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our intown
location and were able to take advantage of our fantastic sundeck,
overlooking the Kennebunk River. We hope we can welcome you back in the
future and we would love to accommodate you in a room on the main property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night. The Inn is very clean and the rooms are comfortable. We stayed in a room with one King bed with a full bath. The shower was tiny (don't drop the soap!!) We sat outside on the patio near the fireplace in the evening and enjoyed a drink. The restaurant was busy and they seated us just opposite the lobby area. Didn't like the location for dinner, but the food was very good. Breakfast was good also. We had a nice selection of breads, casserole, fruit, yogurt, cereals and juice and coffee. Loved the Keurig Coffee maker in the room!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you KeysSunLover for your review! We are happy to hear that you
enjoyed your experience at the Kennebunkport Inn. The room that you stayed
in is one of our standard rooms. These rooms are quite "cozy" and the
bathrooms are as well. We do have a fantastic sundeck to lounge on and enjoy
a cocktail, while overlooking the Kennebunk River. I am sorry that you did
not like your table for dinner. I'm sure if you would have mentioned it to
the Dining Room Manager, she would have done her absolute best to
accommodate your request. Our smaller dining room is adjancent to our lively
bar and can sometimes be a little noisy. We do apologize that this was not
the experience you were looking for. Overall, your visit here was a positive
one and we look forward to welcoming you back for more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for a weekend getaway and the location was perfect. From your doorstep you could easily walk to the Kennebunk River, shopping, restaurants, bars, trolley tours, kayaking, boat cruises etc – absolutely the best location without the need to continuously drive somewhere. I loved browsing the eclectic Les Chapeaux on Ocean Drive for funky hats among the other unique shops in town.

The rooms are not overly spacious but are clean, comfortable and very efficient plus free parking for overnight guests is assured. There is a church bell or something similar that chimes at every hour and this was sometimes disturbing to our sleep late at night or early morning. The staff is beyond reproach, the high level of customer service in every department was incredible and very accommodating. The sunny outdoor patio is wonderful at all times of the day and it was lovely to share a nightcap after sunset, warmed by the propane porch heaters or fireplace while tucked into an oversized adirondack chair.

Kudos to the inspired chef of the in-house restaurant called, One Dock; the menu was tantalizing, the food absolutely stunning, the taste exquisite and the ambiance perfect. We enjoyed lobster and other seafood fare for 3 days straight! A breakfast buffet is included for overnight guests but considering the wonderful cuisine we had experienced at dinner, this meal was surprisingly uninspired and bland. Meat products such as bacon or sausage were not offered during our stay and I would have preferred to save on the reservation costs and pay a-la-carte or go elsewhere for breakfast. Alternatively, an additional $10 or $20 per night would be justified if the breakfast included omelet or pancake stations with additional options like salmon, bacon, sausage etc. On another note, the loading of their website is excruciatingly slow.

Overall, a really great experience in every aspect and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from parking lot due to sounds of car doors and conversations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saklamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you Saklamaris for your insightful review. The Kennebunkport Inn does
have a fantastic location, right in the heart of Dock Square. We are steps
away from all of the fun that our lovely little town has to offer. We are
delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy some time on our sundeck! It
is new to us this year and we love seeing our guests taking advantage of it.
Our inhouse restaurant, One Dock, is a real treat. We have a very talented
chef and creative menu. I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments on to
him. Our complimentary breakfast buffet does include some hot items each
morning. I do apologize that our offerings were not to your liking. Your
comments for an omelette station or pancake station are appreciated. We love
to hear comments such as yours when we consider our new menus for breakfast
next year. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we can welcome you back
again in the future!--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night but were delighted with the hotel. The common rooms were attractive and our bedroom was large and nicely decorated. We highly recommend the restaurant. The service and the location could not have been better. The Inn has no elevator, but the young woman who carried our luggage up the front stairs was unfazed by the effort.

Room Tip: Our room (207, I believe) had no view, except of the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $110 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing