We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Turned up without a booking and was offered room at their detached wharfside location. Room was clean though a little dated in furnishings. Walls/floors are reasonably thin and you could hear people in corridor and adjoining rooms. Bed comfortable.

Breakfast included and was a generous continental style with several choices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreignhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you foreignhikers for your review! Our Wharfside rooms are one of our
more standard room offerings with a beach cottage style of furnishings. We
do complete ongoing upgrades and renovations in our property and those
particular rooms were recently upgraded, however in a style different from
the main inn. We apologize for any noise you may have experienced. It is our
goal to provide all of our guests with a comfortable and affordable room. We
are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our bountiful breakfast
as well. We hope your future travels will bring you back toThe Kennebunkport
Inn soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 675 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first time to Maine and we lucked into this gem of a property with a last minute reservation. The staff was extra friendly, the food was great and the room (Mansion King) was perfect. The location in the Dock Square area could not have been better, especially close to my favorite lunch place. The Clam Shack. If I ever get back that way I will definitely stay at The Kennebunkport Inn.

Room Tip: Room 324 was a quiet King in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Delighted to get a room at the last minute for Labor Day weekend. Loved the central location and were glad we arrived before the weekend crush. Rooms are sort of old-school in decor but nothing was missing and the flat-screen TV and iPod dock were a nice bonus. Staff was extremely friendly and the food at the restaurant was outstanding--also the breakfast--WOW--definitely could have stayed somewhere for less and paid the difference and then some for breakfast that good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riverhouse which was connected but in a newer part of the inn. It was nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you allydg for your review! We are always happy to hear our guests enjoying their time in Kennebunkport! We strive to make our breakfast buffet bountiful and delicious and we are very glad we hit the mark! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've been staying in the Kennebunkport/Wells Maine area for over 30 years. Most times, we rent a house for a week-long family vacation. This year, I was only able to get away for a couple of nights during the high summer season, and chose the Kennebunkport Inn. I've stayed there a few times over the years, and what a pleasant surprise when I arrived to the newly completed renovation! It is so tastefully done with crisp white, sky blue and deep, almost black, navy blue worthy of a Ralph Lauren American theme. The facility is everything and more that you would hope for in a small comfortable inn that has been there for over a century, with updates that bring it into this one. Our room was one of the only ones that has two beds (a king and a twin daybed), which I needed because I was travelling with my adult son. We were on our "nostalgia tour" of the greatest hits in the area: Drakes Island Beach, Rachel Carson preserve, Kennebunk Beach, Merriland Farms breakfast, Maine Diner blueberry pie, and Fisherman's Catch lobster lunches!). The room was spacious, featured a gas fireplace and comfy pillows. They have gotten rid of the pool on the deck (such a short swimming season and it took up a lot of room) and replaced it with a very hip and well-designed outdoor gathering space featuring a fireplace, white lifeguard style hightop stools at navy canvas umbrellaed tables to watch the sun set over the water, and comfortable seating areas. This is a much better use of the space and gives a great place to have a late afternoon or pre-dinner cocktail before dressing for dinner. The price was a great value compared to some of the other area specialty inns, AND you are right in town for walking to all of the shops, galleries and restaurants in Kennebunkport proper. I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Any room that has been renovated; most have a single queen or king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you girlsngr for your review!! We were closed for 2 months over the winter, while our main house common areas had quite the face lift. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy the new design and decor. It sounds like you and your son had a wonderful trip here and really got to experience all that Kennebunkport has to offer! We really did want to keep the pool and were sad to see it go, but the new sundeck is a great spot to take in the sunshine, while sipping a cocktail or even just relaxing with a book. Thanks again for your wonderful comments. We would love to welcome you back to the Inn anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Kennebunkport Inn is a lovely and well-run place. The staff are excellent, and the so-called continental breakfast is actually much more extensive (and hotter) than one expects. We stayed in Wharfside and liked the pine floors and white-painted furniture a lot. It seemed more like a pretty guest room in a friend's house than a hotel room. That said, I didn't go to Maine for views of parking lots. Yes, you see the Kennebunkport River from the front porch of the main building, but since there are two parking lots between you and and the river, what you actually see are a lot of cars. From our Wharfiside room, I could see the river over the roof of an adjacent building, but my parents' room faced a parking lot. Yes, it is convenient for Dock Square, but for me, more nature and many fewer cars is preferable.

Room Tip: Whafrside rooms have pine floors, quilts, white furniture, and clean, simple lines. Some have river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridge39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you Cambridge39 for your review. We are so happy to hear that you
enjoyed your accommodations and our fabulous in-town location. While some
rooms do have partial views of the Kennebunk River, we do not sell our
property as having a view because, as you noted, most of the views are of
town. We do have a terriffic location, walking distance to all of the area
attractions and with this convenient location does come some conjestion and
cars. We are happy to accommodate you in the main building for your next
visit, which is a little quieter than the Wharfside and may suit you better.
Thanks again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This Inn is located directly in the center of town which allowed us to walk to all the shops and some restaurants. It also allowed us to start at the beginning of Parsons Walk. While the hotel doesnt have a pool, guests can use the pool at the sister hotel. Bikes, beach chairs, and kayaks are also available. The buffet breakfast was very nice and included eggs, potatoes, pastries, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, etc - I understand the selection varies from day to day. The Main building and their rooms are charming. We booked a room in the Wharfside building, not understanding the difference. It's not as charming and required a climb up a steep staircase. But nonetheless, it was very quiet and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the Main Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you alinesun for your review of the Inn! We do have a fantastic location, which is located walking distance to all that Kennebunkport has to offer! There is something is to be said for being able to park the car and not having to get back in it until you leave. Unfortunately, the Wharfside rooms do require stairs, but should you join us again in the future, we would be happy to accommodate you in a room on the main property on the first floor. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I made a 4-day trip from St. Louis to Kennebunkport last week, and stayed at the Kennebunkport Inn.

We have stayed at many New England inns, and this was our favorite. The service was exceptional, to the person. Lovely, charming place to stay, in a terrific location.

Room Tip: Suggest room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,803 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $128 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing