We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wharfside: Overpriced Motel”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wharfside: Overpriced Motel”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kennebunkport Inn in 2011 when we got engaged and just went back for a reunion trip. I made the mistake of booking a room across the street at the Wharfside and we were both very disappointed. The building looks and feels like a cheap motel: the ceilings are low, the walls are very thin, and the bathrooms appear to have last been redone during the Carter administration. The furniture was of decent quality and the paint appeared fresh. The only redeeming quality was the downtown location. There are much better options available at a similar price point.

The main building was renovated within the past year. Some of the renovations are nice but they also removed the pool. Given that we were looking for a few hours of lounging by the pool, this was disappointing.

We had dinner at the OneDock restaurant. The quality of the food was good but the service was extremely slow. 20 minutes to get a bottle of wine delivered to the table is a little much.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Wharfside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you BostonRun for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not
like the Wharfside accommodations. We do our best on our website and through
our reservations process to make sure guests are aware that the wharfside
building is a different experience than the main house. More beachy and
modern, the Wharfside building has large spacious guest rooms with expansive
windows and light and although more modern, the building does lack the
historic architecture of the main building. Although many guests prefer the
large size, water views and fresh cottage decor, the guest rooms and
bathrooms in the Wharfside were updated last year in the same cottage style,
with hardwood floors and white cottage furniture...we do apologize if you
felt they were dated.

I am sorry that you missed the pool. However with our seasonal location we
felt the addition of the sun deck with outdoor breakfast seating, and
additional outdoor dining overlooking the river that this was a terrific
guest amenity that more guests could enjoy. As a member of the Kennebunkport
Resort Collection guests can enjoy use of the pool at both the Old Fort Inn
and Village Cove Inn.

Most importantly we do recognize that because we do have both a historic and
more modern building that our guests do have preferences for both. We would
have been happy to offer alternative accommodations to you if we had known of
your concerns. We are fortunate to have these options and would have loved
the opportunity to provide better suited accommodations.

Thank again for your comments and feedback. We can only improve by
understanding where we can change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    191
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
104
398
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent one night with our family of 4. Location is excellent, right in the heart of Dock Square. We stayed in the annex building across the street from main building. The room was pretty good although the tub would not drain very well and the door entering the building would not close securely (could pose a security issue). Breakfast was great! Fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, pancakes, eggs. Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. They booked a boat cruise for us and gave us other helpful tips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaconFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A few standout things: Location- just a few steps away and you're standing in the heart of dock square. Parking is ample and easy. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is decent. Hot selections (scrambled eggs, stewed tomatoes, assorted meats) with the standard cold cereal, muffins, pastry, yougurt, fresh fruit. Good coffee (they provide to go cups too). Breakfast is served buffet style in the bar and someone is on hand in case you need anything. You can dine in the front room where the fireplace is, and of course, both mornings two different couples camped in front of the fire after finishing breakfast-- Prime spot.

My room was pleasant with a sitting area in front of a cozy fireplace--romantic during colder weather. There were two small closets with enormous drafts. As long as the doors were shut, it was fine. The bathroom needs updating, but was fine. The water pressure in the tub/shower was great. The toilet had serious issues and for no apparent reason stopped up. Fortunately, there was a bathroom down the hall which my husband and I used. I'm sure that the issue would have been attended to and or resolved if we made a complaint, but it was a major holiday, and a skeleton staff, so we dealt with it. But also, I don't want to deal with plumbing issues, even if they can be corrected, while on vacation. So, sometimes I am leary of old inns due to old plumbing. Moving on, the staff will assist you with luggage. We did not need assistance, but the front desk asked. You can also pull up to the entrance to unload and then park down in the lot.
Overall: I liked it, but mostly I liked the location.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking Dock Square with the four poster bed. But also ask if the plumbing is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueReview10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you TrueReview10 for your review! We are very happy to hear that you
enjoyed our fantastic intown location. We love to see people taking
advantage of the prime spot in front of the fireplace in the colder months
and outside on the sundeck in the warmer months. Thank you for making us
aware of the draft from the closet in your room. I will see that this gets
taken care of. We appreciate the feedback as we can only get better by
knowing the areas of improvement. I apologize for the malfunctioning of your
toilet and yes, had we known, we absolutely would have had it fixed. I am
sorry for your inconvenience with this. We are very focused on property
renovations and insuring that everything is current and up to date.
Fortunately our plumbing and electric are up to date and current as we
recognize the importance of these to our guest's stays. We hope this didn't
completely turn you away from us as we would love to welcome you back in the
future!--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent two nights at the Kennebunkport Inn. The position in the town is excellent. The main reception/bar/deck and dining room were very nice and smart. If we stay again we would ask for a larger room - as our room (236 we think) was a little bit small and in need of updating - certainly bathroom wise. Very little hanging space for a longer stay. The restaurant was a super 'find'. Very much to English/European taste ( we loved the food and great wine list- and apparantly Gordon Ramsey said it was his favourite restaurants in Maine - and love him or hate him - he knows about good food!). We love Kennebunkport. Found some lovely shops but stayed in One Deck (the K.Inn) each night as we found it so good! Would definately recommend! Just ensure you ask for a larger /updated room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenilworthHyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you KenilworthHyacinth taking the time to review us! I am so happy to
hear that you were able to enjoy our new dining room and lively bar! The
room that you stayed in is one of our cozier rooms. As all rooms are
slightly different in size and decor we do our best to communicate this to
all of our guests when they book. While it is cozy, there is the added
benefit of our location. As you mentioned, we are steps away from all of the
area shops and restaurants. We would be happy to accommodate you in a larger
room for your next visit. Please come back and visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for four days at the start of the season, we reserved the two room family suite for our larger group. It is in its own building which is great, so you dont have to worry about noise of others. The sunroom is over the water which is great, the kids loved watching the boats come and go. The building is right in the downtown area, we could walk to several shops in under 2 minutes.

The room accommodations were very nice and the apartment was very large, so we never felt cramped. The beds were not as comfortable as other reviewers had explained and the one downfall is the noise. There is a bar across the river and each night it had live music. It was like a live concert in our room and the bridge outside our room made a lot of noise each time someone drove over it. I would recommend some ear plugs, but other than that the room is wonderful for a family.

Room Tip: I would ask for the wharfside building, the rooms are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you maggie324523 for your comments. The two bedroom suite that you
stayed in certainly has a fantastic in town location; easy to walk to the
shops and restaurants. Unfortunately, with the convenient location can
come some noise due to the liveliness of being in town. I do apologize
that you experienced some bar noise from a fellow business at night. I
wish we had more control of the noise levels in the adjacent buildings. We
appreicate your comments. We hope to see you again soon! Thank your for
staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The recently completed renovations of the lobby are stunning first of all. The staff in both the Inn and One were so helpful and friendly without being fake. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Such a restful evening. The comfy chairs on the front porch were a big hit. The bar area is cozy and intimate with a bartender who knows how to mix a drink.
The dinner at One...my oh my...from appetizer to desert it was exquisite. And it was so lovely to go out after dinner for a stroll around town which is right at the doorstep of the Inn. We will be making a return trip in the very near future to indulge in this wonderful experience again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you rhonda t for your very kind review!! We are so happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience. We strive to make every guest's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our front porch is a fantastic spot to relax and take in the Kennebunkport scenery. We look foward to welcoming you back when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

One of the quietest yet interesting vacations. Stayed here for a few days and slept extremely well. Went over for coffee the next morning, and the wall was one of the most peaceful things I've ever done in my life. Can't wait to come back. Views are also extremely nice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirPappageorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Property: Kennebunkport Inn
Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With three room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing