We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take it or leave it”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2006

i went to this hotel with my husband and children. i found the hotel dirty, in particular the bedding and rugs. the furniture, which is advertised as something special, is what one might find in a thrift shop - used and of poor quality. the hotel is very noisy - it is almost impossible to close a door without slamming it - there is also no food to be had except at posted meal times. with no grocery store within walking distance, this is a problem especially for those with children. the lunch menu is limited. the rooms are very small.
on the positive side, the hotel provides enough for children to be occupied. the location is terrific with beach access just down a path, the hotel pool has a wonderful view of the ocean. there is also shuffleboard and putt putt which keeps children entertained. i cannot, however, imagine coming to this hotel as a single person or as a couple. it is loud, and not relaxing. i would also note that if you don't like dogs , then this is not the place for you.

7  Thank clevelandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Colony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2006

I love the colony. The views are wonderful and it is just so relaxing to sit back and play shuffleboard or swim in the heated pool. When we were there last week-end we could see the steam rising off the water. The staff were all very pleasant. It is one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We've stayed at many places;. The Colony is in our top three. We've been there four times, generally at this time of year. If you're looking for antiseptic chain hotel atmosphere, this isn't it. The Colony has New England charm and like all really fine hotels, it welcomes all family members, including dogs. If you're uncomfortable around dogs, or offended at the idea of them being treated as family members, you may not be happy at the Colony. If you like or are comfortable around dogs, children, and other facts of life, you'll probably enjoy the Colony just fine. It has beautiful grounds a short walk from town, great ocean views, a quietly welcoming attitude, good food and pleasant rooms. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2006

We stayed at The Colony last year and had a great time. It is a beautiful hotel, well taken care of. Staff was friendly. Good breakfast buffet. We stayed in a 3 room suite. No view, which was disappointing, but worked well for our family of 6 and was not very expensive. It has a private beach which is quite nice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

My son was having surgery at Children's Hospital in Boston and I took him to the Colony to recover. We drove up from Maryland. To help defray the costs of my son's already expensive surgery, the Colony let us stay there for a substantial discount and gave us an oceanview room. My 11 year old son hobbled into the hotel with a walker and was very groggy from anesthesia. He slept in front of the ocean breeze and then swam in the saltwater pool. The view and the gardens were beautiful. By the time we left at the end of the week, my son no longer needed his walker. I can't say enough nice things about the Colony. The rooms were spotless, the food was excellent, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Traveling_Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

I have stayed at The Colony on a number of occasions over the years, most recently in August 2005. It is a traditional New England hotel that looks like, and is, a holdover from an earlier day. The building is striking and features spectacular ocean views, with broad verandahs and traditional activities such as shuffleboard. It is a one-mile walk from lovely downtown Kennebunkport and about the same distance from the former President Bush's home. A trolley comes by regularly for those who prefer not to walk.

The hotel has the disadvantages as well as the advantages of an older, family-owned establishment, with the appointments often suggesting a shabby gentility. It is open for only part of the year (the family has a hotel in Florida that they open during winter months), and the staff's resulting lack of experience can show. Also, the main building can be quite loud on Saturday nights, when the hotel typically hosts a wedding or other function. We usually stay in the East House, which is quieter but not as convenient. The rooms in the East House have been recently renovated and, to our relief, air conditioning has now been installed.

Kennebunkport is a charming town, and I think it is best appreciated in a traditional hotel. The Colony is an excellent choice for people who want a relaxing vacation in a quaint coastal town, especially pet-lovers and families with children. It is a poor choice for those who are looking for an adult romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jb5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Visited in September 2005 for a wedding (three nights) with our 6 month old baby. We had one of the rooms at the end of the hall overlooking the ocean. Very comfortable. The breakfast buffet (included) is excellent. The shops and restaurants of Kennebunkport are 1 mile away. For the best lobster roll in town visit the Crab Shack in town, where you walk up to the window and order (no seats except for a couple of outdoor benches).

1  Thank BruceES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $166 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing