We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, fantastic view, lots of charm.”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a room here last minute on our honeymoon when everything was booked solid. We happened to get the last room in the hotel which was huge and had an ocean view overlooking the pool. It was so charming and felt like we were going back in time to the 19th century. The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and service was very good. We were sad we had to leave the next morning! I would highly recommend this hotel. It was elegant, charming and had beautiful views.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5gf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 529 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed here on a Friday night at the end of our touring holiday. A warm welcome, lots of families around who have probably been staying here for generations, great atmosphere, nice log fire, great dinner and service, ample buffet breakfast included in the price - couldn't fault it really and would be back again like a shot. The only negative was that we were woken up at midnight and 6am by the damned alarm clock in our room that someone had left on and was a bit complicated to turn off.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband and I traveled with another couple and were delighted
to find this Kennebunkport treasure overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinner, warm fires in the evenings, walking to the village, and a friendly and helpful staff and front desk.
The Colony Hotel is simply charming!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missbfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

The Colony was great and so was the price. We booked through an internet special just 2 days before and paid $99/night, for two days. The main hotel is spectacular and the great part about this building is the wraparound porch in back where you can sit, relax, have a drink and watch an amazing sunset. There is a beach, salt water pool, well-manicured lawns, gardens, and a putting green. They offer a complimentary hot breakfast with wonderful food where you can get a great view of the ocean. The front desk staff and breakfast servers were very nice. We didn't stay in the main house, but stayed in the Galland House, only steps away. It was so peaceful and quaint featuring a king size bed, hardwood floors, pine walls and low ceilings which only added to the charm. This hotel is pet friendly but we only saw a few dogs. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyPhotoLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed at the Colony for a 5-day reunion. As it was built in 1904, you had to expect that it would be a little rustic. Our room had been refurbished yet retained some of the rustic character of an earlier era...10-foot ceilings, new varnished pine floors, floral wallpaper, baseboard heaters in bedroom & bath with individual thermostats, no air conditioning but a ceiling fan. There were no TVs in any of the rooms. A pedistal sink in the bath plus toilet and a shower/tub combination. The queen bed had an old-fashion headboard with posts about 6 feet high. Unfortunately, everytime we moved, the posts hit the wall so we had to pull the bed away from the wall by about 6 inches which then prevented the bathroom door from fully opening. The floor creaked but what wouldn't after 95 years?. We also had an old-fashioned upright dresser whose drawers smelled musty like a genuine antique.

The complimentary breakfast was great. Typically, it offered scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, blueberry pancakes to die for, assorted pastries, coffee, tea, juices and just about everything else one could wish for. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive to our needs.

Being late in the season, the only evening meals offered were in the bar downstairs. We ate there just once and found the food to be good but a bit overpriced. (We ate another dinner at a lobster house a block down the street (delicous!) and two other meals upstairs as part of our reunion).

The hotel grounds were kept up very nicely. They had an outdoor saltwater pool kept at about 84 degrees but we did not partake. We had access to the hotel's private beach which was fun to explore. It also had a large conference room on the grounds which we used for our meetings. The center of town, about a 20 minute walk, offered more restaurants, antiques, and gift shops.

In summary, the Colony Hotel is for those that want a restful stay yet don't mind a rustic setting.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlbqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Colony for our anniversary, taking along our miniature dachshund, and we enjoyed it immensely. The hotel has done a wonderful job of preserving its historic character, and the lack of TV's really added to the sense of stepping back in time (though we were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms had a nice modern amenity - iPod docks). The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the grounds are gorgeous, and it was refreshing to stay at a truly dog-friendly hotel. Skip the restaurant, though. Ick.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverTatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Our room was clean and had a spectacular view of the ocean.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gelmano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,799 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#6 of 6 in Kennebunkport
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $192 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing