We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a step back and ENJOY the Colony”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great hotel from days gone by. Upon arriving I felt like I was at the Sagamore Hotel on Lake George (where I was married). It is a grand hotel. The front desk clerk (Victoria?) was so professional and what true hospitality is all about. I had a beautiful king room with an ocean view. No TV in room which was a ++++ for pure relaxing. There was a TV in the pool lounge where I had a great cup of tea (it was a chilly day) and watch the World Cup Soccer with other guests . The grounds of the Colony are very pretty and the salt water pool very pleasing. Late night staff was there for breakfast next morning. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good but when I asked for a poached egg they said they would have to charge me...not so good. The only things negative were that 2 large bags of laundry were left in the hall way for over a day and getting a late night sweet was not possible. Better for my waist line but.... I asked if I could walk into the town of Kennebunkport to have dinner and the clerk said yes but I turned back...It would be dark and the sidewalks are not light up or even so I would not recommend doing this. There is plenty of parking street wise or in a paid parking lot.

Room Tip: politely ask to be upgraded if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 529 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was not my first stay at the Colony but it was my most observant. The hotel is lovingly decorated with beautiful antiques, custom fabrics and carpets, traditional and eclectic paint and artwork. The staff was friendly and helpful. The linens and beds comfy.

The lobster option three times a day is a treat and the breakfast buffet was delicious and expansive with multiple hot dishes, seasonal fresh fruits, fresh pastries, yogurt and granola. All this, while looking out at the sparkling waters of the Atlantic.

We were traveling with two grand daughters who loved the heated pool, game room, horse shoes, putting green, shuffleboard and the beach. We never made the short walk to town where there appeared to be tons of cute shops--we were just too content right where we were at the Colony.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ew-mmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here recently for two nights on vacation. We decided to stay in the east house since it has A/C (and a TV for our son) in the rooms. We did use the A/Z at night. The room was beautifully decorated and quite large. The grounds are very well maintained, the view of the ocean spectacular, and the complimentary breakfast buffet is outstanding. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely return to the Colony Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the East House because it offers air-conditioning. Even though the temperatures were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family loved staying in this beautiful grand oceanside hotel. It was our first time staying here, and we had booked a garden view room for one night (July 14). Upon checking in, however, to our delight we actually had an ocean view from our window! We loved the charm and elegance of this hotel and the old-fashioned feel, as well as the relaxed atmosphere, gorgeously landscaped grounds, and exceptional breakfast. The old-fashioned keys for the doors, lack of air conditioning, and lack of television were positive points for our family, and we loved it. The room was beautifully decorated, and the sound of the waves from our open window and the fresh ocean breeze were wonderful. We enjoyed the heated salt water pool and private beach. All staff members we encountered were kind, courteous, and friendly. There were two negative points we came across during our brief stay (which is why this is rated very good and not excellent), but these would not prevent us from returning. First, my husband was a bit disappointed as the Marine Room (located on the lower level of the hotel) where we dined that evening had run out of all their beers on tap. He was able to find an equally acceptable locally bottled beer instead, and this was not a very big deal. Secondly, upon attempting to locate an outlet somewhere near the night stand for a small travel fan, I discovered a large granola bar wrapper in plain view just behind the bed. The rest of the room, closet, and bathroom appeared to be well cleaned, however. Overall, this was a very lovely hotel, and our family enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

So much to say about this hotel that is positive, pet-friendly, ocean views, private beach, beautiful rooms, super customer service, gorgeous grounds, loads of places to sit and relax and just overall feeling of being taken care of. There are elevators for those who need them, old fashion key entry doors, excellent showers and a very nice free breakfast.

Only one neg: no air conditioner or t.v. in room. Not that we needed a t.v. but some do require one to sleep ;)

Room Tip: if you want a view of the ocean - ask for the oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2sisterstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This grand hotel celebrates it's 100th anniversary this year, 2014. The Colony Hotel combines the best of the old and the new. The old: gracious common rooms with high ceilings and huge windows with gorgeous views of the sea, beautifully landscaped grounds, and first rate service. The new: colorful and sumptuous décor, new pool, and delicious food with contemporary touches. I can't recommend The Colony Hotel in Kennebunkport too highly. Guests return year after year, and it's obvious why they do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Resort feel but it had a very comfortable and welcoming attitude. Very pet-friendly as well although the dogs are not allowed on the beach between 8-5. Buffet breakfast was good as well as a late night sugar fix for Maine blueberry pie and strawberry shortcake. Only stayed the one night but will come back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank thehaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,799 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#6 of 6 in Kennebunkport
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $192 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing