We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old School” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old School”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Colony has the charm and essence of traditional Maine. From the fresh baked blueberry pies to the flowered wallpaper in the rooms. We stayed a few days and were charmed with the ambiance. The staff is international in source...and that made the conversations in the bar and at breakfast facinating. Overall a great home base for the lobster and great views that are ever-present.

Room Tip: Get a view..but it seems that all the rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRuppanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    149
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
157
179
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Attended a family wedding here yesterday. We pulled our car up front and were immediately harkened back to an older time. The front lawn with adirondack chairs, the lovely front porch with seating, the shuffle board court, the horseshoe pit and the bicycles with baskets on the fronts stacked in a rack out front all added to the charm of an old country resort.

The lobby is lovely with lots of comfy sofas and chairs and a roaring fire in the fireplace. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sounds great so far right.....well, the wedding was outside over-looking the ocean and late afternoon...it was darn chilly! Then cocktails and delicious passed appetizers were served on the beautiful back porch with a beautiful ocean view.....again, CHILLY! If you are going to offer these services in October in Maine, invest in some portable heaters!!!!!

On to the ballroom...lovely and spacious. The food was amazingly good. This was a big wedding with approximately 150-175 people and the food was hot when it arrived at our table. That is a plus in my book! We started with clam chowder which was the only item that was not yummy. All I could taste was flour...ick. But that was followed by a very fresh mesculin green garden salad with candied walnuts...delicious and crisp. The main course was filet mignon and a lobster tail. The filet was perfectly medium rare and the lobster tail was as fresh as could be! The mashed potatoes were also good and cups of drawn butter were served on the side.

They gave an appropriate amount of time between the courses and didn't rush us at all....Major kudos for service and the quality of the food (except for the chowder of course).

We will definately take a trip up for a weekend in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAFOODIE01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Colony Hotel for two nights in the main building. The upsides: beautiful location, very clean room, pleasant staff, comfy bed (great firm mattress), and the breakfast rocked. The downside: this place is LOUD. It is actually impossible to close the doors without them making a slamming noise. The walls were paper thin, so every time the baby in the room next door cried, packs of children ran up and down the hallway screaming at 7am (yes, both mornings), or cleaning staff yelled at each other down the hallway early in the morning, it seemed as though it were happening in your room. My boyfriend and I can sleep through almost anything and were each woken up a few times each night. This hotel would be a great choice, though, if they spent some $$$ on some insulation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The main house has no AC or TV. That was fine. I was told in advance. What I wasn't told was that when you open your windows you hear everything on the deck. There are a lot of families with loud children on the patio and in the pool late at night. It sounds like they are right in your room! Additionally, last night up until midnight, there were people walking through the halls talking very loud. Again, it sounded like they were in your room. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and it sits on prime property overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately, the thin walls and lack of curfew for noise, subtract from the peacefulness that it should provide. Way over priced for no amenites and extremely dated rooms and thin walls. VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a quaint, old New England feel. I have literally never stayed in a hotel this loud before though. The walls are paper thin. If anyone so much as walks out of their room and let's the door slam (yes, all of the doors slam automatically), you're wide awake. Kids running in the hall, staff cleaning vacant rooms, whatever -- wide awake. I can tell you this with certainty, as I'm laying in bed at the hotel right now, early in the morning, and WIDE AWAKE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having flown all night from California, this hotel was a sight for sore eyes. I was so delighted by the charm of this lovely old hotel. It was comfortable and clean...absolutely welcoming. The staff took pity on us and allowed us in a little early where we were able to shower and nap before heading a short distance down the road to the marvelous little town. That night we sat out on the porch enjoying our evening just yards away from the ocean. It was truly a treat...like we were in another place and time!! Will stay longer the next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fogelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on around your room. No tv in room to block sound out. Doors slam shut, which doesn't help with the noise. Ran out of food at breakfast buffet. Servers barely came to serve coffee. There are nice views and pool here, but our room was just terrible!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLK92907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing