We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant hotel, but loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Colony Hotel for two nights in the main building. The upsides: beautiful location, very clean room, pleasant staff, comfy bed (great firm mattress), and the breakfast rocked. The downside: this place is LOUD. It is actually impossible to close the doors without them making a slamming noise. The walls were paper thin, so every time the baby in the room next door cried, packs of children ran up and down the hallway screaming at 7am (yes, both mornings), or cleaning staff yelled at each other down the hallway early in the morning, it seemed as though it were happening in your room. My boyfriend and I can sleep through almost anything and were each woken up a few times each night. This hotel would be a great choice, though, if they spent some $$$ on some insulation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    134
    57
    32
    27
See reviews for
142
165
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The main house has no AC or TV. That was fine. I was told in advance. What I wasn't told was that when you open your windows you hear everything on the deck. There are a lot of families with loud children on the patio and in the pool late at night. It sounds like they are right in your room! Additionally, last night up until midnight, there were people walking through the halls talking very loud. Again, it sounded like they were in your room. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and it sits on prime property overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately, the thin walls and lack of curfew for noise, subtract from the peacefulness that it should provide. Way over priced for no amenites and extremely dated rooms and thin walls. VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a quaint, old New England feel. I have literally never stayed in a hotel this loud before though. The walls are paper thin. If anyone so much as walks out of their room and let's the door slam (yes, all of the doors slam automatically), you're wide awake. Kids running in the hall, staff cleaning vacant rooms, whatever -- wide awake. I can tell you this with certainty, as I'm laying in bed at the hotel right now, early in the morning, and WIDE AWAKE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having flown all night from California, this hotel was a sight for sore eyes. I was so delighted by the charm of this lovely old hotel. It was comfortable and clean...absolutely welcoming. The staff took pity on us and allowed us in a little early where we were able to shower and nap before heading a short distance down the road to the marvelous little town. That night we sat out on the porch enjoying our evening just yards away from the ocean. It was truly a treat...like we were in another place and time!! Will stay longer the next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fogelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on around your room. No tv in room to block sound out. Doors slam shut, which doesn't help with the noise. Ran out of food at breakfast buffet. Servers barely came to serve coffee. There are nice views and pool here, but our room was just terrible!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLK92907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you want to stay in a beautiful, older, historic hotel -- this one is terrific. If you're looking for someplace quiet, modern and sleek - you'll be disappointed. The creaky old floorboards are wonderful but certainly won't be to everyone's liking.

Stayed in an ocean view room for one night in September 2012 as part of a New England driving trip (for the fall foliage that had yet to materialize). The staff were terrific, the grounds of the hotel were beautifully maintained, and the room with two queen beds, antique furniture and LOADS of wallpaper was comfortable and had an updated bathroom. No TV in the room.

Was disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open on a Monday night at 7pm and that the only place to eat on site was the downstairs bar, which was very quiet and chilly and had a limited menu. I didn't realize it was off season so early, but most guests probably just ate somewhere in Kennebunkport (Mabel's Lobster Claw looked busy and was within walking distance). Sat in the lobby for awhile, which at times felt a bit like an old age home front room, but that's not a bad thing -- it truly felt like going back in time for an evening with a wonderfully eccentric cast of characters.

Loved my experience. If you appreciate this sort of thing, you should go.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would have to be the best choice - why would you come all this way to look at a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent the night there for my niece's wedding. We were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The grounds are well maintained. The room we had was in the North building and had 2 rooms and was impeccable. Everything was spotless. The linens, towels, floors, even the windows. The view overlooked the Atlantic and was beautiful. The lobby was welcoming as was the staff. I would definitely go back for a romantic weekend. The price is not cheap but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for and this was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original part have no tv's in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boooche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing