We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“earth at hidden pond what a great restaurant”
Review of Earth

Earth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hidden Pond Lane
Description: Simple yet innovative, Executive Che Joe Schafer's menu at Earth focuses on "farm to fork" freshness. In addition to local meats and seafood, ingredients are used from one of two onsite organic gardens-picked daily and incorporated into each dish to enhance the many flavors and provide a taste that only fresh ingredients deliver. Hand-made pastas, house-made charcuterie and wood oven fired pizzas are thoughtfully prepared and sure to impress your palate. Our wine program features selections from countries such as Argentina, Chile, and Lebanon, while inspired, signature libations are concocted with freshly muddled fruits and fresh herbs from the garden.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“earth at hidden pond what a great restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

this was my third time to earth in the past three month's , the food is always fresh and tasty . really nice wine list and great desert's . i had a gallette , which is served on a free form piece of hickory wood . a french pastry shell filled with fresh blueberries , a scoop of home made ice cream , fresh blueberries scattered on the board and two scoops of frozen blueberry gelatio . it was heaven .i was on the outside dining area and they just lite the fire pits , what a setting .everything is so natural and relaxing . plus, the staff is really attentive to there customers want and need's . first time i was there, i had mentioned to my server, that i had a food allergy and when i came a few days later , my new waitress already knew that i was allergic to three item's . who in any great restaurant does this . the whole staff , including the general manager was very caring . you have to look high and low for great food and service these days , no matter what you spend . if you want a great place to have a nice dinner , than earth is the place you should go , but you need reservations . enjoy . regards charlie o

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, General Manager at Earth, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Charlie o,
Amazing experience! Thank you for your warm words, kind remarks, food favorites…and letting us all know how we properly passed the baton. Food allergies are not something to take lightly – and we understand how foodies may still have allergies! Just not fair. So in an attempt to make life feel a little more normal we are very happy to help those with concern navigate our menu and think outside of the box. We look forward to having you back with us again next season – now it’s a tradition! Thank you for your review and sharing with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    80
    55
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Experience for the Senses!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

About a 15 minute drive outside of the "downtown" of Kennebunkport is a true culinary gem which will heighten all of your senses. You travel down a gravel road thinking where are we going as you see the restaurant located on the Hidden Pond Resort property. You step through a screen door and are transformed. The décor and atmosphere are amazing as are the drinks and service. However the food is the real star of the show at this farm to table eatery. A culinary experience not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We are addicted to Earth!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My Husband and I just recenlty celebrated our honeymoon at Hidden pond. This is truely one of the consistantly best dinning experiences i have had. We have probably eaten at earth a total of about 15 times now and have never had a bad dish. Danielle the Manager runs an Amazing crew! The staff is so excellent they just raise the already great food to another level. Brianna, Matt and Chef Nick remembered us from our earlier trip and remembered that we were there celebrating our honeymoon and took such great care of us. When you have staff that goes out of their way to check in on you when you are not even in their station, thats great service.The only negative i can add is that the food is so darn good there, that we end up eating there every night and never try anywhere else! We are hoping to get another dinner in before close of season but if not we will be there at reopen.
Thank you guys for making our trip one to remember.
Jamie & Scott

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We LOVED LOVED LOVED Earth!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I visited Earth at the end of July, and we both absolutely loved it. The atmosphere was amazing. We felt like we were in the log cabin from the movie Legends of the Fall! It was just beautiful...even on a rainy evening. The food was quite superb. I had the maltagliata, and my husband said it was the "best pasta dish" he had ever tried. We love Italian, so that was a huge compliment. I, too, thought it was excellent. I can't remember what my husband had, but it was also very, very good. We also had two desserts. My husband had the strawberry shortcake, and I had something with blueberries. Both were FABULOUS and the presentation was gorgeous. Our service was great! When our server, who I believe had lived in Portland, ME, found out that we were headed to Portland the next day, she was very kind in recommending places there for us as well. We will come back to Maine just to eat at Earth! Great place and great food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another amazing experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

For our 5th trip back to Earth we brought two friends who had not heard of the restaurant. We sat on the back porch. Even though restaurant and bar were packed the service was attentive and on target. We had three different appetizers that we all shared and loved. The entrees were great. This continues to be one of our favorite spots in Southern Maine. Kudos to all of the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, General Manager at Earth, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Kevin N,
You made my day! Earth can get busy, but we never want our guests to feel like we’re busy. It is delightful to get feedback like this. Thank you for giving kudos to the staff! We all read our TA reviews and when you send kudos out – they really are very much appreciated by all. Thank you. Reading about your time here is delightful, especially when you say you were happy with you food and our staff was “attentive and on target”! We hope to remain one of your favorites, and see you again soon - let's go 6 for 6! Warmly, Team Earth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing