We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fancy a table in the herb garden?”
Review of Earth

Earth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hidden Pond Lane
Description: Simple yet innovative, Executive Che Justin Walker's menu at Earth focuses on "farm to fork" freshness. In addition to local meats and seafood, ingredients are used from one of two onsite organic gardens-picked daily and incorporated into each dish to enhance the many flavors and provide a taste that only fresh ingredients deliver. Hand-made pastas, house-made charcuterie and wood oven fired pizzas are thoughtfully prepared and sure to impress your palate. Our wine program features selections from countries such as Argentina, Chile, and Lebanon, while inspired, signature libations are concocted with freshly muddled fruits and fresh herbs from the garden.
Hopewell Junction, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fancy a table in the herb garden?”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Another great creation by Ken Oringer (Coppa in Boston's south end is another one of our favorites) We had the pleasure of dining here this weekend. Set in the Maine woods amidst Hidden Pond, we chose an outdoor table in the herb garden given the pleasant low humidity and sunny afternoon.
As these tables are not shaded it is best to wait until 7pm if possible. . The loud music from the outdoor speakers also really detracted from the peaceful woodland setting.

The assortment of pickled vegetables and fruits was a surprisingly great starter. The blueberry galette was also amazing.

Oh, and don't forget your camera. As the sun set, the colors and reflections in the pond provided great picture taking opportunities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    77
    55
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but out of place”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Earth has great food and a trendy atmosphere. I would recommend it to friends but with some caviats. It is completely out of the Kennebunkport spirit. You feel as though you are on a very chique Island resort. The whole development is somewhat out of place. Be prepared for the most expensive meal in the area. Having said that the food is excellent and the swimming pool and general decor are very handsome. Also you keep thinking, is that the Hidden Pond?... it seems small. And do they keep the fires burning to ward away the bugs or for an after dinner cult ritual?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelmullally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Earth is one of the most unique dining spaces I have ever been to... It was the one meal I was most looking forward to of our trip; however, our hotel lost our reservation! Lucky for us we were able to secure one on our own the day before and I am so glad we kept trying! We arrived 45 minutes early so we could enjoy drinks; however, we were told our reservation was even later than we thought. No big deal - we decided to eat at the bar. Earth is like dining in the most upscale tree house you could imagine. While we sat inside, we did check out the outdoor dining space and it was great. It was a hot night though and we thought we'd be better off inside. It was also very hot inside -- apparently there was no AC and we were told the windows being open would create a nice breeze. Probably true but not on a 90 degree night! Regardless of the heat, we had a wonderful meal at Earth. We had a great pizza, lobster pasta and burger and rhubarb tart for dessert that was out of this world! You feel at one with nature at Earth yet the vibe is upscale and sophisticated - would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Earth - Life is good.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went last year and liked it - thought would go again. This whole place is an amazing set up - the restaurant and lodges. I had lobster and pasta dish that was very good - plenty of lobster. Had some chicken wings for appetizer - very tasty. Dinner guest had a steak that was very good. Sydney our waitress was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the menu. Pricey but a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westsidebernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Should have eaten there all 3 nights. Can't wait to go back! The pizza and pasta dishes are made on the premises. Best pizza ever. The drinks were delicious and original.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank luba11375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing