We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Chapel Beside the Sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Ann's Church

Saint Ann's Church
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
455 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chapel Beside the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This gorgeous seaside chapel, built in 1887, consecrated in 1892, overlooks the Kennebunk River and the Atlantic Ocean. St. Ann’s is one of 18 historic summer chapels in the Episcopal Diocese of Maine. It’s open to the public only mid-June through September. Limited onsite parking is available. There’s nothing to dislike here. Multi-hued, sea-smoothed stones form both the exterior and interior of the church and sacristy. The altar is polished, light-pink Maine granite. The pews are oak. At the chancel altar rail, the needlepoint kneelers are hand-stitched. In the baptistery, the baptismal font is limestone. The church has 25 beautiful stained glass windows; six more are in the sacristy. A bell tower holds an old, one-ton, working bell. A sexton locks up the chapel when it isn’t in use. Beside the shore is a scenic outdoor chapel. Its benches permit inspiring ocean views that stretch all the way from Cape Ann in the south to Biddeford Pool in the north. By all means, bring a camera!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    80
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
630 reviews
358 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Nice Stone Church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a nice stone church, but doesn't compare to some of the more elaborate cathedrals that I have seen. There is a nice outdoor seating area that has a beautiful view of the ocean. There are several markers relating to the Bush family. Very quiet and serene location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

After a trolley tour in Kennebunkport we visited St. Ann's. It is a beautiful church and we enjoyed not only touring the stone church but also sitting at the outdoor Sanctuary. A beautiful way to spend a summer afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank DGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Unexpected *GEM* - architectural beauty...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were simple meandering in the car and caught a slight glimpse of this old church - not knowing exactly what it was.

We found a place to park.

Church was built in August 1887 with a one ton bell in bell tower. Gorgeous stained glass windows abound. It is the most beautiful old stone church I have seen since one in Scotland.

Outstanding views to the ocean. This is such a peaceful, serene location which inspires one's being.

A definite must see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank CtYankee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We walked over from The Colony at sundown and were mesmerized with the light and sheer beauty of the location. The Church was the bonus...and we found the outdoor sanctuary a particularly inspirational setting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRuppanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Ann's Church also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Saint Ann's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing