We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Chowder at its BEST!”
Review of Gran's Chowder House - CLOSED

Gran's Chowder House
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“New England Chowder at its BEST!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stopped at Gran's on a Foodie Tour. As a native New Englander I've had many chowders but Gran's is definitely one of the best. I had the traditional Clam Chowder (they also have corn and haddock) which had a light base (not heavy creamy) with plenty of clams and potatoes! So flavorful! I also got to taste the Lobster Bisque - also very good! The best part - all are gluten free! You can choose to eat your chowder inside Gram's or at one of the many tables and chairs outside on the patio. We met with Tony, one of the owners, who was super nice and took the time to explain the history behind their chowder. If you're in Kennebunkport, stop by, say hi to Tony and definitely enjoy a cup of chowder!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DodgerMom668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every Clam Chowder should be this good!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a sweet little place tucked into Union Square and has got the happiness factor all over it. They don't do tons of variety but everything they do, they do right! I brought a bunch of friends by and the owners were delightful and able to point out a few facts about the town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarBuns317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Must Go”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the seafood chowder! They were also kind enough to give us some of their pesto for our Jersey tomatoes, as well as the last of the day's baguette for dipping. All that, plus crab and lobster rolls from Portside, made for a perfect lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beamazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We ate there not once but twice in one day!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A local recommended this great find to us. We loved the fabulous lobster bisque for lunch and went back for the best lobster roll we have ever eaten for dinner! The place is clean and inviting but the food and staff are exceptional! We wished we had this Chowder House in our area because we would like to go there again and again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank celebr8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chowder”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place hidden away from the Main Street is well worth finding it was the best chowder we tasted in America ,and we tasted a few on both sides east and west.The hospitality of the owner was something I WOULD tip for !lovely Irish man! He then sent us to the best ice cream in the town and had a chat with the local law enforcement felt a real community feel at this place a must go to place !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran's Chowder House also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing