We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Haddock chowder”
Review of Gran's Chowder House - CLOSED

Gran's Chowder House
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
st louis mo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Haddock chowder”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Maine, and this small place offers some of the best chowder we ever tasted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cgervaisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This is real chowder.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love clam chowder. I don't love when I go to New England and get a clam chowder with the consitency of paste. Real authentic clam chowder is not meant to be so creamy you feel sick after a small cup. Gran's chowder is legitimate and hands down the best clam chowder I have had to date. I also sampled the lobster bisque which had a food chemists touch when it came to the perfect amount of sherry. We took home 2 large containers of the clam chowder, it didn't go to waste. Tony is also a very charismatic fellow who clearly has a passion for his business. I imagine he is the kind of guy who is there every single day. We found Gran's on the food tour in Kennebunkport. It is now on our list of places we will go every single year for chowder. Keep up the good work Tony! Thanks for coming over from Ireland and sharing the family recipe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great chowder, must try!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the haddock chowder, but next time we go back we're going to try one of the other 5 different chowders.
The folks that own the place are super friendly

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fantastic family business”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went here as part of a foodie tour.

Everything is awesome and the owner is just amazing, so friendly and helpful she is part irish are all by heritage.

All recipes are family ones, a must try is the clam chowder and the lobster bisque both best I have tasted anywhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More Hype than it is worth”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

They pride themselves on their mainstay-Chowders. They were extremely disappointing. Watered down and lacking flavor & substance not to mention overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarveyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran's Chowder House also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing