We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great homemade seafood&dessert”
Review of Gran's Chowder House - CLOSED

Gran's Chowder House
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great homemade seafood&dessert”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Awesome blueberry pie and superb chicken salad sandwich. Delightful service as well. The young owner said that most items were her grandmother's receptors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennesseewalkerfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great eat and go chowder”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This little hole in the wall makes some awesome chowder - you should same it once while in Kennebunk.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenLarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“tucked away gem.”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

this little hole in the wall place can easily missed. Tried it after getting reviews here at Trip Advisor. The lobster roll was very good and the service was friendly. It is in town and right next to Ben and Jerrys. What more do you want. They have nice picnic tables in the court yard where they bring your food out to you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bph19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This take out resturaunt was the only place we could find all home-made food! Everything we tried was delicious and they let us sample all of their chowders for free! Gran's Chowder House also had the cheapest lobster roll we could find in town and it was by far the best we had tasted. They have good portions for good prices!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ended up there by chance in a rainstorm, and was a wonderful accident! I had the chicken salad wrap which was excellent and my husband had the steak panini, also excellent. The best part however were the two young men who were working the counter, they went out of their way to be friendly and entertaining to the whole crowd of us trying to stay dry. Will go back next time we visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank di72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran's Chowder House also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing