We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”

Tides Beach Club Hotel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tides Beach Club Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Belvidere
Description: Dining at the Tides Beach Club in Kennebunkport, Maine is a refreshing experience with the emphasis on fresh! Our menu is bursting with fruits of the seas and vegetables of the garden, skillfully prepared in an uncomplicated manner to emphasize the great quality of the food and loving attention of Chef John Shaw. Pair your favorite with one of our signature cocktails or a selection from our extensive wine list and we are sure that you will have a meal that you will never forget.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner at the Tides very much. Food was good and chef very accommodating in altering menu for our taste. Loved the decoration. Biggest and most comfortable dinning chairs ever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susyabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    57
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
264 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“South Beach on the Maine Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very good food, excellent view of the ocean, Ben, the head bartender insures everyone
is more than adequately taken care of while your food is being prepared. Great place to
just sit and relax on the veranda or patio for a drink or small plate. Swordfish is wonderful.
Lobster - well it is super! Service - staff is extremely knowledgeable and professional. Worth
a repeat? The locals love it. Very popular with those who stay at Hidden Pond / Earth Resort. Come casual and just enjoy life.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Tides is one of my favorite places to eat whenever I visit Maine. Their take on lobster rolls is well executed and a terrific snack break from lounging on the adjacent Goose Rocks Beach.

That said, if you are planning a meal at Tides, especially of the romantic ilk, your best bet is a rezzie for dinner. The meal, although a bit on the pricy side, is geared towards fine dining and an appreciative palate. Our meal include Totten Bay oysters (masterfully shucked) and a beautifully prepared lobster spring roll to start. We also had the octopus appetizer which was slightly on the chewy side but tasty nonetheless. I also had a limomcello drink with Titos vodka that certainly wetted my appetite and didnt skimp on the liquor. Our entrées included the baked Maine lobster (no cracking or fingers needed!) And the Asian inspired prawns and scallops dish, complete with lobster fried rice, yet elevated beyond the standard of fare at your local Chinese takeout. Dessert was a blueberry pie ala mode - can't get enough of those Maine blueberries, after all - a fitting end to a complete meal although I must say the crust had a bit of a store bought chewy quality that contributed to my 4 rating for food (btw, for an amazing blueberry crumble, check out Pier 77!). Overall, a very glad experience that will remain a vacation staple for trips to come.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puggerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy and satisfying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were delighted to see how filling and delicious the continental breakfast was: Creamy greek yogurt with fresh Maine blueberries and warm just out of the oven homemade granola, along with piping hot coffee and choice of juice. Wait staff are from local colleges and are super happy and friendly. There were more choices for breakfast, but I loved this so much I had it 2 days in a row. We also had lunch and dinner here which were equally as good. Prices very reasonable for the quality and originality of food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank debn906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a special night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here last week to celebrate our anniversary. Many restaurants in this area only open for the summer, so they had just opened 2 days prior. I had indicated that it was our anniversary, and we were showed to a secluded table by a big bay window with comfy chairs. Our waitress brought over complimentary champagne while we looked over our menus. The cocktails menu had some exotic offerings including a strawberry jalapeño tequila drink that was fantastic. Our server knew a great deal about both the cocktail listings and the menu. We ordered an appetizer to split, followed by salads. I was filling up fast and just had a club sandwich for my entree, but it was great, with a subtle but delicious garlic aioli spread. My husband's scallop/shrimp entree was great as well. We had no room for dessert, alas. I like that this place isn't too fancy, but it's got an interesting variety to the menu, really something for everyone, and great service. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stateomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Beach Club Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Tides Beach Club Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing