We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time for all.”

Seashore Trolley Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: World's largest electric railway museum, offering rides on private railroad, exhibits, museum store, picnic tables. Appealing to all age groups. Many special events throughout the season!
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great time for all.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cloudy day or sunny day, this is a great take. The volunteer conductors are dedicated to their craft and the variety of restored and abandoned trolleys and buses keep you busy for hours.

Our 18 year old son did the Conductor for a Day and was able to drive a vintage trolley on a three mile trek into the woods. He was thrilled.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluefinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    49
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Trolleys from Around the Globe”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived shortly after 1pm and investigated the bookstore devoted to street rails in the USA and select countries around the world. Our guide was very knowledgeable and devoted to historical preservation of street rail transportation. He knew the manufacturers and years that they were in their heyday - especially those located in New England.

This is a great learning experience for all ages and gems about the museum leak into the narration. The entire experience is ecologically friendly. Tour cars use hydroelectric power originating in Quebec and run through a conduit to the Maine power exchange generating the electric power used to move the train cars.

The natural environment on either side of the rails added a certain awe to this excursion. Intermixed and close to each other are evergreen trees and deciduous varieties: small spruce, short-needle pines with oaks, maples and ash. Wildflowers grew close to the rails. A few butterflies make the entire scene spring to life and nature seem interactive and oblivious to the humans traveling by this wonderful ecological display in a streetcar from Sydney, Australia circa 1926.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank write2earn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Trolleys everywhere and then some”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A quick visit turned into an all day event...We even found the trolley that we rode on 55 years ago! The car number was unique to our experience...Talk about a step back in time! The car barns are full of trolleys in various states of repair...If you are into street rails, here is your place to visit. Well narrated as you ride restored cars...Do take several rides in the different cars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived very late in the day and just made the last trolley trip - whilst on board we met one of the volunteer guides - Doug from Boston - who offered us a free guided tour with him when we got off the trolley. He kindly took us around the various sheds and gave us loads of interesting information on the history of the museum and about the exhibits he showed us. We left an hour after the museum closed - a fascinating afternoon and a pleasure to meet someone who knows his subject so well and who wiilingly stayed late to enable us to get the most from our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jan221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Took trolley ride, visited barns with restored cars, etc. Last time i was here was 1953! Everyone had a great time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeHLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seashore Trolley Museum also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Seashore Trolley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing