We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent three days in Kennebunkport over July 4. The two nights at the Boathouse were a delight. The room was top notch, service outstanding, and all the staff truly attentive. The location, in the heart of downtown and on the water, could not be better. We are looking to go back. The restaurant brings a new level of dining to Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: We liked our room with a water view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you JOHN T for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful get-away with us! Our in town location is perfect for taking in all that Kennebunkport has to offer and don't forget that breathtaking view of the harbor. David's KPT has an excellent menu. We are happy to hear that you were able to give them a try! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

What an unexpected gem! This was our first trip to Kennebunkport and we could not have picked a better hotel. We were warmly greeted at arrival by the parking attendant with our reserved spaces and then handed a glass of champagne at check-in! After settling in to our beautifully appointed room, taking in the fantastic view of the harbor, and seeing how close we were to shops, etc, we went to explore downtown - only steps away. Loved, loved, loved all the shops & galleries and I actually have another trip planned to come back and spend more time looking at art in this area.
We came back to the hotel for a drink early evening and loved the atmosphere at the oyster bar. Lots of non-hotel guests popping in for drinks and to socialize. After resting a little in our rooms (complimentary "giant" whoopie pies!!!) we came downstairs to have dinner at KPT restaurant in the hotel. We ate outside on deck and the food was delicious. We should have had all of our meals here! We did go to Cape Pier Chowder House at Cape Porpoise, a lobster shack, for lobsters - FANTASTIC!
I cannot wait to come back. We came with another couple and next time we plan to bring our teenage daughters. There are so many things for them to do: paddleboarding, kayaking etc in harbor. We cannot praise the Boathouse more highly - you need look no further for the best place to stay in Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Newly renovated smack in the center of town. Outdoor patio service great. Nice drink menu. Quiet, so pretty and good eats. Tucked away off Main Street yet in the center of it all. Great benefit of staying at the hotel is there is a designated parking space for each guest room. Very convenient! Simple to get in/out but if your plans for the day are to enjoy what Kennebunkport has to offer, no car needed.
Lots of mid week specials during the summer - front desk staff very willing and happy to accommodate! Call direct vs website.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucielleball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you lucielleball for your review. We absolutely love our location as well; walking distance to everything, with a serene view of the harbor. The designated parking that we have created for houseguests is working out wonderfully! It's fun to arrive and see your very own parking space and cone with your name on it. We would love to welcome you back to Kennebunkport for another terrific visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent three nights at the Boathouse and loved it. When we arrived by car, there was a parking space reserved just for us with our name on a sign. If you want a "downtown" Kennebunkport location, the Boathouse is outstanding. Just outside the front door is all the shops and attractions. The view from our room and balcony could not have been nicer. It's the same view as the outside terrace just below our room 203.
The hotel is brand new. The soundproofing for our room was incredible. We heard nothing from the restaurant below, the harbor or evening entertainment.
Breakfast was more than adequate with some nice choices, happy hour from 3 to 5 had great food and drinks. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and were totally delighted with our lobster meal.
We were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Water view room was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you Jerry042 for your review. Sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us and were able to take advantage of our in town location. We love the reserved parking cones too! It's a fun way to manage the highly coveted spots. We really enjoyed having you here and can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Boathouse on July 8 and 9, 2013 and had a wonderful time. The place just opened 2 months ago and they had a special on a 2 night stay for $399 which we took. Everything was new and the staff was wonderful and helpful. The best part was the designated parking space with our name on it in front of the hotel when we arrived. As anyone knows who goes here, parking is at a premium and this was a great perk to have. In addition we had dinner at their restaurant on July 9 and was extremely happy. The place was filled and we strongly urge reservations if going there. We strongly recommend this place and will definitely go back. The rooms are wonderful and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 204 which overlooked the water. I would recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you Diane A for your review. Parking is highly coveted in Kennebunkport and we have come up with a fun way to reserve spots for houseguests. We are happy to hear that you like the designated parking cones. It's a special experience to arrive at the hotel and see a spot that is all yours! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We would love to welcome you back to The Boathouse soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We live in nearby New Hampshire and have been going to Kennebunkport for over 30 years. The Boathouse Hotel was recently built where our favorite restaurant used to be (The Landing) so we were hoping for something at least as good to take its place. We could not have been more pleased!! Our stay far exceeded our expectations and we have already re-booked our next stay for "Prelude Weekend" in December. Our room was large, beautifully decorated and had a great view of downtown Kennebunkport. David's KPT restaurant is perfect for dining outside overlooking the river and marina. The prices were more than resonable and the entire staff at the restaurant and hotel were fantastic!! We will be coming back here many times in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woobie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you Woobie123 for your review. We couldn't be happier that your stay exceeded your expectations! It was a pleasure having you with us and we can't wait to welcome you back for Prelude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Boathouse Hotel offers a contemporary twist to a classical nautical style of interior design and is unlike any other hotel or B&B my wife and I had seen while touring around Kennebunkport. David’s KPT, the trendy restaurant and bar downstairs, could have been placed anywhere in urban America, but yet it worked just as well in quaint Kennebunkport, and judging by the crowd, seemed to be filling a void in the market that existed before its opening earlier this year.

For our wedding anniversary getaway, my wife and I booked three nights in one of the hotel’s Harbor View rooms, which had a small balcony, where we sat each morning with a cup of coffee soaking in all the idyllic marina had to offer. In the evening, the restaurant below would be open, offering a different vibe, but still nothing that distracted us from our conversation over a glass of wine. The hotel staff had assured me when I booked the hotel that there would not be any noise coming from the restaurant into our room, and that proved to be true.

We chose The Boathouse Hotel because of its proximity to the shops and restaurants in the town center. It was an easy bike ride to the beach with the complementary bikes available from the hotel’s sister property, just across the street. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating with any requests, and reserved parking in the private lot was a plus. Continental breakfast could have been jazzed up a bit with a few more items and better presentation. A simple can of Sterno would have kept the egg dish warmer a little longer until everyone had a chance to get downstairs to serve themselves. I think the few shortcomings of this brand new hotel will get worked out as time goes on. Only word of caution is that the Harbor View room was small and lacking storage space. In hindsight, it might have been a simple solution to have had the hotel hold our bags after we unpacked. All in all we were happy with our stay and would recommend The Boathouse Hotel to anyone looking for a short retreat from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Harbor View Rooms add to the experience of staying in Kennebunkport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPTMGR, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you WMSlade for your review! We are delighted to hear about your very positive experience here at the Boathouse. We strive to make every guests' stay a memorable and enjoyable one. Our harbor rooms do offer lovely views of the harbor, while our intown location, is excellent for shopping, dining and experiencing all that the town has to offer. The bikes at Kennebunkport Inn and the pool at the Old Fort Inn are complimentary amenities while staying with us, and we are glad you were able to enjoy them both! Thank your for your comments on breakfast. We always welcome feedback, as it is the only way we can improve. We hope if your travels bring you back to Kennebunkport, you will choose to stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.1 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel

Address: 21 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $169 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse's 25 modern guest rooms and suites pay homage to the property's waterfront location with rich colors and contemporary nautical elements. With contemporary touches like AppleTV and Keurig coffee makers, and luxurious comfort through Maine-made Cuddledown bedding and plush robes, your stay promises all you yearn for. Customized with Frette linens, iPod docking stations, complimentary wireless Internet and gleaming white subway tile bathrooms, each room showcases unique aspects of what Kennebunkport and The Boathouse have to offer. The Boathouse is comprised of two buildings - the Main building and the Wharfside building. Several rooms also offer private balcony spaces overlooking the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing