We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge on the Cove
Ranked #10 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The place was nicely renovated and had a beachy modern feel to it. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated with original artwork from a local artist. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast every morning. A short walk to town, the Lodge on the cove is the perfect place to stay if you want to be close to everything but not right in the action. Try the delicious jerk chicken wings at the Dory, great food and great prices. Very friendly staff and clean property. We are looking forward to many other stays at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gengardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear GenGarden,
Thank you for the lovely review and taking the time to honor us with your words. Our Chef had a smile from ear to ear when I passed along your compliment on his Jerk Chicken Wings; they are his favorite menu item to make. Thank you for noticing the beautiful artwork that David Allen painted for us. He is such a talented artist and his painting truly add to the ambiance of our property.
I wish you a sun filled summer. Hope you visit us again on your future trips to Kennebunkport.

Best Regards,

Heather Strout
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge on the Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Clean rooms, super soft pillow and comfy beds, attentive, friendly staff. Family Friendly. The continental breakfast was fresh. The bartender was very nice. The pool was chilly but the kids stayed in for hours anyway. Played some ping pong and corn hole. Close and convenient drive to downtown. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColleenM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear ColleenM88,
Thank you for staying with us, it was our pleasure. We are a great family friendly location and I’m glad that you and your kids got a chance to enjoy the heated pool and our lawn games. I will pass along the compliments to the bartender as well as the rest of the staff. It is nice to have our attention to detail noticed and we appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers.

Many Thanks,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place was our perfect Maine Coast family retreat. Our Bayberry room was nicely designed and well thought through, the space just worked for 2 adults 2 kids. The whole property is sparkling and newly done up in great, modern taste. Our favourite place was the Lodge - a lounge-like space overlooking the pool, bright and sunny during the day and with a cosy fire when it was chilly outside. The only downside was that it closed at 8pm during our late May mid-week stay - would have loved to curl up by the fire with a glass of wine.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank SaKi_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Saki_London,
I’m happy to hear that we were your perfect location for your family retreat. I agree with you, that Bayberry does have a nice location for families as it is conveniently located near the cove side pool and the lodge. I am sorry that you were disappointed about the lodge closing at 8pm. We unfortunately do not have a 24 hour desk and during our off season do close at the earlier 8pm time, 10pm on the weekends and summer time. I do hope that you were still able to enjoy your glass of wine while relaxing on your front porch overlooking the cove. All of us at the lodge enjoyed having your family stay with us. It was nice to see your kids playing chess in the lodge as well as some of our other games. I hope that you will join us again on your next visit to Kennebunkport.

Best Regards,

Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
The lodge on the cove
29 South Main Street
Kennebunkport, Maine 04046
207-967-3993
heather@lodgeonthecove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Old motor lodge recently renovated with a hipster vibe. Fun lounge, amazing lobster sliders and yummy drinks. Rooms were small, but clean and lodge in biking distance to many things (easy ride to downtown Kennebunkport shops). Very friendly staff, great value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Heather B,
Sounds like you had a relaxing time while you were staying with us. Our property was just completely renovated last season; thank you for noticing our accomplishment. Our cruiser bicycles are a nice way to quickly get you to town to enjoy the local food, drinks, and shopping. I agree that The Dory’s Lobster Sliders are amazing and nice twist to a traditional lobster roll. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Kennebunkport.

Best Regards,

The Lodge on the Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just all around great. Rooms were good, clean and nicely decorated. Bathrooms good. Service great everywhere. Pool was nice, even if the Maine weather was still a little chilly. Kids were cycling on the 'compound' without any problem. Nice to find something with a modern touch in quaint Kennebunkport, and affordable too. Will recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guru-adjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear guru-adjong,

We appreciate you writing such lovely things about the lodge on the cove. It was quite the chilly start to our week, crossing our fingers it warms up quickly. Glad that you enjoyed our heated pool and braved the outside temperatures. What a pleasure to watch our guests enjoying the bikes with huge smiles on their faces; it does truly bring you back to a more relaxed time. Thank you in advance for your recommendations.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed two days to run the Maine Coast marathon, Sat 5/10/14 and Sun 5/11/14 overlapping with Mother's Day weekend. The friendly staff also surprised me with a takeaway breakfast on the eve of marathon day (I had to leave very early to get to the 6:00 AM shuttle bus in Biddeford). Very good room service and full (Monday) breakfast even though they were just open for the season. Quiet place, no traffic noises, and very convenient driving distance to sightseeing and landmarks. If you want an ocean view look elsewhere but prices will be higher I suppose. I got 20% off as a marathoner.
Would return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Call the office for explanations, the property is small and so are differences in rooms. The owners...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittorio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Vittorio M,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during an important weekend for you. We are so proud of you for your accomplishment of finishing your marathon. It was so enjoyable talking with you and being a part of your weekend. Can't wait to see you for next year's marathon at the lodge on the cove.

Best Regards,

The Lodge on the Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We happened upon this Lodge as we drove through town and were so pleased. The staff were delightful, and so helpful in helping us pick a dinner restaurant. The renovation is lovely, and we really liked both the location and the rooms. We would definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Sallyern,

Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful experience that you had with us at the Lodge on the Cove. We, too, are glad that you happened upon us. We are located in a quiet area that feels secluded but is still very close to town to walk or enjoy a nice bike ride. I'm glad that our team was able to help you find a restaurant to enjoy a lovely dinner at. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Kennebunkport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
294 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Cove

Address: 29 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $162 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing