We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, Fun and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge on the Cove
Ranked #9 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had so much fun at the Lodge on the Cove we didn't want to leave. It was a perfect family spot, with a groovy vibe for adults. Loved the decor in the lobby and the poolside bar , it was sophisticated, yet fun. Beach passes, cute yellow and white towel and new blue beach chairs were available to borrow for a day at the beach as were bikes for riding around the beautiful back roads around the lodge. Breakfast muffins, fruit, granola and yogurt were out each morning along with coffee tea and juice and it was great to hang out in the lobby and look out over the pool and the cove over breakfast.

From the minute we arrived, we felt happy to be there. We brought our kids, and they had a great time swimming, playing ping pong, doing the bean bag toss, checking out DVDs and getting snacks at the poolside bar. The adults loved the happy hour along with the live music each evening.

We were on the "no plan plan" and Christie, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful at helping us figure out what to do and making recommendations. Julia, Marcello and Loretta were also standouts.

We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Next time we return (with more advanced planning) we would request the rooms just past the lobby ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We appreciate your kind words. It is nice that you family got to experience all that we have to offer at the lodge. Your experience is exactly what we are hoping for; a family that the kids can play and the parents can relax! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfection from the moment we walked in until the end . We loved the rooms, the beautiful spa like pool, the food was delicious and the best Happy hour specials. Very reasonable prices too.
We will be back soon :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeppelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response for your stay with us. Our pool has a great location overlooking the cove and directly beside The Dory, our restaurant and Tiki bar. We are so pleased that you got to experience our happy hour. We have live entertainment on Thursday and Friday evenings so we hope that you were able to enjoy the music! Hope to see you again for a future stay to Kennebunkport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved this redo! If you've ever wanted to stay in one of those kitschy "motor lodges" of the 1950s but wanted a boutique hotel experience, this is the place for you. They remodeled an existing property (google the old hotel after you've stayed there - you won't believe the before and after!), and just opened this summer with a completely new look. The colors, bleached wood floors, all the details (rope tables, nautical knot room keychains) - it was all such a refreshingly laid back beach vibe. It was tucked away and quiet (on a tidal cove), but you could get to restaurants and shops by walking down a quiet side street (or biking - they have beach cruisers to borrow). They also have a dining shuttle from 5-9 each night to take you around to several other restaurants if you want to eat offsite. There's a little eatery/bar poolside, rooms have mini-fridges/microwaves/coffee makers, and a minimal breakfast (muffins, fruit, juice, coffee) is offered in the lobby. Beach parking passes are available at the front desk for the 3 local beaches, and the staff is great if you need recommendations or reservations or advice.

My favorite thing: sitting on the little front porch just outside your room door, reading the morning paper or watching the sunset - it was so peaceful I didn't leave until a second before checkout time just to soak up as much of it as I could!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 17 in the Arrowood section - an end room, so I only had a neighbor on one side. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostinthetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

What fantastic words and description of our property that you shared. Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can't say enough. The service was 1st rate. Laid back, but very attentive. Although the menu is limited we tried several items and they were all superb. The decor was unbelievable, We felt like we were in Malibu at a 5 star hotel. My wife and I both work in the film business, travel all over the world and stay in 1st rate places. For the price, this establishment gave all the 5 stars a run for their money. The rooms were perfect, the location is great because it is very close to town without all the noise you would experience if you were directly in town. Free bikes to cruise around on, fun games for the kids. We watched On Golden Pond one night and felt at home. Our only hope is that they can maintain the level of service, cleanliness for the long haul if so we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your kind words. We strive to provide experiences like the one that you and your wife had. We, too definitely hope that you will return again to the lodge on the cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Lodge on the Cove this past weekend. I can't think of one thing that we didn't like. The staff was so friendly and really made us feel at home. The room was spotless and very comfortable. No detail in the room was left out and had the most adorable beachy decor. The rooms felt very private with individual deck areas outside of each room (ours overlooked the pool area). The service at the Dory was excellent, as was the food and drinks. I would definitely recommend this to a family with young children or an adult get away. There is something for everybody! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessJ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review. We will pass along the high regards to our housekeeping and Dory staff members. Hopefully you will chose us again for a future stay to Kennebunkport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent three nights at lodge on the cove. Prior to our visit the hotel staff was extremely helpful on the phone. They contacted us a week prior to our visit to see I we wanted them to handle booking any activities orating any dinner reservations for us during our stay. They follows up with emails as well. Everyone was very knowledgeable and friendly. The same goes for when we arrived. The decor was very new and fresh and extremely clean and well maintained the service was great and very accommodating. We will definitely recommend the hotel to our friends and family. The location was great and walking distance from town and far away enough from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwshou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this through the Hotels Tonight app and didn't go wrong. The staff was helpful and friendly and the lodge is beautiful, new, spacious and has everything you need. Our room was large with a king bed, small table and chairs, nightstands, bench and dresser. The bed was wonderful and the bedding was heavenly. There is a closet area and a microwave and fridge. The sink area is separate from the room with the tub and toilet. We even had a porch with chairs. We loved the free use of the bicycles and riding to town took just a few minutes. (They even got the bikes out for us after they had put them up for the evening.) The location is great for walking to eat and shop and also so close for driving to the beach. Parking is at your front door. Wish we could have been there more than one night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and review. You had an experience that we hope that every one of our guests experience. Hope to see you again for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,766 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Cove

Address: 29 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $155 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing