We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at a extremely clean, fresh, family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge on the Cove
Ranked #10 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Excellent service at a extremely clean, fresh, family friendly hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent three nights at lodge on the cove. Prior to our visit the hotel staff was extremely helpful on the phone. They contacted us a week prior to our visit to see I we wanted them to handle booking any activities orating any dinner reservations for us during our stay. They follows up with emails as well. Everyone was very knowledgeable and friendly. The same goes for when we arrived. The decor was very new and fresh and extremely clean and well maintained the service was great and very accommodating. We will definitely recommend the hotel to our friends and family. The location was great and walking distance from town and far away enough from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwshou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    31
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this through the Hotels Tonight app and didn't go wrong. The staff was helpful and friendly and the lodge is beautiful, new, spacious and has everything you need. Our room was large with a king bed, small table and chairs, nightstands, bench and dresser. The bed was wonderful and the bedding was heavenly. There is a closet area and a microwave and fridge. The sink area is separate from the room with the tub and toilet. We even had a porch with chairs. We loved the free use of the bicycles and riding to town took just a few minutes. (They even got the bikes out for us after they had put them up for the evening.) The location is great for walking to eat and shop and also so close for driving to the beach. Parking is at your front door. Wish we could have been there more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and review. You had an experience that we hope that every one of our guests experience. Hope to see you again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just came back on July 27 from a family birthday celebration at the Lodge on the Cove. We were seven people ranging in age from 17 months to 70 years and we took 3 rooms.
We were so pleased with the cleanliness, beautiful room decor, amenities, very comfortable beds, and super silent air conditioners. It was great to have the mini fridge.
The children were to sleep with their parents and the blow-up bed and pack'n'play were ready for them when they arrived, complete with linen.
The staff couldn't have been more pleasant or accomodating, providing us with maps and detailed directions to restaurants, grocery store, etc.
Because we had little children with us, the poolside restaurant was just perfect for a quick and tasty, but simple meal.
If we had one minor issue, we would have liked to have a toaster and bread at breakfast. Otherwise, the fresh fruit cup, yogurt, granola and muffins seemed adequate for other people.
Like one of your other reviewers, we did find the Wifi slow, but we were certainly able to use Apple devices.
The location was very good, walkable to town and also fairly close to Goose Rocks Beach, where we usually prefer to go.
We have been coming to the area for years and stayed at the Village Cove before it was renovated. We were thrilled with the renovations.
Good job management and staff!

Sharon and Family from Montreal

Room Tip: We stayed in an end room (33). I was a good location, close to everything and quiet...not too close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonrosenhek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We loved having your family stay with us. It was a joy to interact with everyone each day. We will take your advice for breakfast as we welcome any recommendations for improvements. Hope to see you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falls church, va
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was nervous after making the reservation based on old/outdated pictures I saw on Trip Advisor (which are pictures from the old Inn. The newly refurbished Inn is repainted white). This place is awesome! Completely renovated over the winter & reopened approximately 3 wks. ago. Everything is brand new & lovely! Very modern & simply chic - was very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBJNoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for chosing to stay at the Lodge on the Cove. It makes us extremely happy to hear that you loved the renovations. We hope that you chose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Entire Staff of the Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife booked this after reading about the Lodge in our local Texas paper. We love New England and used to live up there too. The Lodge has been remodeled for this season. The rooms were very, very nice. The staff was friendly at the front desk and at the restaurant.

I really want to give this place 5 stars but there are a few glaring issues. The Internet was extremely slow and could not be accessed by any of our 4 Apple devices. Using my company laptop while sitting outside I could use the Internet but it was EXTREMELY slow. My other issue was with the bicycles. During my time there I was unable to use the bikes as they were checked out early and returned late. They really need to have double or triple the amount of bikes they currently have. The food was good in the restaurant but it took a long time to get our meals. That said the staff was fantastic and really tried their best.

All and all a very nice place to stay. We got a great introductory rate, I'm not sure I would be willing to pay the regular rate of $350 a night.

Room Tip: Nice place with a few issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us at Lodge on the Cove. We are very sorry that you experienced issues without wireless. We are a new property and we appreciate any feedback that we can receive. We have added boosters to the external buildings in hopes that this will provide a better wireless service.

We hope you chose us again for a future stay.

Sincerely,

The Entire Staff of the Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Kennebunkport, Maine. we stayed at the brand new Lodge on the Cove, which opened on the July 4th week. Everything was brand new and lovely. I found a grand opening special and we booked the package called "The Plunge" We stayed 2 nights in a large well decorated room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable,along with a table and chairs, a micro and a mini refrigerator. The large sink vanity outside the bathroom was ideal. They also made available bikes and kayaks, however we didn't use either. The main lodge entrance is lovely and each morning we went to have our fresh cup of coffee at the help-yourself bar. Our breakfast was delivered to our room each morning which consisted of fresh orange juice fruit, yogurt, and a large muffin. The pool area was lovely and the small tiki bar was located right by the pool. A very nice small menu is available to order sandwiches and light fare foods.The location of this bed and breakfast is a short drive (or trolley) ride to the town. but is tucked neatly away on a tree lined private street. Taking a ride on Ocean Ave is a must before going to the quaint and interesting little town of Kennebunkport. We ate at the new resturant David's, the bar menu was great. The food was delicious and worth waiting for(no reservations are taken). The upstairs David's is a very pricey and more formal dining area. I understand it is a place to have a 10 course dinner! We were told about a place on the water called The Ramp and we enjoyed a delicious seafood dinner. It is a small local place, but it was soo good! Kennebunkport is a must see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our mission statement was basically stated in your review; our hopes were to provide a relaxing getaway that offers complimentary services that reach out to all travelers. We hope that every guests that comes to stay with us enjoys it just as much as you did. Please come and visit us again!

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
The Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Like other recent reviewers we stayed at the Lodge on the Cove as it opened over the 4th of July holiday. I am a Tripadvisor addict and I thoroughly research properties before traveling. Along with the hotel's website I also "googled" it and found a little article on it in the Travel and Leisure site. So after due diligence, my husband called to get more information about the accommodations explaining that we are 60 and we enjoy quiet, private places. Thankfully we were given an end unit.

The first night the air conditioner started dripping so loudly I had to play sounds on my Ipod (I avoided the rain setting) and we lined the floor with 2 buckets and towels so we could sleep. At 11:00 pm our neighbors came in and were quite loud. I am not sure if it was them banging around or just poor sound proofing between rooms. Then the next day we went to the pool. The place was packed. A kind gentleman gave up a lounge chair for me and my husband sat in a chair. First of all, you couldn't get into the pool because every space to access the water was blocked and secondly I could not even sit there and read due to the noise. Since I wanted to stay outside we moved to a far corner to sit in rocking chairs so we could talk. Then before we knew it, a mother decided to make this area a time-out place for her screaming child. Enough!!!

This hotel is managed by a group called Kennebunkport Resort Collection which has built or renovated 9 hotels in town. Others are more adult focused whereas the Lodge is family focused. This is something we discovered after checking in. How I wish the front desk had suggested to us that we try a less child friendly place when we explained what we were looking for while making the reservation. Also, in the rush to open a new hotel for the holiday there are many "bugs" to work out to get it up to speed.

One thing I will say for the Lodge on the Cove....their staff are impassioned and devoted to this place from the decor to doing every they can to insure that their guests are happy.

It is a nice place, just not one for us. If you are a young family, go and enjoy. If you like peace and tranquility, keep looking.

Room Tip: If you like action, stay near the pool. For quieter rooms go to the second floor. The farthest fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjane0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at The Lodge on the Cove. We are very sorry that we did not meet your full expectations. The problems that arose such as the air conditioning unit were repaired in a timely manner. You are correct in stating that we are a family oriented property. We enjoy the the family atmosphere by providing a space that both adults and children can enjoy a vacation away.
We appreciate the feedback and honesty as we are a new property and are working towards making everyones stay enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager
Lodge on the Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Cove

Property: The Lodge on the Cove
Address: 29 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing