We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here and enjoyed a room with a beautiful view. We also had a fireplace in the room to keep us warm. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAI04046, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Cape Arundel Inn. We are so happy to hear that you had great time and enjoyed our amazing staff and of course our location! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    49
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
218
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

we are from IL and ME was always on my list. we picked room 25 for a reason and so glad we did. the view is amazing and its my new wallpaper for my phone. yes, the window A/C units are noisy--i am not sure they have much alternative. the bathroom was redone and was very nicely done. nice large flat screen and was able to watch my BEARS on monday night.

the dining room is beaufiful. staff was friendly and professional. apologies to Patrick because i had driven thru wells (i think) and the worst torn up road in the world and was a little gruff when we arrived--sorry bud. however, i expected a little more at breakfast. the ratio is one breakfast meat per egg lol. baked goods were good; scones, muffins etc. also had cereal and yogurt/granola. the hot items were well prepared but maybe could have been a little more plentiful. we did not have dinner in the restaurant. i saw what i thought was the dinner menu in the room and didnt get excited.

you are there more for seeing the area but this Inn is in the right location. views are beautiful.

Room Tip: room 25. fantastic view. right across ocean blvd is the .... ocean. unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoop717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAI04046, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of your Cape Arundel Inn stay! We are delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the property and the beautiful surroundings. Thank you for your opinion on our complimentary breakfast we serve, we will take your feedback and see where we can make improvements in the items served. Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Despite being on a lovely remote stretch of road, the rooms were not quiet at night. It was air conditioning units from the neighbouring cabins - we were in the annex. In a place like this (and a price like this) I want to hear the waves and nothing else.

There were some very nice touches like beach towels and parking tokens.

The room was cute but had a very slight mustiness - probably normal for a seafront property, but still.

The staff were friendly but the kids did not seem to be welcome in the restaurant at dinner. The waitress was courteous as opposed to friendly, other guests seemed slighted that their amazing dinner with views of the Bush residence was to be accompanied by children. The chef prepared an excellent meal for the kids - fresh fish and veg with sauce on the side. My own food was good, not amazing. Drinks and wines were very good.

Breakfast was good - ok coffee and superb muffins, but quiche and no other choice????

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAI04046, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay and dining expectations were not exceeded. We place enormous value on providing warm, professional service and creating an enjoyable ambiance in our dining room and Inn for all guests, regardless of age and It is unfortunate that your experience did not reflect this. We are always looking for ways to fine tune and improve and sincerely thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As my husband I are recently retired, we have a few bucket lists. Our New England trip was bucket list #2. On a recommendation from friends, we booked a couple of nights at the Inn. Our room was delightful and wow what a view. Queen size bed was below a beautiful stained glass window and windows open on each side of it. The view of the ocean breaking on the rocks was breathtaking as was the sound of it that greeted us each morning and evening. The dining experience at the Inn was also very plesant experience. The menu, service and food presentation and wine list was just as excellent as the the meals we were served. We highly recommend this Inn and we will return!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
How exciting and what an honor to have played a part in making your bucket list trip to New England a wonderful experience! Our location certainly affords us an embarrassment of riches, offering beautiful ocean vistas as well as the soothing sound of breaking waves. We are so pleased to know that you found your room delightful and that you enjoyed every aspect of your meals in the dining room. Our hope is to delight guests with every detail and it is gratifying to know that we hit all the right notes. Thank you so much for your lovely review and your recommendation! We look forward to making your second visit as memorable as the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Capre Arundel Inn for years, always aniticipating and having a wonderful experience. But this last time was different. I've waited some weeks since my visit to comment, to allow time to give perspective, but my thoughts remain the same. The room we stayed in, which we've had before, was done over, Workmenship was very high, but it is now stark, cold, absolutely nothing on the walls. Gone is the warm feeling. I'd change back to the blinds that did not work too well for some character. We did not like being in the room at all. The breakfast was also something I always looked forward to - nice buffet, high quality, and a 'hot' item choice. This time, the buffet table was lacking in both chocie and quantity - it looked lke they were trying to save. Also with the prepared item - smaller in quantity and lacking the higher end quality. The first day I thought I had just hiot it wrong, but it was the same for the next day, so I skipped the 3rd day and ate elsewhere. For over $400 per night, the breakfast could have stayed the same. People were great, reception outstanding. But I'm all done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty over the years and are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the decor of your room and with breakfast during your latest visit. We value your comment that the workmanship surrounding the renovations and redecoration is high, but regret that this process left you feeling that the space was cold and stark. Our goal throughout this project has been to create crisp, comfortable spaces with clean lines that compliment, rather than compete with the beautiful ocean views. In this process, we started with a simple palette and are adding things like artwork and accessories with deliberation and thought in order to give each room personality without complicating or cluttering the space. Ultimately we want each room to feel individual, warm, and welcoming while simultaneously letting the views be the star of the show. It is unfortunate that we had not yet completed the accessorizing process for your room which caused you to feel less than comfortable in the space. We also apologize that we didn't exceed your expectations in regard to breakfast. We value your feedback as we are always seeking to improve and perfect the experience we offer guests. We wish you had brought your disappointment to our attention so that we could have immediately addressed your concerns. While we appreciate that you found our staff great and the reception outstanding, we never want to have guests feel less than completely delighted with every aspect of their stay. We do hope you will give us an opportunity to provide another wonderful experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having spent some considerable time looking for somewhere special to celebrate my wife's **th birthday we settled on the Cape Arundal. Having travelled from the UK an driven up from Boston our first impressions were, WOW, we got it right. From our first view of the Inn to our parting moments I was nothing but impressed, inspired and thoroughly delighted with everything and everybody at the Cape. The location and view are breathtaking, the staff are fantastic, polite and caring, the quality of the Inn itself is superb, oh and the owners are real nice folks to. What really impressed me is that there was a small issue and it was dealt with in a rapid, unwavering and professional manner to the degree that I have not experienced elsewhere. The air show put on by the old folks across the bay was pretty spectacular to!!!! If you wan't a top quality, relaxed stay in stunning surroundings then I don't think you'll be able to beat The cape Arundal Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view in the main inn or the Rockbound rooms which all face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oooh-er-missus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It is so wonderful to hear that from first impression to last, you were unequivocally delighted by your stay. We are so pleased that the views inspired you and that you felt well taken care of by the members of our team. Our goal is always focused on maximizing the level of enjoyment experienced by all of our guests, so it is gratifying to hear that we hit the mark with you. Thank you for allowing us to play a role in celebrating your wife's birthday and for your rave review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Kennebunkport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford Pool, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have dined at the inn countless times over the past 30 years. I am a faithful customer through several changes in ownership/management. On a recent visit I was disappointed as were the other members of my group. The garlic whipped potatoes had been eliminated from the menu. It may seem like a minor point but it is NOT, they were the best. Please bring back the garlic whipped potatoes. The crispy potato cake offered instead was a big disappointment. I left 99% of it on the plate..
Also, ita was nice to offer the chocolate lava cake, but the "mocha creme anglaise was very poor. I prefer a creme anglaise, but a standard whipped cream would be better than such a sub standard creme anglaise.
As always the service was excellent, the ambience lovely and the rest of the food great. I have a summer home in the area and I I always recommend this inn as the best dining experience and I don't want to stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbandbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your unwavering loyalty over the past 30 years and for providing us with valuable feedback. While we appreciate hearing that you found the service excellent, the ambiance lovely and some of your food great, we are very sorry to hear that portions of your meal proved disappointing. Since food trends and expectations are always evolving, our culinary team works to keep the menu fresh; but it is important to know when guests miss a favorite item or when something falls flat. We appreciate your comments very much and will use them to continue to improve and perfect the dining experience we offer. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to earn your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Arundel Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Property: Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay: The landmark Cape Arundel Inn’s Main House on Kennebunkport’s exclusive Ocean Avenue or the nearby Club House, a vintage manor tucked within 15 wooded acres. Guests staying in the Main House building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Club House, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the clubhouse featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at the Club House and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at the Club House, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing