We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Change is good - usually...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Ranked #11 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Change is good - usually...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Capre Arundel Inn for years, always aniticipating and having a wonderful experience. But this last time was different. I've waited some weeks since my visit to comment, to allow time to give perspective, but my thoughts remain the same. The room we stayed in, which we've had before, was done over, Workmenship was very high, but it is now stark, cold, absolutely nothing on the walls. Gone is the warm feeling. I'd change back to the blinds that did not work too well for some character. We did not like being in the room at all. The breakfast was also something I always looked forward to - nice buffet, high quality, and a 'hot' item choice. This time, the buffet table was lacking in both chocie and quantity - it looked lke they were trying to save. Also with the prepared item - smaller in quantity and lacking the higher end quality. The first day I thought I had just hiot it wrong, but it was the same for the next day, so I skipped the 3rd day and ate elsewhere. For over $400 per night, the breakfast could have stayed the same. People were great, reception outstanding. But I'm all done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty over the years and are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the decor of your room and with breakfast during your latest visit. We value your comment that the workmanship surrounding the renovations and redecoration is high, but regret that this process left you feeling that the space was cold and stark. Our goal throughout this project has been to create crisp, comfortable spaces with clean lines that compliment, rather than compete with the beautiful ocean views. In this process, we started with a simple palette and are adding things like artwork and accessories with deliberation and thought in order to give each room personality without complicating or cluttering the space. Ultimately we want each room to feel individual, warm, and welcoming while simultaneously letting the views be the star of the show. It is unfortunate that we had not yet completed the accessorizing process for your room which caused you to feel less than comfortable in the space. We also apologize that we didn't exceed your expectations in regard to breakfast. We value your feedback as we are always seeking to improve and perfect the experience we offer guests. We wish you had brought your disappointment to our attention so that we could have immediately addressed your concerns. While we appreciate that you found our staff great and the reception outstanding, we never want to have guests feel less than completely delighted with every aspect of their stay. We do hope you will give us an opportunity to provide another wonderful experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    44
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
33
191
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having spent some considerable time looking for somewhere special to celebrate my wife's **th birthday we settled on the Cape Arundal. Having travelled from the UK an driven up from Boston our first impressions were, WOW, we got it right. From our first view of the Inn to our parting moments I was nothing but impressed, inspired and thoroughly delighted with everything and everybody at the Cape. The location and view are breathtaking, the staff are fantastic, polite and caring, the quality of the Inn itself is superb, oh and the owners are real nice folks to. What really impressed me is that there was a small issue and it was dealt with in a rapid, unwavering and professional manner to the degree that I have not experienced elsewhere. The air show put on by the old folks across the bay was pretty spectacular to!!!! If you wan't a top quality, relaxed stay in stunning surroundings then I don't think you'll be able to beat The cape Arundal Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view in the main inn or the Rockbound rooms which all face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oooh-er-missus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It is so wonderful to hear that from first impression to last, you were unequivocally delighted by your stay. We are so pleased that the views inspired you and that you felt well taken care of by the members of our team. Our goal is always focused on maximizing the level of enjoyment experienced by all of our guests, so it is gratifying to hear that we hit the mark with you. Thank you for allowing us to play a role in celebrating your wife's birthday and for your rave review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Kennebunkport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford Pool, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have dined at the inn countless times over the past 30 years. I am a faithful customer through several changes in ownership/management. On a recent visit I was disappointed as were the other members of my group. The garlic whipped potatoes had been eliminated from the menu. It may seem like a minor point but it is NOT, they were the best. Please bring back the garlic whipped potatoes. The crispy potato cake offered instead was a big disappointment. I left 99% of it on the plate..
Also, ita was nice to offer the chocolate lava cake, but the "mocha creme anglaise was very poor. I prefer a creme anglaise, but a standard whipped cream would be better than such a sub standard creme anglaise.
As always the service was excellent, the ambience lovely and the rest of the food great. I have a summer home in the area and I I always recommend this inn as the best dining experience and I don't want to stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbandbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your unwavering loyalty over the past 30 years and for providing us with valuable feedback. While we appreciate hearing that you found the service excellent, the ambiance lovely and some of your food great, we are very sorry to hear that portions of your meal proved disappointing. Since food trends and expectations are always evolving, our culinary team works to keep the menu fresh; but it is important to know when guests miss a favorite item or when something falls flat. We appreciate your comments very much and will use them to continue to improve and perfect the dining experience we offer. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to earn your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just had a fabulous weekend at the Cape Arundel Inn. Can't say enough about everything. This was our first trip to the Inn and we are already planning our next stay next summer. The views were beautiful. The staff exceptional. Patrick helped us out checking on our tee times at the golf course and making a reservation for dinner for us. Morgan was just superb also. Our dinner at the restaurant was perfect. We loved everything about the place.

We stayed in one of the rooms with our own balcony overlooking the ocean. Just loved sitting out there listening to the waves against the rocks and reading a book. The grounds are so well taken care of. The adirondack chairs are great for getting some sun or reading a book.

Having drinks on the porch was a treat. Great service and wonderful people. Can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: Room #24 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
How wonderful to know that you had a fabulous weekend and are already planning your next visit! The highest compliment we can receive is to have guests return and it is such a pleasure to see familiar faces come through the door. Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always so nice to hear that guests have enjoyed every aspect of their stay. We do our utmost to create a relaxing atmosphere that takes advantage of all of the wonderful assets offered by our location and the area. We are so pleased that we were able to play a part in making your vacation delightful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made so comfortable by the friendly and professional staff and the inviting and casually elegant atomosphere of the Cape Arundel Inn. The front porch has cushioned wicker couches and loveseats that invite you to sit and relax and enjoy the beautiful water view across the street. They think of all the little things that add up to a quality experience...a large bottle of complimentary Poland Spring water in your room every day, homemade whoopee pies and always cold, fresh, fruit-infused water for you to enjoy all day and evening in the foyer as well as coffee and tea always available in the lovely sitting room. You feel as if you are visiting at a friend's very beautiful and inviting home, and that is exactly the intention. The innkeeper, Rich, takes great pride in what they have accomplished over the past 2 years and is so complimetary to his entire staff that make this whole operation absolutely top notch. Everyone we encountered on our two night visit could not have been more professional, friendly or so willing to accomodate us. The breakfast that is included every morning is not to be missed..fresh juices, fruit, yogurt, granola, a variety of pastries and a not to be forgotten whole-grain pretzel croissant..fabulous!! Breakfast also includes a hot dish...we had delicious rosemary focaccia french toast one morning and a tomato, basil and cheddar frittata the next. We will go back again and again as we think that with the improvements that are continually being made it can only get better and better. An extra kudo to Morgan at the front desk...a poised, professional, friendly young woman who is such an asset to a wonderful inn!! We can not recommend this whole experience highly enough...and definitely have dinner there...it is the best we had in Kennebunkport!!!

Room Tip: Room 25 on the first floor of the Inn has a fabulous view of the water, the gardens, and Walker'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFC1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit with us and greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback! It is gratifying to know that all of the little details added up to you feeling warmly welcomed and perhaps even a bit pampered. While our oceanfront location speaks for itself, we work to craft an experience for guests that frames the location with warm service and thoughtful amenities. It is a lovely complement for the atmosphere to be compared to visiting a friend's home. That is precisely the note we hope to strike. We are also happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed both the breakfasts and your dinner here. Everyone on our culinary team focuses on preparing and serving creative, delicious food using the finest and freshest ingredients. Thank you again for your enthusiastic review. It will truly be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next trip to Kennebunkport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were so sorry to leave this wonderful place. We discovered the Inn last year, but there was only a vacancy for one night. This year we made reservations early. Our three nights were not long enough. The view from our room was fantastic, and the room was so very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, and the inn is well maintained. Every member of the staff with whom we came in contact was professional, pleasant, and helpful. The front desk helped with information and reservations for us. The innkeeper was there and was also very pleasant and professional. We have already told friends and neighbors about this lovely inn. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: All of the Rockbound rooms have private balconies. We stayed in Room 26. We had a lovely view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
How wonderful that you were able to execute a longer stay with us the second time around! The highest compliment we can receive is to have guests return year after year. It is so nice to know that you thoroughly enjoyed every element of your stay from the grounds, to the service, to the room. Our mission is to create a comfortable, relaxing getaway for our guests, so we sincerely appreciate knowing you had a fantastic visit. Thank you so much for your glowing review and for your lovely recommendations! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just got home from second visit to Cape Arundel Inn. It really is heaven on earth! If you love having the sight, sound, and smell of the open ocean at your doorstep... you will love this place! The location is unique among the hotels/inns in Kennebunkport - The inn itself - and the guest rooms - are actually more beautiful in person than the pictures online suggest. The breakfast is delicious - Homemade cookies, coffee, tea, and cold drinks are available all day in the art filled living room - Dinner is 5-Star accompanied by delightful "live" piano music. The inn owners and staff are warm, welcoming, attentive and responsive to your every need - without being the least intrusive! The front porch - with lots of comfortable seating - is VERY hard to leave! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the Rockport building - a few steps through beautiful gardens - to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Nothing is more pleasurable than being able to say "Welcome back" to guests when they walk through the door. We couldn't be happier to know that your second visit was just as wonderful as the first. Thank you so much for sharing your experience; "Heaven on earth" is quite the compliment! We can't argue that the stunning views make a unique setting and our hope is that the care and attention we give to both creating a beautiful property and providing warm service will shape a truly memorable vacation for guests. We look forward to playing a part in crafting many more heavenly getaways for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#12 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Arundel Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Property: Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay; Cape Arundel Inn, located on exclusive Ocean Ave or Old Fort Estate, tucked away in a tranquil, wooded setting on Old Fort Ave. Guests staying in the Cape Arundel Inn building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Old Fort Estate, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the Club House featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at Old Fort Estate and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at Old Fort Estate, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing