We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Awesome”
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This was our 7th year of a 2 night stay at Cape Arundel. The scenery/setting cannot be beat, and the quality of the Inn continues to be run at a high standard. Located right on the ocean and just a few hundred yards from Walker's Point (Pres Bush 41's summer residence), it is simply wonderful to keep the windows open at night and listen to the crashing tide. It is a charming Inn with a service-focused staff. I'm already looking forward to our year 8 visit.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank vapafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    49
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
217
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I have stayed at this fabulous Inn many times and each experience gets better. Your troubles melt away from the moment you arrive and it is very hard to leave the beauful, relaxing porch with its bold views of the ocean. I like staying in the rooms in the "Rockbound" annex as the large picture windows give you a 24-hour view of the never-ending ocean activites right in front of the Inn. These include lobstermen checking their traps in the early morning, President Bush 41and 43 and their clan (the President's estate is only a few hundred yards away) zipping by in the cigarette boat or watching the coastal sloops and yachts as they go in and out the Kennebunk River which is right down the road. The Inn's restaurant has earned the New England Cable Channel's coveted Platinum Award and rightly so -- the food is terrific (the lobster risotto is to die for!) and the staff is exceedingly well-polished. With luck, you might get a night where the full moon rises out of the ocean to bathe the entire Inn in a heavenly glow. I've taken many friends to this Inn and recommended it to others and all give it top-notch reviews. I made a promise to myself to go back to the Cape Arundel every year and I've kept it for six years in a row!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank VATraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband and I arrived in the pouring down rain and were we glad we were staying at Cape Arundel Inn! We decided to "stay in" for dinner and it was a great decison! Our meal (dinner) was fabulous and so much better than White Barn (disappointing). The next morning out came the sun and WOW! What a view!! We had the windows opened both days and both nights and loved hearing the ocean. It was spectacular! We felt like we had breakfast (wonderful) with The Bushes, as Walker Point was just across the way! Pretty fabulous setting!!! The only complaint was small bath and no robes. Other than that, in our opinion, it is the ONLY place to stay in Kennebunkport! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank betrhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My wife and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend at a rate of $375 per night. Overall the stay was nice enough, but there are things that should be noted prior to booking.

Pros: The location was excellent. The Inn is about a 20-30 minute walk into town, and is right across the street from the ocean. We had room number 2, which was a nice size, and had a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean (the balcony is small and fits only 2 people). The room itself was relatively simple in terms of furnishings, but had two comfortable chairs to relax in if you didn’t want to sit on the balcony. The rest of the Inn was attractive, but not spectacular. There was a porch to relax at, but as the Inn is a restaurant as well, you really couldn’t use it after 5:00 as the restaurant took it over.

Cons: Ordinarily when you stay at an Inn or B&B a large part of the experience is the ambiance and chart; friendly owners, interesting conversations, tidbits, interesting furnishings, a flavor for the area that you cannot get staying at a large hotel. Unfortunately none of that was present here. We rarely got even a smile, and I think only one good morning over 3 days (they also changed staff everyday so you never knew who anyone was). There were no “extras” that we have come to expect staying at nice New England Inns (we heard that some of the other Inns in the area provided tea, snacks and cheese in the afternoons, and were very welcoming). This Inn really operating as a large impersonal hotel/restaurant. We just happened to be staying there. I usually give much stronger reviews of places, and am a pretty easy person to please. I thought that at $375 per night (this was their highest rate, you can stay for less) they provided very little, and I wouldn’t come back but instead would opt for some of the other Inns.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff, not charming, lack of service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Useful_Info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

The views were amazing, well worth the extra money for the rooms!
The inn is well kept and the staff was great. If you are looking for relaxing, sitting on the porch watching the waves and enjoying the sea breeze this is the place for you. My husband and I decided last minute to take a weekend away and we were fortunate they had a room available. The view from the room was spectacular. Sleeping with the windows open is a must!

My only concern would be staying here in mid-summer when the heat and humidity are high because there is no AC in any of the rooms, although the sea breeze was perfect for May, I am not sure if it would be enough on a steamy night in July.

We did not eat at the inn, although a couple we met later said it was wonderful. We did have breakfast, it was included, and it was just OK. I would have expected a little more for the cost of the room, but again the view made up for the misses.

My husband and I plan on going back - if you are looking to relax with the ocean breeze I would recommend this inn!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The breakfast selection
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

This Inn's dining room was recommended by the innkeeper where we were staying (English Meadows Inn) for a special dinner, and it was just what we wanted. A quiet, romantic adult dinner. They have a lovely porch with a fabulous view of the ocean and the Bush compound (Sr. and the Mrs. were speeding around in the boat as we watched) from which to enjoy a drink and meet folks. I suggest getting there before your reservation and enjoying the view from outside before going in. Window tables are reserved for inn guests, which we weren't, but were glad to be seated under a fan which kept us comfortable on probably the hottest night of the year (no A/C). It's pretty pricey, but the food is good. I had grilled romaine salad and the duck, both were very good. Guests were more dressed up than I would have guessed for a resort town, which I liked. It was exactly the type of evening I envisioned - very relaxing, water views from every table, live piano music, professional service. My only complaint, and I'm running into this more and more, was the wine service. The wine steward took the time to talk to us about the wine list, recommend a wine, open it and pour it - once. He breezed by later to say "how's the wine?" - but didn't refill our glasses, and neither did our waiter. I even mentioned to the waiter that it would be nice if we didn't have to pour the (expensive) bottle of wine ourselves - and he apologized - but still didn't pour it! Oh well, I guess it's a lost art.

Anyway, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. Pricey but good, as long as you're not expecting 5-star dining.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UpgradeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 17, 2006

My wife and I found the Cape Arundel Inn last year while driving along the Maine Coast and decided to spend a few nights when we returned this year. The Inn and staff were terrific. The view of the ocean from our room was incredible. At night we slept with the windows open and the fireplace lit. We are looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,621 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Arundel Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Property: Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay: The landmark Cape Arundel Inn’s Main House on Kennebunkport’s exclusive Ocean Avenue or the nearby Club House, a vintage manor tucked within 15 wooded acres. Guests staying in the Main House building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Club House, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the clubhouse featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at the Club House and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at the Club House, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing