We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!!”
Review of Hidden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Pond
Ranked #7 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Hidden Pond...what a retreat! The grounds are beautiful, located about 10 mins by car from KBT town center. Our cottage was # 11 Lucky -- beautifully decorated and comfortable. The screened porch was perfect for reading the newspaper in the mornings after receiving your "breakfast basket" with homemade fresh breads, muffins, orange juice, coffee, and a different marmalade every day. You can borrow a bicycle and stroll down to Goose Rocks Beach for a tranquil walk. The fresh air, the foliage, the cool weather, and the combination of a beautiful place like Kennebunkport together with Hidden Pond made for a perfect escape! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcc524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    46
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
125
241
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed in the "Thank You" cottage. It was beautifully decorated and so comfortable in every way. We enjoyed the basket of warm breads and coffee that appeared on our screened porch every morning at 8:00am! I could spend days there without ever leaving the property. The staff was extremely friendly! Thank you Hidden Pond for a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJGTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

A beautifully located resort with deliciously decadent amenities. Each cabin is situated in a wooded area affording privacy in an intimate setting. The decor made us feel special . . . as if we were in our own private vacation home. Sparkling clean with no detail left undone.

It was a weekend get away for my husband and I - and we arrived late (due to travel delays) and there was a bottle of wine and a platter of cheese and fruit waiting for us. The first of many perfect touches.

We attempted to scoot out early our first morning, but on our front porch was a basket of delicacies much like our past European vacations. A fresh baguette, pastry still warm from the oven, and coffee. Real, aromatic coffee. We enjoyed these treats at our kitchen table where we marveled at the decor, the amenities . . . the overall class of Hidden Pond.

A day of sightseeing and shopping was concluded with cocktails at the bar while seated by the pool. The foliage was spectacular and we watched it until dark.

Back in the cabin, we prepared a great little meal and spent the evening in front of the fire place with each other.

We have spent much more money at fine hotels - none of which offer the unique experience of a private home away from home. If you are looking for a hotel - go to one. If you are looking for a delightful private get away where your needs are tended to by ever-present but rarely seen staff . . . Hidden Pond is your answer.

To the other reviewer who compared this to a Marriot courtyard . . .that is like comparing Cakebread Chardonnay to Kendall Jackson. If you are not sophisticated enough to tell the difference . . . drink the K&J, watch TV . . . and leave beautiful places like Hidden Pond to others who appreciate true class.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlecSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Hidden Pond (one of the staff called it "Hidden Puddle"), is a mini-village of 14 2 bedroom cottages in a 60 acre patch of birches and fir trees. Each cottage has been individually interior-designed by top professionals so that each has a distinct personality. All, though, are extremely comfortable, with flat screen tv's, full and fully equipped kitchens, top-of-the-line furniture, accessories, cookware, etc. Every morning begins with a basket of baked goodies, juice, coffee and the newspaper hung on a hook on your front porch.
A mile from the town of Kennebunkport, guests can swim, shop and eat at restaurants that range from local lobster shacks to gourmet cuisine. there's a salt water pool at Hidden Pond and personal trainers, even personal chefs for those with the dough and who want to stay put.
All in all, a great vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I usually never take the time to write reviews or opinions about resorts or hotels I stay while vacationing, but Hidden Pond deserves to be the exception. Being lucky enough to discover and stay at this hidden gem last year, there was no question as to where our annual New England vacation would be again this year.
From the beautifully designed cottages (which I found to be very private, contrary to the previous review), to the most courteous and helpful staff imaginable. Thanks again for such a great stay..... see you next year...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The resort itself is beautiful. But I'd like to echo several of the points made in other reviews but draw a very different conclusion. 1) no privacy the cabins are on top of each other and are small inside . It feels more time ws spent on the decor than the actual resort plan. And good design does not make up for poor space planning. We frequently felt our stay was interrupted by other guests . The bathrooms are ridiculoulsy small and the kitchens are TINY -- great for sandwiches and snack but not for cooking 2) few amenities -- I felt for $ 600 a night the resort completley fell down on creating a luxury experience. Shampoo and lotion were never replenished in fact we had to ASK for TP to be replenished -- which is crazy. 3) Pool/hot tub . No hot tub is a miss and the "heated " pool was COLD and frequently filled with leaves which was very unappealing . 4) TV's the cabin has the smallest flat screen possible and no TV's in the bedrooms. I agree that the appeal of the resort is the outdoors BUT at some point you want to watch tv and 1 teeny tiny flat screen is silly in this day and age

So my summary would be look around -- you can get a better deal in coastal maine than hidden pond. The resort has potential but right now it has the ameniteis of a courtyard marriott -- continental breakfast, free gym and housekeeping BUT it is 3X the cost . So shop around!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kqVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Outstanding property. Beautiful, private and luxury in every way. Great staff. Cottages are unique and very well designed. Just a few nitpicks:

1) No Toiletry amenities in bathroom (cotton balls, q-tips), and lotion/shampoo bottles are far too small.

2) Outdoor shower is fabulous, but with the platform, the showerhead hits anybody over 5.9 in the chest....that showerhead needs to be raised about another 2 feet and made into a pure down wash rain head so short and tall guests can equally enjoy.

3) Very small TV. 42' for the den would to me have seemed the bare minimum smallest to consider....and no tv in bedrooms.

4) Great bonfires and great bar scene. The Point "esque", but no dinner on property.

5) No shades on some of the door windows in the cabins..people can see right in.

6) NO KIDS ALLOWED>>>>

Overall a great property. Obvious that owners have overwhelming taste and class....they've have just missed a few of the details that would easily make this place a Relais & Chateaux

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roccochomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.3 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
15.0 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
954 reviews
4.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Pond

Property: Hidden Pond
Address: 354 Goose Rocks Rd, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Pond is a private retreat for those seeking high-end accommodations and personalized services in a relaxed and natural setting. The (16) two-bedroom cottages and (20) one bedroom bungalows, feature Frette linens, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems with iPod docks, state-of-the-art kitchens in the larger cottages while the bungalows feature a wetbar, landscaped outdoor showers and decadent screened porches allowing inside living to virtually extend out amongst the forest. Earth at Hidden Pond is an al fresco restaurant focusing on farm-to-fork freshness. Heirloom vegetables and herbs are picked daily from the surrounding gardens, and thoughtfully incorporated into both food and beverage menu offerings. Another added amenity is the new Tree Spa, featuring three spa treatment rooms nestled in the trees. The Tree Spa is available to guests only and their services will further ensure your visit is nothing but blissful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Pond Hotel Kennebunkport
Hidden Pond Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing