We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Pond is Hidden Gem”
Review of Hidden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Pond
Ranked #6 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This collection of adorable Maine cottages is the perfect combination of privacy and gracious, discreet service. We stayed here two fabulous weeks with two young children. It was the ideal escape for a family seeking all the best of simple Maine pleasures.

We had a delightful cottage, complete with a cheese plate and wine waiting for us upon arrival. It was beautifully decorated with all the amenities, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, two bedrooms with ensuite baths, a charming outdoor shower, and (my favorite!) a beautiful screened-in porch for outdoor dining. Other special touches: an IPod player, flat screen TV with DVD player and specially selected reading material for my husband and me and our children.

Every morning we were greeted by a canvas goody bag with fresh from the oven sconces, blueberry muffins or biscuits, a fresh coffee thermos, orange juice, fruit preserves and the morning paper. It put me in such a good mood to hear the screen door open each morning, knowing our treats were delivered.

The amenities don't stop there. There are charming bicycles for both children and adults provided for the guest's use; yoga, personal trainers and watercolor classes available throughout the week; and a temporary spa tent for spa services. I had a massage and it was soothing having the fresh air from the gardens circulate throughout the tent.

A vibrant flower and vegetable garden greets you as you enter the property. Naturally, it is there for the guests' enjoyment. Can you imagine we picked fresh blueberries, tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce during our stay? I felt so indulged!

The grounds are impeccably designed and lovingly maintained. I took a yoga class one morning on the lush lawn next to the garden and felt completely relaxed. The pool has an adjacent lawn for croquet, bocci and a bonfire that they light each evening for smores.

The staff makes sure there are always little treats in the reception area, morning quiche, fruits throughout the day and wine and cheese in the evening. It makes you feel so welcome.

We mentioned to a staff member that we planned to celebrate our anniversary at the White Barn Inn the last night of our stay and they helped us locate a terrific babysitter. The afternoon before we went out, we came back from the beach and found a bottle of very nice champagne in our refrigerator and a kind note. I was floored.

They went above and beyond on all dimensions. I can't wait to return. I am excited to see all the future plans unfold: the on-site restaurant (with my favorite famous Boston chef), full-service spa and expanded grounds. It was one of our most enjoyable and relaxing family vacations, I highly recommend Hidden Pond.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Littlewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 445 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at Hidden Pond for a week in August, in the Periwinkle and Thank You cottages. The property was gorgeous and serene. We didn't have the best weather that week, but we barely noticed, passing our time reading on the porch, going for runs along the beach, bike rides around Cape Porpoise, or, when we were really lazy, napping in the hammocks. On the days that we did have nice weather, we lounged by the pool (which may be one of my favorite pools ever, as it has a shallow end where you can sit and read your book).

The cottages themselves are decorated beautifully, both homey and elegant at the same time. Each cottage was decorated by a local designer, so each one has its own unique feel. I think the best compliment I can pay to Hidden Pond is that despite the plethora of activities one can do in Maine, we opted to spend most of our time at Hidden Pond, just relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ljuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

After a four night stay at Hidden Pond, we hated to leave our little
two bedroom cottage, called Silent Pine. Remarkably, we discovered it was a modular unit that was brought to the property, pre-assembled. I have never been in a modular home outfitted with such high quality componants, quiet rooms and efficiently planned spaciousness. It was totally delightful. Each cottage had been decorated by a different designer, so each family felt as though they were staying at their own private summer retreat. Ours was done in an earthy, natural and sophisticated way, that suited us perfectly. We spent time on the peaceful screened porch reading, while the rain fell, just beyond us. And my husband delighted in the outdoor shower, while it was raining...a fun and special surprise. The grounds were beautiful with all kinds of blooming plants, that welcomed you as you came up to the front porch, faced with an old- fashioned screen door. The oversized windows on either side of the house, allowed a cool cross breeze on humid days and nights. Every morning, a custom-made canvas bag holding fresh, just-out-of the-oven steaming, hot muffins, and the daily newspaper, were dropped at the front door, by one of the wonderful staff members. Upon arrival, we entered the lodge, where we were welcomed by a big friendly black lab, who quietly invited us in. We were then greeted by Lucy, who showed us around the lodge, and then to our little house. She exemplified the generosity of spirit found at Hidden Pond, where every single detail was attended to, with grace and a genuine sense of helpfulness. She acted as the concierge, the hostess and the person who came through every time, we had a special request. This is a place for families to enjoy a great experience with their kids. The family next to us had an eight year old daughter, who on the first day, rode one of the bikes, provided by the resort, all by herself. By the second day, she announced to me, she had a new best friend, and they were on their way to the pool, and then to the bonfire that is lit each night. This was a little piece of heaven, definately one of the highlights of our first trip to Maine. We will be coming back!!!!

Michaele Thunen - Berkeley, CA

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Michaele2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciciollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archipil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
695 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,763 reviews
15.0 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Pond

Address: 354 Goose Rocks Rd, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $415 - $1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Pond is a private retreat for those seeking high-end accommodations and personalized services in a relaxed and natural setting. The (16) two-bedroom cottages and (20) one bedroom bungalows, feature Frette linens, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems with iPod docks, state-of-the-art kitchens in the larger cottages while the bungalows feature a wetbar, landscaped outdoor showers and decadent screened porches allowing inside living to virtually extend out amongst the forest. Earth at Hidden Pond is an al fresco restaurant focusing on farm-to-fork freshness. Heirloom vegetables and herbs are picked daily from the surrounding gardens, and thoughtfully incorporated into both food and beverage menu offerings. Another added amenity is the new Tree Spa, featuring three spa treatment rooms nestled in the trees. The Tree Spa is available to guests only and their services will further ensure your visit is nothing but blissful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Pond Hotel Kennebunkport
Hidden Pond Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing