We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to perfect as you'll find...”
Review of Hidden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hidden Pond
Ranked #7 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“As close to perfect as you'll find...”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The property is really a collection of upscale "bungalows" that are tucked away in the woods outside of Kennebunkport. But, from your bungalow, you wouldn't know--or care--where you are. The bungalows have the space, the amenities and all the comforts of a five-star resort. If you want to wander outside (don't know why you would) there is a pool, restaurant and outside fire pit(s)--complete with blankets. The bedding is wonderful and the morning breakfast that is left at your doorstep is just right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear mickey91:

We appreciate your high praise and kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Hidden Pond. We work continuously to offer a resort experience where, like you said, our guests will never want to leave. It gives us great assurance to hear you say that you found all of the comforts you would want here at Hidden Pond. With your mention of the fire pits, I hope you were able to roast a s'more while you were with us!

I hope to welcome you back to Hidden Pond -- feel free to reach out to me directly if I can assist with your future travel plans in any way.

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    45
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
125
238
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 day getaway at Hidden Pond. The other reviews are right on the money - "rustic meets luxury," "rustic meets contemporary," etc. It really is a wonderful place - - I'll add "upscale, without being pretentious." My overworked husband and my pregnant self enjoyed our stay at cottage #44, "Tryst" - but I imagine all the cottages are similarly comfortable and well-appointed. Some our favorite aspects of Hidden Pond include the breakfasts delivered quietly and efficiently to the outside of our cottage each morning - the simple but delicious baked goods with hot coffee and a copy of the NYT. We LOVED the bonfires each night and took advantage of the warm blankets left out on the adirondack chairs, as well as the baskets of ingredients for s'mores (and even a lot of long, pointy sticks laid out, to roast those marshmallows :) We enjoyed the free bikes and helmets available for on-property and off-property use - we biked around the resort paths many times, and once took them down the road to Goose Rocks Beach. We also walked some of the nature trails which are easy and peaceful. The afternoon tea and cookies always hit the spot perfectly after our little adventures. The things we didn't take advantage of (but could have) included the various complimentary classes on-site, such as watercolor painting, yoga, paddleboarding, etc. Wish we'd had more time - the truth is, once settled into our cozy cottages, with the warm gas fireplace going, and with a lovely meal delivered to us in the mornings, it was often too difficult to extract ourselves from this place before 12 noon :) We ate at Earth one night and truly enjoyed it - one of our two best meals in town over four days. On departure, we were given a little gift bag with water bottles and trail mix - such a thoughtful idea for us as we hit the road. Overall, I look forward to returning sometime soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear nolaJP:

It sounds like you two truly deserved a relaxing getaway at Hidden Pond. We're seeing more and more babymoons, and we're thrilled to have had the opportunity to offer you a serene escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Congratulations on this exciting time of your lives.

We strive to foster an environment that allows "rustic" to blend with "luxury". We respectfully exploit the beautiful Maine landscape that we've been given and offer a comfortable enclave full of opportunities for adventure or relaxation. It is nice to hear that Earth was one of the more memorable dining experiences during your time in Maine -- with so many great local options, we are proud of the unique offering that Earth presents.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the to-go bag -- we feel that everyone deserves a nice treat to help adjust back to "departure mode". Save the blueberry seeds until the Spring, and see if you can grow some berries come summer!

I look forward to welcoming you both back with the newest addition to your family in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a special place. Rustic and luxury really meet here. Since it was our first trip to the area I can't compare it to other options, but it stands up to some of the best in general. From the wonderful cabins/rooms to the little touches like: a cooler bag with warm fresh scones and muffins, a hot thermos of coffee and the paper dropped on your front door every morning. For fun or a couples getaway, for summer fun and fall foliage - this place is a wonderful place to stay and launch from. Earth (the restaurant) was fantastic

Room Tip: Can't see how you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear 1TravelSnob:

Your experience is exactly we aim to deliver...a coming together of rustic surroundings with luxurious features. I agree with you that Hidden Pond can be perfect for all occasions -- we've seen engagements, anniversaries, family getaways and solo journeys for peace and relaxation. It is our goal to appeal to all of these missions.

I am glad that your first trip to southern Maine was a success, and it makes us proud to know that Hidden Pond and Earth played a part in this. We hope to welcome you back for a second trip to Maine in the near future!

If I can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. I will gladly help!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Professional, personable, and accommodating resort staff. Peaceful, tranquil, relaxing and restful setting, and bungalow with a perfect mixture of rustic and contemporary style. Unbelievable food at Earth restaurant, and the best grilled burgers ever at the Lodge! Breakfast baskets delivered to your door every morning sets the stage for the most refreshing days. Beach just a short bike ride away, bonfires with smore baskets each night, on site gym and Tree Spa massage which put my wife in another world, all in the most beautiful, one with nature setting one can imagine. Quiet morning, and evening strolls amongst the birch, oak and pines. Crisp clear coastal air, nearby rocky coastline, magnificent sunrises, and sunsets... we couldn't wait to get there, and cannot wait until we can return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Rich:

Thank you for such a great review that is coupled with some excellent image captures around the property. It was a real treat for us at Hidden Pond to have the opportunity to show you and your wife Maine hospitality at it's finest. Thank you for supporting our efforts.

We anticipate welcoming you both back in the Spring so that you can enjoy more of your favorite activities, delicious burgers and beautiful coastal surroundings.

Winter well and we will see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in one of the bungalows. The website doesn't do justice to the resort. The bungalow was very clean and well appointed, with a floor to ceiling gas fireplace, screened porch area, and outdoor shower. So many small touches really added to our enjoyment of the resort - the deilvery of breakfast and coffee every morning at our door, nightly bonfires, bicycles available for use by guests, rides by car into town for the beach, dinner or shopping. We visited in October, so we didn't swim (the pools are heated, though) but we enjoyed reading in the comfortable lounges by the pool with a glass of wine from the bar. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly, helpful and courteous. We ate dinner at Earth and it was fantastic. The food was incredibly fresh. We also visited the Tree Spa for hot stone massages - loved it! We would absolutely return to Hidden Pond, it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMDBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear JMDBostonMa:

Thank you for the wonderful things that you have said about Hidden Pond -- we are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. For us, we put a lot of emphasis in the small touches and it has been our hope since the beginning that these touches will be noticed. In sounds like in your case you have a strong appreciation for such things.

I am happy to know that you were able to take advantage of the resort amenities and surrounding activities, despite the slight chill in the air. The toughest part about swimming in October, at times, can be getting out of the water in the cooler temperatures!

Again, I want to stress how appreciative I am that you shared your experiences with us and joined us for a getaway in southern Maine. All of us at Hidden Pond hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hidden Pond is great. Quiet and serene. You can be as active or as passive as you want to be. No one bothers you unless you want to be (and I would not call it bothering). Every morning, a very quiet person dropped off fresh baked goods, coffee and a paper on our doorstep. the on site restaurant EARTH is amazing. We took the bikes and rode them to the beach -- a great way to get out and see the scenery a bit. the people were fantastic -- very friendly - -a true great escape. We did not rent a car so the people at hidden Pond took us where we needed to go. Ray was great- - always with a smile and a helping hand bringing us here and there. I highly recommend Hidden Pond as a great romantic getaway. Our cabin had a fireplace, a huge room and a big bathroom. We did a lot of spa treatments- - on the facial alone I would go back (I am a guy and it was my first)

Room Tip: you can stay close to the lodge or close to the spa -- depnds on how far you want to walk - -either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebarJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear NebarJ:

Thank you for sharing your review with us from your recent trip to Hidden Pond. It sounds as though you were able to enjoy a weekend full of relaxation, simple pleasures and new experiences!

I love how you describe our service levels at Hidden Pond. The staff works hard to acknowledge the times when it's appropriate to engage in conversation or allow a quiet moment to pass so that our guests can enjoy a special time alone. It is a delicate balance and I am proud to know that this was noted by you!

Ray is a great person to have as a guide in navigating the town. He also happens to be one of our trolley drivers -- he knows more about the area than most people you'll come across in Kennebunkport!

It is nice to know that we were able to turn you into a Spa fan while you were with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los ángeles
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY; Our two days were magical in cottage 21, and I will recommend your enchanting property to our Los Angeles community, as it feels like summer camp for families and for couples. Your bonfires in the middle of nature warmed us on cold evenings, and smores-with-cider...ahhhh!!!!! The yoga was divine-- one day in your garden, and the next day overlooking a pond, with birch trees as our background. We will be back!!!
Jan and Bonnie Goldstein

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bonnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Jan & Bonnie:

Thank you for joining us at Hidden Pond for your east coast explorations!

I am glad that you found Hidden Pond to be a unique experience full of authentic Maine experiences. I hope that you can join us again in the future for more yoga, bonfires and relaxation!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.3 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
4.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Pond

Property: Hidden Pond
Address: 354 Goose Rocks Rd, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Pond is a private retreat for those seeking high-end accommodations and personalized services in a relaxed and natural setting. The (16) two-bedroom cottages and (20) one bedroom bungalows, feature Frette linens, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems with iPod docks, state-of-the-art kitchens in the larger cottages while the bungalows feature a wetbar, landscaped outdoor showers and decadent screened porches allowing inside living to virtually extend out amongst the forest. Earth at Hidden Pond is an al fresco restaurant focusing on farm-to-fork freshness. Heirloom vegetables and herbs are picked daily from the surrounding gardens, and thoughtfully incorporated into both food and beverage menu offerings. Another added amenity is the new Tree Spa, featuring three spa treatment rooms nestled in the trees. The Tree Spa is available to guests only and their services will further ensure your visit is nothing but blissful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hidden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Pond Hotel Kennebunkport
Hidden Pond Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing