We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to everyone at Hidden Pond for making our stay so unforgetable!”
Review of Hidden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Pond
Ranked #6 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Professional, personable, and accommodating resort staff. Peaceful, tranquil, relaxing and restful setting, and bungalow with a perfect mixture of rustic and contemporary style. Unbelievable food at Earth restaurant, and the best grilled burgers ever at the Lodge! Breakfast baskets delivered to your door every morning sets the stage for the most refreshing days. Beach just a short bike ride away, bonfires with smore baskets each night, on site gym and Tree Spa massage which put my wife in another world, all in the most beautiful, one with nature setting one can imagine. Quiet morning, and evening strolls amongst the birch, oak and pines. Crisp clear coastal air, nearby rocky coastline, magnificent sunrises, and sunsets... we couldn't wait to get there, and cannot wait until we can return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Rich:

Thank you for such a great review that is coupled with some excellent image captures around the property. It was a real treat for us at Hidden Pond to have the opportunity to show you and your wife Maine hospitality at it's finest. Thank you for supporting our efforts.

We anticipate welcoming you both back in the Spring so that you can enjoy more of your favorite activities, delicious burgers and beautiful coastal surroundings.

Winter well and we will see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 445 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in one of the bungalows. The website doesn't do justice to the resort. The bungalow was very clean and well appointed, with a floor to ceiling gas fireplace, screened porch area, and outdoor shower. So many small touches really added to our enjoyment of the resort - the deilvery of breakfast and coffee every morning at our door, nightly bonfires, bicycles available for use by guests, rides by car into town for the beach, dinner or shopping. We visited in October, so we didn't swim (the pools are heated, though) but we enjoyed reading in the comfortable lounges by the pool with a glass of wine from the bar. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly, helpful and courteous. We ate dinner at Earth and it was fantastic. The food was incredibly fresh. We also visited the Tree Spa for hot stone massages - loved it! We would absolutely return to Hidden Pond, it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMDBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear JMDBostonMa:

Thank you for the wonderful things that you have said about Hidden Pond -- we are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. For us, we put a lot of emphasis in the small touches and it has been our hope since the beginning that these touches will be noticed. In sounds like in your case you have a strong appreciation for such things.

I am happy to know that you were able to take advantage of the resort amenities and surrounding activities, despite the slight chill in the air. The toughest part about swimming in October, at times, can be getting out of the water in the cooler temperatures!

Again, I want to stress how appreciative I am that you shared your experiences with us and joined us for a getaway in southern Maine. All of us at Hidden Pond hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hidden Pond is great. Quiet and serene. You can be as active or as passive as you want to be. No one bothers you unless you want to be (and I would not call it bothering). Every morning, a very quiet person dropped off fresh baked goods, coffee and a paper on our doorstep. the on site restaurant EARTH is amazing. We took the bikes and rode them to the beach -- a great way to get out and see the scenery a bit. the people were fantastic -- very friendly - -a true great escape. We did not rent a car so the people at hidden Pond took us where we needed to go. Ray was great- - always with a smile and a helping hand bringing us here and there. I highly recommend Hidden Pond as a great romantic getaway. Our cabin had a fireplace, a huge room and a big bathroom. We did a lot of spa treatments- - on the facial alone I would go back (I am a guy and it was my first)

Room Tip: you can stay close to the lodge or close to the spa -- depnds on how far you want to walk - -either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebarJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear NebarJ:

Thank you for sharing your review with us from your recent trip to Hidden Pond. It sounds as though you were able to enjoy a weekend full of relaxation, simple pleasures and new experiences!

I love how you describe our service levels at Hidden Pond. The staff works hard to acknowledge the times when it's appropriate to engage in conversation or allow a quiet moment to pass so that our guests can enjoy a special time alone. It is a delicate balance and I am proud to know that this was noted by you!

Ray is a great person to have as a guide in navigating the town. He also happens to be one of our trolley drivers -- he knows more about the area than most people you'll come across in Kennebunkport!

It is nice to know that we were able to turn you into a Spa fan while you were with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY; Our two days were magical in cottage 21, and I will recommend your enchanting property to our Los Angeles community, as it feels like summer camp for families and for couples. Your bonfires in the middle of nature warmed us on cold evenings, and smores-with-cider...ahhhh!!!!! The yoga was divine-- one day in your garden, and the next day overlooking a pond, with birch trees as our background. We will be back!!!
Jan and Bonnie Goldstein

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank bonnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Jan & Bonnie:

Thank you for joining us at Hidden Pond for your east coast explorations!

I am glad that you found Hidden Pond to be a unique experience full of authentic Maine experiences. I hope that you can join us again in the future for more yoga, bonfires and relaxation!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

really liked the use of natural materials and decorating elements. Staff super responsive. Agree that it was a bit woodsey for being so close (1 mile) to beautiful Goose Rocks beach. But a quick phone call arranged an immediate ride, pick up at our bungalow, to the beach. Friendly young lady set up super comfortable lounge chairs, hoisted shade umbrella, and was the go to person for getting ocean side lunch service. Equally easy to return to our bungalow.
Unlike another reviewer I appreciated the water saving showers as acknowledging the environmental realities of coastal Maine. Just because you have lots of money it doesn't hurt to not waste a precious and limited commodity.
Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, Earth was lovely. Loved the use of native plants in the artful landscaping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma8walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear ma8walker:

Thank you for your review and for noticing the minutia around the resort! These little touches are items that our owners and design team have worked meticulously on over the past 5 years -- we feel as though attention to detail in the design carries over into the guest experience. I am glad that you were able to appreciate this. The woodsy element was central in the design vision, so although we are very close to the ocean, we chose to lean more towards rustic features and natural finishes.

As you were able to experience, The Tides Beach Club is the perfect spot for a large dose of the Atlantic Ocean. Goose Rocks Beach is a magical spot in Maine and the beach tenders at TBC work very hard to deliver an equally special service experience.

I am glad that you enjoyed our eco-friendly nods, when possible. As a luxury resort, it can be a delicate balance -- however, we do our best to protect and respect Mother Nature.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Hidden Pond in the future for another enjoyable and relaxing experience in nature.

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here recently in a one-room bungalow and generally it was lovely, but as another reviewer mentioned, it's peculiar to be right by the coast, but not see it! The overall feeling is fairly "rustic" and there didn't seem to be heating in my bungalow, which made the night a little chilly. However, the bungalow itself was nicely decorated, with an outdoor shower, and the restaurant Earth was generally pretty good (order the tuna poke! maybe two! it was great). The breakfast was disappointing (two muffins and croissants left outside in the cold so they were a little..damp), and it's little touches like that that make it hard to justify the pricetag.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonianBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear BostonianBrit:

I appreciate you sharing your review of Hidden Pond from your recent visit. I certainly understand your mention of being so close to the ocean, without being able to see it. With Goose Rocks Beach just 1.3 miles away, we are located in a very unique location. We are on 65-acres of birch and balsam forest and the resort was designed to feel as though it has existed in the forest for many years. Although the ocean is at our fingertips, the focus is more on the woods with our rustic, peaceful and natural approach to design. For guests hoping for more of a truly coastal feel, we offer full access to beach services and amenities at The Tides Beach Club, which is located directly on Goose Rocks Beach.

The restaurant Earth was a beautiful addition to the property in 2011 and we feel as though the dining experience is exceptional. For instance, the tuna poke that you enjoyed was sourced from local waters from local fisherman. We believe in finding the best quality ingredients within the shortest distance to the resort. I am glad that you enjoy the experience, however after reading your Earth review, I am apologetic that you did not find value in the menu prices. While the restaurant is certainly not inexpensive, we feel as though the quality of the food is deserving. I will certainly bring your feedback to the Earth team as we revisit pricing and menu development.

I am sorry that you did not particularly enjoy breakfast. The breakfast offering began as a "baked treat" in the morning to be delivered to each doorstep first thing in the morning. As the years have progressed we have done our best to incorporate a more well-balanced offering. We feel as though we have reached a point in which the sweet tooth, savory tastes and desires for a healthy offering have been met. Your mention of the temperature of the offering is certainly a valid point. We will look for ways to better protect our breakfast offering on chillier fall mornings.

Thank you again for your feedback and I genuinely hope that you will choose to return to Hidden Pond. If i can assist in answering any specific questions, or if you have any more feedback, I would love to hear it! Feel free to reach out to me at justin@hiddenpondmaine.com.

Wishing you a fantastic Fall season!

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It is odd to stay in what is essentially a gated community but be only one mile from the lovely Maine coast. There are tons of nice touches on the property -- free bikes you can use to get around the grounds and to the local town. There is a sign when you pull in that says "Drive slow. Breathe deeply" and the place really has this spirit to it. Very relaxing and welcoming.

The cottages each have a distinctive decoration style. Kind of Pottery Barn meets interior decorator. Not fabulous but clean and lovely. I wish the gas fireplace had actually given off heat -- would have made the crisp Maine morning better. There is a great kitchen with a breakfast bar and, in our cottage, a really nice screened-in porch. They bring breakfast and coffee to your cottage in the morning. The breakfast was disappointing -- just two muffins and two croissants for two people. No fruit. No oatmeal. No eggs. Very ordinary.

The grounds were beautiful and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellheeledboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHP, General Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear wellheeledboston:

Thank you for sharing your review of Hidden Pond from your recent stay.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the special touches at Hidden Pond. The resort, Goose Rocks Beach and southern Maine present fantastic options for biking routes, so it is important to us that we offer complimentary beach cruisers. The signage as well, which was the vision of our owner, is meant to instantly transport our guests to a relaxing place. It sounds as though this was effective!

The design vision of the bungalows was to produce a rustic, barn-like feel that is appointed with fine furnishings and intended to induce a feeling of comfort. The floor-to-ceiling fireplace is intended to create ambiance and complete the authentic feel of the cottage.

As for the breakfast, I apologize that you did not enjoy our offering. We deliver baked goods that are freshly baked each morning, fresh fruit, a hot pot of local Carpe Diem coffee and the New York Times. In the future, we are also happy to provision your cottage with specific items upon request. We are continuously looking for ways in which we can improve our offering, so we will use your feedback as we reevaluate breakfast.

Thank you for spending time with us in Kennebunkport and we hope to welcome you back for another lovely experience. If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Kind Regards,

Justin Grimes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
699 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,766 reviews
15.0 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Pond

Address: 354 Goose Rocks Rd, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $413 - $1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Pond is a private retreat for those seeking high-end accommodations and personalized services in a relaxed and natural setting. The (16) two-bedroom cottages and (20) one bedroom bungalows, feature Frette linens, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems with iPod docks, state-of-the-art kitchens in the larger cottages while the bungalows feature a wetbar, landscaped outdoor showers and decadent screened porches allowing inside living to virtually extend out amongst the forest. Earth at Hidden Pond is an al fresco restaurant focusing on farm-to-fork freshness. Heirloom vegetables and herbs are picked daily from the surrounding gardens, and thoughtfully incorporated into both food and beverage menu offerings. Another added amenity is the new Tree Spa, featuring three spa treatment rooms nestled in the trees. The Tree Spa is available to guests only and their services will further ensure your visit is nothing but blissful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Pond Hotel Kennebunkport
Hidden Pond Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing