We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food!”

95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort
Reserve with OpenTable
95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Open seasonally, Memorial Day through October Casually elegant dining. Enjoy creative local cuisine and nightly specials highlighting the freshest seafood and local ingredients from New England farms and herbs from the resort's organic gardens. Plus live entertainment weeknights in season. Just a short walk from Dock Square along Ocean Avenue. A TV Diner Platinum Plate award winner. Also serving pub fare, local Maine craft beers and cocktails in Heckman's Pub. Relax with a pre-dinner drink on the resort's front porch, or on the back lawn in an Adirondack chair overlooking the river.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The seafood is fresh, simple, and delicious! The seafood chowder is the best I've had -- full of great fish!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Chris:
Thank you so much for the nice review. There really is nothing better than simply prepared fresh fish. We are fortunate to have such wonderful access to so many types of freshly caught fish.
The seafood chowder is wonderful. It is hard to imagine a trip to Maine without at least one cup of fantastic chowder!
Hope you can come and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    65
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
148 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pleasant experiene”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well, 95 was just fine. No surprises here. Service was good. Food was very good. Prices reasonable. The dining room overlooking the lawn and water is simple, but the view is really nice. I would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkarpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello New York Friend:
I am happy to hear all was well with your dinner. As you said, the views are spectacular and the food is great! I don't know about you but I am partial to the shrimp and grits. This afternoon we had a cooking demonstration (which we do every Monday) and the Chef made the shrimp and grits. They were fantastic! (I was lucky enough to get a sample!)
Another very popular dish is Chef True's Blueberry Chipotle Ribs. People just cannot get enough of them! Monday nights they are on special for only $20.14. You just cannot beat that deal!
Please come and check these dishes out on your next visit! I also would recommend the Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake for dessert! The house made caramel it is topped with is out of this world!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Early breakfast is best”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Dinner was very loud and average. However, going early for breakfast was delicious and peaceful. The buffet was generous and hearty. Later in the morning the breakfast room got noisy and crowded.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Lisa:
It is terrific that you like the early morning breakfast! Each morning when we open up there are a few early birds waiting anxiously for the doors to open. After the initial 7:30 rush it is very quiet until 9:30, when 80% of the people all arrive at once. The same is true of 7:30 pm dinners. We open at 5:30 and there are always a few waiting. It is then very quiet until 7 or 7:30 when we have another rush. We know about these rushes and staff accordingly. Just another day in the life of a resort hotel!
Please come back any morning at 8 and have a peaceful breakfast! We cannot wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relax and enjoy”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great staff, wonderful rooms, delicious food, beautiful water views from our room. The staff is excellent...helpful and courteous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TampaAki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello Tampa Visitor!
Thanks for taking time to share your very nice comments! The dining room staff has been working hard to make sure their service matches the fantastic food our kitchen has been creating! Insider tip - next time you are here try the lobster cakes - they are amazing! Also, there are some new desserts on the menu that are over-the-top!
Have a terrific summer! Thanks again for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner - Great Breakfast”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Dinner is served in the dining room overlooking the harbor - piano playing in the background. Servers were excellent as was the house wine - look for it. Dinner was very nice - but the breakfast buffet was very nice - great way to start the day - and part of the cost of the stay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PapaMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Newton Friend:
The views from our dining room really are lovely, the food is fantastic and with our entertainment it is hard to beat the Nonantum for dinner! I ate in the dining room last night and had the Lobster Cakes and I have to say they were delicious! Another current favorite of mine is the Shrimp and Grits. Oh and Chef Trues Blueberry Ribs. And the Lobster and Clam Fettuccini. To be honest, I have a hard time making a choice!
Insider secret - If there is Snicker's Cake on the menu - go for it! Best dessert ever!
Thanks for your very kind remarks!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing