We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice beach”
Review of Kennebunk Beach

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The shoreline of this popular swimming beach is dotted with large granite rocks.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not too crowded, clean and very cold water like all the other ones around...are you surprise!!! It's the North Atlantic, it's cold all around ;-). The only desapointment we had is that Monday the restrooms were clean but by Thursday, it started to get bad and it seems that the city is not fast to clean these little spots.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucydaoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    82
    19
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Get a pass and get there early”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Parking is very limited. Buy a pass ($50 a week, 100$ for the season for non residents at City Hall) Gooch's Beach is the one closest to the breakwater and often has some decent waves, while Mother's Beach at the opposite end of the strand is much calmer and has lots of structures for kids to climb on.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BessieLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This beach was recommended to us by a friend who attends the area frequently and a local staff member of our bed and breakfast.We were given a free parking pass from the inn. If you go early you may have better luck finding a parking space.This was a very clean quiet beach.Good for a summer read.We brought sand chairs and took in the view. Because we went early we didn't encounter any crowds or parking difficulties.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surfs Up!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a beautiful beach! Lots of space, didn't feel crowded even though there were a ton of people on the beach! Very clean!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DawnPuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't even stroll after hours unless you purchase a premium parking permit.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Kennebunkport Beach offers spectacular views and is a great place if you are willing to buy a town beach permit at a hefty $50 a week. The town will enforce this even after after 6:00 pm when when most beaches will lift parking restrictions and fees. I mean, if you must charge a fee at least give people a break after 6:00 when no lifeguards are on duty.

Although the town depends upon the industry of tourism, the beach restrictions are are simply a turn off. Although this beach is a regular stop for our family for 22 years, and we usually like to walk the beach after hours ; we found our that the Kennebunkport Police will ticket your car if you do not have a permit. With all due respect, we will go to another Maine beach that welcomes tourists who support their tax base. My advice is to to just drive on Beach Avenue just to see the views, houses and then head North or South where tourists are welcomed.



Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohmyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennebunk Beach also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Kennebunk Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing