We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quiet-tude”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunkport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fontenay Terrace Motel
Ranked #16 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Chciago
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“The Quiet-tude”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I think, if you want to get away from the chaos of the main town area, this is a great place to take residence. The rooms are rather large while the bathrooms are a bit small, but it's not a big deal unless you need a lot of bath area. There is a microwave, coffee maker and refrig. along with a handy ceiling fan to cool things down. We were located in room 8 which has an estuary view. It was a nice touch, but you don't necessarily need to have that if you are there for a short time or more inclined to spend your time in town. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean, except for a cookie (not ours) found under one of the beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Limoges
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A great location in a beautiful area.Good quality facilities in a traditional establishment at sensible and affordable prices. Would unconditionally recommend and will use again on our next visit to Maine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggles470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Clean and simple with a private feel. Well maintained but it's a trip back to the 70s. If you want a estuary view you can request room 8 for a small additional fee. Pleasant folks at the front desk that were quite helpful. Nice change from the spendy B&B's.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskafishingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Fontenay Terrace back in September while in town performing a wedding service. I met the owners, Paula & David, whom immediately felt like old friends. They carry the spirit of Aloha even up in Maine!

The rooms are clean, and well kept. The grounds, gazebo, and dock area are nice little spaces to enjoy while staying on property.
The motel is convieneintly located to the port area, and all of the shops. It's tucked away in a quiet little spot allowing guest a good nights sleep.

I would recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay while visiting Kennebunkport.
Its a great value, and you can't help but love the place. Paula & David are class acts, with a warm heart.

A Hui Hou, Unitl we meet again.
Aloha Rev. Hoover

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 day stay. We chose room 8 for the view and weren't disappointed. Room felt a little tight and furniture and appointments were dated, but was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but spotless. The room does need a bright light somewhere. We especially enjoyed the beautiful lawn - lunch from Portside Lobster al fresco; and river views - morning coffee and afternoon down time. The innkeeper was nice, the house cats were friendly and the location good. All things considered, we would stay again at Fontenay Terrace.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a wonderful view of the river. You can roll up the blinds and enjoy it without losing pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As always, I have enjoyed my stay here. Although it is a no frills motel, the Fontenay Terrace has everything you need...cleanliness, quietness, peacefulness, friendliness, and the perfect location, with pleasant, helpful and personable hosts. Easy walk to Kennebunkport Village, the beach within 100 yds, and a short walk to Walker's Point. I look forward to my visit every year. If you stay here once, believe me, you will always return.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the corner room that overlooks the river. So peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's difficult to find such an excellent value away from busy Route 1, let alone one within a stone's throw of an estuarine beach on Kennebunkport's geographically and architecturally sublime Ocean Avenue. All the rooms are set back from Ocean Avenue's already light traffic; noise is never an issue. Rooms with a higher number (8 is as high as it goes) are further away from Ocean Avenue and closer to the hotel's magnificently landscaped, park-like frontage on a tidal inlet, complete with a wooden raft owned by the hotel. But the hotel is so small that it really doesn't matter where your room is. All rooms are reasonably priced and have comfortable beds, in-room temperature control, A/C, a refrigerator, microwave, nightstand, dresser, hair dryer, television, table, two barrel chairs and a club chair. Some other comments claim the furniture is outdated, but I found it homier and more comfortable than the trendy industrial junk that more "upscale" establishments use to justify obscene rates. (I'd rather save $100/night and spend it on entertainment and dining than "enjoy" a flimsy composition/laminate bed and stainless steel appliances in a room with all the amenities that Fontenay Terrace has, but to each his own). The owners/innkeepers are extremely gracious, as is the housekeeping/landscaping personnel (who are the owners' relatives). The owner, housekeeper and landscaper (all relatives of each other) made me a whiskey and coke - on the house - on my first night at the hotel, and we chatted about business, family and everything in between for almost an hour. It's that kind of place: a genuine bastion of down-home, distinctly Maine hospitality in a region whose character is succumbing to generic influences. And again, the location cannot be beat. The walk to Dock Square is an easy and scenic 10-15 minutes, the estuarine beach is right around the corner, and Kennebunk Beach is a pleasant 30-45 minute walk for an able-bodied adult (although I'd recommend purchasing a parking pass or bringing bicycles if walking isn't your thing or if you're traveling with children). I'd strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: See the foregoing review for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#11 of 26 in Kennebunkport
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontenay Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontenay Terrace Motel

Property: Fontenay Terrace Motel
Address: 128 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fontenay Terrace Hotel Kennebunkport
Fontenay Terrace Motel Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing